We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,638)
Filter reviews
1,638 results
Traveller rating
512
517
359
155
95
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
517
359
155
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspyramid viewvery nice hotellobby areaitalian restaurantswimming pool istravel agentegyptian museumsound and light showrefaatcairotraffictaxisphinxlesecurityroofrelation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 1,638 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Nice hotel with views of the Pyramids
Room was comfortable but had to request a room change because the air conditioning unit was rattling. My room was changed without any hassles.
Wifi is pretty poor unless you are in the lobby and the hotel is huge, so if you get given a room towards the back, it literally takes 10 mins to get from the lobby to your room.
Great pool and gym facilities and gym was well equipped.
Buffet Breakfast was not always consistent when large groups were there and eating everything before you get a chance to grab food for yourself. But a great selection of food.
staff are friendly and helpful.
I stayed a second time at the end of my Egypt trip so i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyeofpapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression. Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel is in a great spot. We loved the rooftop with the view of the Pyramids during sunset, INCREDIBLE! The rooms were great after a long hot day of exploring to relax in. The Hotel lobby bar is great to unwind with a beer also after being out exploring. We found the staff to be very helpful although they clearly work with tour groups and try to act as if they do not know the people who run tours around the Pyramids. We let them believe we had no idea as we knew it was out of our hands and could get dangerous if out there on our own. This also happened on a day out visting old Cairo at a place where they make scrolls. The Hotel driver definitely knew the owner and received commison if we bought anything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tyler C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We are very happy that Mercue Cairo Le Sphinx hotel and the team members were able to accommodate to your expectations.

Your beautiful words are a motiviation gear to every team member of the hotel and will encourage us to always improve and develop the quality of service we offer to our precious trusting guests.

We looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With all our best wishes to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of an Egypt trip.
The Facilities availible are excellent,
Very Clean surroundings, friendly staff and no problems faced.
Restaurants in this hotel are top notch, and they can handle huge groups of people.
I particularly enjoyed the night view of the pyramids from the roof garden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgefkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

We would like to thank you for your recent visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

I am delighted to read that the accommodations and service were up to your expectations, as complete satisfaction is our goal, hence our non-stop attempts to develop and improve the quality of service remains our main objective to deliver the best service our guests deserve.

Together with my team, we would much appreciate to welcoming you as a regular guest and we are looking forward for your next visit.

We wish you all the best .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Thank God it was a 1Night Stay: 1- the hotel cheated on us and checked us in a single room instead of the double room that we booked online,,, and when confronted about it they denied and the reception girl said : "Only the bed was single" that made no sense!......2- the room was very far away from the hotel facilities, restaurants and reception,,, it took us nearly 5 mins walk to get to and from the room that was so hard on us specially with our baby that we had to carry all the way 3- only 1 one out of 3 restaurants were open and was the most expensive and offered low quality food... breakfast was left over food from lunch!! .... during dinner when i ordered a small spoon for my baby the Garcon got me one from the kitchen to clean it from the dust i saw him RUBBING IT IN HIS BUTT which was very NASTY.... before we left we spoke to the young girl from the reception and her manager "Karim" about our bad experience and complain that we will send he carelessly said " OK NO PROBLEM" as if the hotel is used to get complains from the hotel visitors....We are unpleased,, and would never recommend it to any of our friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx.

We are deeply sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation , Needles to say what occurred does not adhere with our service and standards and we regret that you left the hotel with a negative impression , these occasions are far from our typical daily practices.

Please rest assured that all your comments have been shared within our top management to take the corrective actions to avoide such staff responses and handling in the future.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Slow check-in with only one person on the reception desk, she was talking too much regardless how we look after traveling this long distance, plus reaching the hotel is not easy at all and there is lack of signs on the main roads.
Anyway, smell of the hotel is terrible, like there A/C system is wrong, rooms are small, A/C in the rooms doesn’t work even when I put in on 15 degree C, nothing in the mini bar, and complementary coffee seems like someone stole from it before we arrive the room, nothing to see through balcony of the so-called Pyramids view room, as the room was in the 1st floor and there was like very high outer wall so what you really can see is nothing!
Food is not good at all, very very very poor variety and very expensive of this low quality food, the so-called Le Sphinx roof is just like a roof of a poor Egyptian family house hold roof, and I’m sure that it’s a shame to called is “Le Sphinx” because if he was alive he would be very angry.
It was one hell stay and I don’t recommend anyone to think about this hotel .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmed S, Front Office Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Again , we are deeply sorry that you experience did not meet your expectation

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews