We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good to stay , horrible to arrange tours!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canadian Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canadian Hostel
Ranked #47 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good to stay , horrible to arrange tours!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The canadian is very nice to stay, the have a amazing staff, who tried to help you to have a nice time at Egypt. The building is horrible, but the room is very good! There shower is not good, but you can have a shower if you have patience... BUT NOT BELIEVE IN THE TOURS! ARE EXPENSIVE AND THEY DONT GIVE YOU WHAT THEY SAY!!! If you are travelling alone and need somebody tho pic you up at airport, bus station, etc, they are expensive but really goods! But the tours they said that you gonna have a tour guide but its never is true!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diegomaldonado10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    13
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
5
7
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Jimmy, Mohammad, Medhat and all of the other staff at the Canadian Hostel were absolutely impeccable. They not only gave us a great night in Cairo, but effectively made the rest of our trip to Egypt. They offered service which gave us other hotels in Aswan and Luxor, they gave us tour guides, transportation, and even bought our train tickets for us. You will never get better service in your life. These guys know how to run a business.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DanSmeenk1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Canadian Hostel for 5 days when we first arrived in Cairo and loved it so much that after travelling around Egypt we came back and stayed the rest of our time here before leaving. The staff is very friendly and helpful-always willing to help you get train tickets or even take you to Coptic Cairo themselves! Perfect staff, perfect location!
Next time I return to Egypt I will definitely stay at Canadian Hostel. I only have good memories and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The rooms are so cheap as it is, choose one with air conditioning. My friend and I paid a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cavanau3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanta, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

After experiencing lots of disasters, I finally found that Canadian Hostel is the best hostels in Cairo. The staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the price is acceptable, and the most important thing is that there are hot water! To those who don't speak Arabic, in Canadian Hostel, you can communicate with the staff without any problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ririrurud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tainan, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The location is perfect, near Egyptian Museum and the metro, convenient to reach other sights and easy to grab simple and delicious Egyptian food around. The staff are friendly and full of energy. They are willing to answer any question and speak good English. I've stayed in three hostels in Cairo and this is the best one with reasonable prices. The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean and WIFI is fast and stable. Canadian is the only hostel that provides hair dryer among all the hostels i stayed in Egypt. I felt they are thoughtful and care about details. It is definitely a nice choice when you visit Cairo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShurouqHuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

Excellent value for money. Very central location in Downtown Cairo,2 minutes to the Egyptian Museum, Midam Tahrir and the metro station. Although the building looks a bit old but it's french designed. They have a door man 24 hours, that makes me feel safe. The common spaces and the rooms are very clean and spacious. Choose room number 115, it has shower inside. The staff are very friendly and helpful, they speak very well english, they have organized a wonderful falucca trip in the south, thanks jimmy. very recommend this hostel.
see you guys next time :)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

i spent some days here and book a tour with them.
so, rooms are basic, just a bed no wardrobes.
ask for air condition rooms. it is very hot cairo.
there is wifi and a simple breakfast.
managers speak good english.

about Tours, i booked a tour by them and in the south in aswan their partners are not very professional.

about Felluca-egyptian boats was very boring. i booked a 2 days cruise in the nile river and 1 st day we stayed all day stuck in the port doim anything.
the 2sd day we sailed in the river 40 minutes and the after stuck all day in a side of the river near the port doing nothing.
in the boat there is no toilet and no shower

i do NOY reccomend to girls to go alone only by a group.

the sailers stay all day in the boat smoking weed. is it their holiday??

felluca boat trip was very boring.

i talked about these problems to the manager of the hostel and he sayd me: "
i will give you a refund of 2 free nights here in the hostel"

did someone see my refund??

not me!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.0 mi away
Sun Hotel
Sun Hotel
#37 of 128 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Egyptian Night Hotel
Egyptian Night Hotel
#3 of 50 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cairo International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#2 of 50 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cecilia Hotel
Cecilia Hotel
#14 of 128 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sara Inn Hostel
Sara Inn Hostel
#62 of 128 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadian Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadian Hostel

Property: Canadian Hostel
Address: 5 Talaat Harb Street 1st florr | Tahrir Squire- Down Town - Cairo, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 128 Speciality Lodging in Cairo
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Canadian Hostel is the Best Hostel in Cairo, Egypt, and perhaps the best in Africa!" We are located right in the centre of downtown Cairo, across the street from the subway and with a 5 minute walk to the Egyptian Museum it makes us hard to beat as the best place to stay.Please enjoy our friendly atmosphere, great service and hospitality. Breakfast is included (Egyptian & Continental) and our staff will exert each and every effort to make your stay a comfortable one.Almost all our rooms have air conditioning, including our dorm room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Canadian Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing