We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice to stay in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Canadian Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Hostel
Ranked #49 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Tainan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great choice to stay in Cairo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The location is perfect, near Egyptian Museum and the metro, convenient to reach other sights and easy to grab simple and delicious Egyptian food around. The staff are friendly and full of energy. They are willing to answer any question and speak good English. I've stayed in three hostels in Cairo and this is the best one with reasonable prices. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and WIFI is fast and stable. Canadian is the only hostel that provides hair dryer among all the hostels i stayed in Egypt. I felt they are thoughtful and care about details. It is definitely a nice choice when you visit Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShurouqHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
7
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Excellent value for money. Very central location in Downtown Cairo,2 minutes to the Egyptian Museum, Midam Tahrir and the metro station. Although the building looks a bit old but it's french designed. They have a door man 24 hours, that makes me feel safe. The common spaces and the rooms are very clean and spacious. Choose room number 115, it has shower inside. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they speak very well english, they have organized a wonderful falucca trip in the south, thanks jimmy. very recommend this hostel.
see you guys next time :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

i spent some days here and book a tour with them.
so, rooms are basic, just a bed no wardrobes.
ask for air condition rooms. it is very hot cairo.
there is wifi and a simple breakfast.
managers speak good english.

about Tours, i booked a tour by them and in the south in aswan their partners are not very professional.

about Felluca-egyptian boats was very boring. i booked a 2 days cruise in the nile river and 1 st day we stayed all day stuck in the port doim anything.
the 2sd day we sailed in the river 40 minutes and the after stuck all day in a side of the river near the port doing nothing.
in the boat there is no toilet and no shower

i do NOY reccomend to girls to go alone only by a group.

the sailers stay all day in the boat smoking weed. is it their holiday??

felluca boat trip was very boring.

i talked about these problems to the manager of the hostel and he sayd me: "
i will give you a refund of 2 free nights here in the hostel"

did someone see my refund??

not me!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed at this location as part of the whole Backpackers package I bought. What a great place - right near the big square, near shopping, public transit, etc. Internet worked really well as did the a/c.
Would stay here again, without question. Also, FYI the tour package is one of the best (and best priced) you will find in the country - seriously.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberinnevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

it is located in the center of cairo, on the main shopping roads ... a very pleasant hotel with clean and comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff.s... I really enjoyed my stay there.....................................................................!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mutzi343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Canadian hostel for three nights and while it was nothing special, I had no major complaints.
It was when I wanted to book a tour of the Giza pyramids and Saqqara that things took a bad turn.
Having paid for a driver and tour guide for the trip, we arrived at Giza to be met by a camel operator which was not included in the price. I was taken to a small alcove and given a range of prices and ended up being charged 560 Egyptian pounds for the camel ride.
At no point was I threatened but the camel owner was a very large man and there were no tourist police in the vicinity.
I realize I should have stood my ground but I was afraid of what might happen had I refused.
I had also had a very traumatic experience with the airport customs two days prior so I wasn't thinking clearly.
To add further insult, I didn't have enough money to continue to Saqqara even though I had already paid for their services.
I was given no refund or apology.
What a bunch of crooks so please be aware of such scams.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjj37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

nothing to say good about this hostel, but please don't go there anyway ..

Room - ok but nothing special,
toilet & bathroom - no water, seat is broken
location - ok
staff - no friendly, just wait for you to check out so they can switch off lights & Ac.

I paid for a full night and check in at 10 am, but I want to leave early so told them that I will leave at 2pm, staff came to me at 2pm to ask me check out even I paid for whole night than I said that I will leave in 30 minutes so he remind me that it was till 2pm only, what a service & nature to treat guest.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manik_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#38 of 124 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
0.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#1 of 52 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sara Inn Hostel
Sara Inn Hostel
#57 of 124 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cecilia Hotel
Cecilia Hotel
#14 of 124 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Tonsy Hotel
El Tonsy Hotel
#32 of 52 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hostel

Property: Canadian Hostel
Address: 5 Talaat Harb Street 1st florr | Tahrir Squire- Down Town - Cairo, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Canadian Hostel is the Best Hostel in Cairo, Egypt, and perhaps the best in Africa!" We are located right in the centre of downtown Cairo, across the street from the subway and with a 5 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum it makes us hard to beat as the best place to stay.Please enjoy our friendly atmosphere, great service and hospitality. Breakfast is included (Egyptian & Continental) and our staff will exert each and every effort to make your stay a comfortable one.Almost all our rooms have air conditioning, including our dorm room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Canadian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing