We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good intro to Cairo and Egypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel

Grand Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #67 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good intro to Cairo and Egypt”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed for 2 nights Jan 2012. Wonderfully shabby hotel that has clearly seen better days. Room was clean with working shower etc. Although it was dark and the noise from the traffic ran though out the night we enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful and the security at the main door gave a sense of security for first time Cairo visitors - we quickly realised there was actually no need for it. Certainly thought it was very good value with a hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are further away from traffic but still noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    15
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
8
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

My first impression of this hotel was not that good however it was actually quite good. It is quite old but still nice and very clean. The rooms were nice and spacious however it was difficult to sleep because there is a lot of beeping on the main road which it was sitiated. The restaurant had good food. The hotel is located in downtown Cairo and we were able to walk to the museum.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGeagea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

First of all, the elevator really scared me. It was verry old. I felt more safe taking the stairs instead. The room was big but the furniture was old and the matress was not verry comfortable. They were offering egyptian food at the buffet (almost only egyptian food) I liked it but for the people that are not verry adventurous in food, they wont have a lot of choices. Overall, the place was kind of clean. I do not know about the value of the hotel because I didnt pay for it. But I like to change so I would not go back there again. The staff was pretty quiet and they were there for us when we needed it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe1Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

This hotel is in a good central location. Our room was on the third floor with a balcony overlooking the busy and noisy streets below. It was roomy, comfortable and clean with a good-sized bathroom with both a tub and shower. With the balcony doors closed, the traffic noise can still be heard but it really didn't bother us. Cairo cannot be described as a quiet city in any shape or form so we just accepted it. We negotiated a very reasonable dinner, bed and breakfast rate and ate every evening in the hotel restaurant. The food for both dinner and breakfast was varied and good and with very friendly waiting staff. There is no alcohol allowed in the restaurant.
We stayed in the Grand Hotel for three nights having left another disappointing hotel. We would definitely recommend it and stay here again if we are ever back in Cairo.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Banjo_Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

I have stayed here with groups for 5 years. The staff are friendly & speak reasonable English on reception. There can be some misunderstandings but on the whole my groups enjoy their time at the Grand. It is ideally placed for shopping trips!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2010

The Grand Hotel was centrally located in downtown Cairo, so we weren't in a very touristy location which was sort of nice, but it meant we stood out more as a group of girls travelling together.

The lifts were certainly an experience, but then so were the taxi rides. The Hotel wasn't modern, but the rooms were clean and the breakfast was good. The street was very busy and noisy most of the time and we were woken every morning by the call to prayer, once you got used to this it wasn't really a problem though.

A very interesting experience and good value hotel.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank borntotravel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2009

great location 5 close to downtown and the zamalrc area 53 dollars gets a nice clean room in french style building with balcony and a nice view

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank tomkash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.2 mi away
Windsor Hotel Cairo
Windsor Hotel Cairo
#23 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Royal
Hotel Grand Royal
#42 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Golden Hotel
Golden Hotel
#50 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#52 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Osiris Hotel
Osiris Hotel
#35 of 137 in Cairo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
City View Hotel
City View Hotel
#22 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 17 26 July Street, Cairo 11511, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Cairo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing