We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast Business Cheap Sleep”
Review of Horus House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horus House Hotel
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fast Business Cheap Sleep”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

cozy and cheap if you are seeking to be in zamalek for a day or two.
very close to Sakya, Alfa Market and all zamalek outings.
you can do work at the lobby with privacy and quietness.
staff are helpful
not a nice luxurious hotel but it is a good place to sleep at

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Serageldin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    19
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
10
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

My sister has a house in Cairo 10 minutes away from Horus. Whenever I go back to Cairo for a visit, not only do I stay at Horus, but so does my sister....the place takes us back to the Cairo of days. It's an old school hotel with old school furniture and old school food. I cannot really explain what it is. But the place just feels so homy. You save a good buck and will not feel like you're in a hostel. Don't expect the Ritz but rather a lil' comfy place.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank TheSherif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have been coming on private visits to Cairo for years and I mostly stay at the Horus. It is centrally located in this far flung city. My brother and daughter also always come here independently. It occupies the fourth floor of an older residential building. No pre scripted 'have a nice day' type customer service here, it is genuine kindness that you will get, simple and warm. The hotel is comfortable, clean. The food is good like I used to eat at home. The Horus provides excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mourad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We had stayed 4 nights in the Longchamps hotel on the floor above Horus House Hotel and it was quite a shock to stay our last night in Cairo in something so much worse. I should say however that we were grateful to find a room but at the same price as the Longchamps the place really was poor value for money.

The place is dated, the carpets and furniture worn much like the sheets/blankets/towels and the management has removed the plug from the bath so you have to use the shower head. The hotel was however kept clean and had a modern flat screen TV.

Breakfast was a disaster and really shows the difference between trying and not trying vis-a-vis the longchamps management who take pride in the breakfast they offer to their guests.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Itsmorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I read various negative reviews on this hotel but I rather enjoyed my stay, although it lasted only one night. The room where I slept was very spacious, with comfortable beds, television and air-conditioning, most importantly a clean bathroom and a quiet atmosphere. We were attended very courteously by the staff and the price was acceptable, as it also included breakfast.
There are only two downsides in my opinion: first, the hotel is located on the fourth floor of the building and the elevators are old and small, hence if you are traveling with heavy and bulky suitcases this may be a little inconvenient; secondly, the continental breakfast was ok but far from being satisfactory to the palate.
To sum up, a good option if you are traveling with friends, do not have too many claims and a narrow budget!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MisSpectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorusHotel, Front Office Manager at Horus House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Customer,

let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Horus House Hotel.

Your comments are of vital interest in order to improve our performances.

I really hope to see you all next time and to be able to fulfill all your expectation

Sincerely

Maged Makram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falkenberg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at Horus House for seven nights in April-May. We were seven persons in our group, different ages. We soon started to call the hotel "our home" . This hotel, inside an apartment building, has an excellent location in Zamalek, green and very quiet for being in Cairo, surrounded by private schools, embassies, good restaurants, clubs and nice shops. Yet it is central, 10 - 20 minutes b taxi from the Egyptian museum and down town Cairo.
The hotel has nice, big and clean rooms, a small terrace and dining-room with good basic meals. The best thing about this hotel is the very helpful staff who would fix almost everything for you if you need, like transfers and transports or high-qulity guiding.
We found Horus House a safe place and the room prices are very good value for your money. Very much recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FalkenbergAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorusHotel, Manager at Horus House Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Customer,

let me seize this opportunity to thank you for choosing Horus House Hotel.

Your comments are of vital interest in order to improve our performances.

I really hope to see you all next time and to be able to fulfill all your expectation

Sincerely

Maged Makram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The only real positive to this hotel is the location in the heart of Zamalek. Rooms are dated and worn with exceptionally noisy a/c units - take a good supply of ear plugs. Cleaning the room consists of making the bed and changing the towels. You never see a vacuum cleaner or detergents in the bathroom, in fact cleaning the sink and toilet is a quick wipe with your used towel - witnessed it many times. Breakfast is......how to describe.....it is dull, boring and the same every day. Half stale croissants, rubbery cheese and a few tomatoes is about your lot, oh don't forget the boiled egg and sachets of Nescafé. No cereals or even fresh fruit. Worst breakfast I've ever had and I've had a few bad ones.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to reception are a little better and have stronger Internet signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Smokey1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairo hotels
0.5 mi away
Beirut Hotel
Beirut Hotel
#60 of 137 in Cairo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glorious Hotel
Glorious Hotel
#55 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Meridien Heliopolis
Le Meridien Heliopolis
#33 of 137 in Cairo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Baron Hotel Heliopolis Cairo
1.2 mi away
Sonesta Hotel, Tower & Casino Cairo
4.9 mi away
Om Kolthoom Hotel & Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horus House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horus House Hotel

Property: Horus House Hotel
Address: 21 Ismail Muhammad | Zamalek, Cairo, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Cairo Governorate > Cairo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 137 Hotels in Cairo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Horus House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Horus House Hotel, a 3 stars hotel offers air-conditioned rooms with LCD TV and free Wi-Fi. Buffet breakfast, an outdoor terrace and ticket service are available.Horus House Hotel’s rooms each have satellite TV and a work desk. A minibar is also provided, and guests can order in-room breakfast and room service.The staff at Horus House’s 24-hour front desk are available to assist with currency exchange or airport shuttle arrangements. Express check-in/check-out is also offered.Hot buffet breakfast is available each day, and guests can enjoy a drink on hotel Horus House’s outdoor terrace.Located in Cairo’s quiet Zamalek district, Horus House Hotel is 1 mile from both Ramses Train Station and Gezira subway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Horus House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing