We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Birthday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed there for 4 days on my birthday and had a great time.
I choose a larger room for more comfort and had a great dinner on the rooftop area looking at the Pyramids.
I liked the fact that I could smoke my cigar on the AC bar.
The location is very good.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Guestnumber007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear JFBYM47,

I am delighted that your birthday was a memorable one at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel. Having dinner at the Pyramide Cafe outdoor restaurant while enjoying the strunning scene of the Pyramids is no doubt impeccable.

We would love to welcoming you once again and looking forward for that.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Its sometimes hard to review in Cairo given the general state of affairs in the country recently, so a big caveat is that this is 'Egypt Standards' . However I stayed here on business, and we held a large company event ( 200 +). The service was excellent and charming and we had a great time. The room I stayed in was well equipped if a little dated, but very comfortable and clean.

Wifi is super fast in the lobby, but non existent in the rooms which is an investment issue.

One can see the pyramids very clearly from the roof terrace as they are only 300 mtrs away so you cant get much closer !

All of the hotels in this neighbourhood try very hard, and with investment from the owners it will again be a high class location. Its no ones fault other than the recent national decline ( and hopefully, recovery)

I would stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an Exec room - its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holmesdale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear holmesdale1,

We thank you for posting your feedback, we liked very much classifing our services by an Excellent, we are delighted being met with your entire satisfaction, it's our aim, reach the optimum quality of service, so thank you once again.

FREE broad-band Wi-Fi service in lobby is a unique one, we are currently offerining FREE cable internet in guestrooms to enhance our services and meet with our guests complete satisfaction. Wi-Fi is yet very limited in guestrooms and up to availaibility.

The Pyramide Cafe restaurant is distinguished by the impeccable view of the pyramids mixed with an Egyptian ambiance varied between oriental music, entertainment, berverages and food.

We will never stop thanking you for your fruitful and constructive feedback.

We hope your next visit to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx will be enjoyable as this stay with flairs of change that you may realize.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We were with a touring group who were booked in very fast and professionaly. Free wi-fi in lobby was great. Would of been nice to have in the rooms. Waiters around lounge area were very friendly and helpful. Pool area exceptionally clean, including the sparkling pool water. Views from top of outside lounge area had stunning views of the pyramids.We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and found the food good.Bathroom bath was dirty--hair found in the bath! Shampoos and soap were provided together with 2 bottles of water. A mini bar fridge would of been helpful to keep the water cold. Air conditioning was okay. Bedroom well decorated with good solid furniture and beds were also comfortable. Bedding was clean. One hour from Cairo airport.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Pyramids are noisy as a major road (intersection) runs past the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Kevin25,

We are truely happy that your recent stay at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx had met with your satisfaction. Free Wi-Fi service in lobby is a unique service we offer to our guests, and we are currently enhanced our offer by providing cable internet service free of charge in guestrooms yet Wi-Fi service is limited. Also we are thrilled about your description to our swimming pool with the splendid Pyramid view in background. We thank you for the compliments about our breakfast and dinner and I will share that with the concerned team. I deeply regret the bathroom amenities issues, housekeeping was alerted immediately to take a proper corrective action.

Once again we thank for choosing Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx and we hope to welcoming you in the very near future.

All the best in your personal and business endeavours

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel could not be more closer to the pyramids in fact they are almost in the front garden.
The hotel was clean and friendly with great pool and spa facilities included steam room, sauna, Jacuzzi. Massage available and state of the art gym equipment so great facilities.
Gift shops, Taxi services and nightclub within the hotel. Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for you. I ate the buffet breakfast and dinner and was not disappointed. Would recommend this hotel and I plan to stay again.

Room Tip: I had a quiet room which faced the gardens on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Maria H,

I and the entire Mercure Le Sphinx team are delighted that the quality of our services met with your satisfaction and really thrilled to know about your intension to repeat your visit.

Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx's location is a unique privelege being in a very close distant from the Pyramids, furthemore the fabulous view of the pyramids from the hotel different areas is really worthwhile to watch.

We are glad that our free health Club facilities and services was up to your expectations.

I will share your compliments with the entire team while I am sure it will motivate them to maintain but also to improve and develope their quality of service.

We will be waiting for your next visit, meantime we wish you all the best in your personal and business endeavours.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Bedding was dirty. Bathroom flooded after having a shower. Air conditioning worked on and off and when it did work it was very noisy. Pool was dirty. Professional pictures of hotel very misleading. Found most staff to be very unhelpful.Considering the cost of a 3 night stay - not impressed at all. Certainly wont be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx.

We are deeply sorry that your experience did not meet your expectation , Needles to say what occurred does not adhere with our service and standards and we regret that you left the hotel with a negative impression , these occasions are far from our typical daily practices.

Please rest assured that all your comments have been shared within our top management to take the corrective actions to avoide such staff responses and handling in the future.

We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit where you will touch a progress in our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Room was very dirty ie bathroom had mould carpet was stained as was the curtains
Air conditioning in room did not work very well so spent two uncomfortable nights there
Pool was clean and reasonable size and deep
We had bar food that was very nice bar had a view of the pyramids
Breakfast was of a good standard
Hotel common areas where clean

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Thank you for posting your constructive comments.

Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression. Please be assured that we take all the necessary measures to identify means of development and improvement to elevate the quality of service.

We are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again where you would experience and touch the value of progression.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

had a nice stay with comfortable , very nice stuff and friendly , food very nice, bar for drinks was so nice view with good barman, nice comfortable bed, good facilities for business meetings, good space with garden

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezzatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamal H, General Manager at Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

We are very happy that Mercue Cairo Le Sphinx hotel and the team members were able to accommodate to your expectations.

Your beautiful words are a motiviation gear to every team member of the hotel and will encourage us to always improve and develop the quality of service we offer to our precious trusting guests.

We looking forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

With all our best wishes to you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,713 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#2 of 42 in Giza
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.4 mi away
Best View Pyramids Hotel
1.3 mi away
Marvel Stone Hotel
Marvel Stone Hotel
#14 of 42 in Giza
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx

Address: 1 Cairo Alex Desert Rd. El Remaya Sq. El Haram, Giza 12556, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#8 Business Hotel in Giza
Price Range: £34 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx combines an exciting location & incomparable service. This impressive hotel offers its guests a unique opportunity to explore the historical surroundings in total comfort & convenience. Located in a magnificent park at the foot of the Giza Pyramids & the Sphinx, 35 km from Cairo international airport, this 5-star hotel is ideal for leisure & relaxation seekers with its various recreational facilities as well as business trips with its two fully equipped meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Hotel Giza
Sofitel Hotel Giza
Sofitel Giza
Giza Sofitel
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing