We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Stayed here last year for a few days. It is the nearest hotel to the pyramids in Giza. Friendly staff, clean modern, spacious rooms although not comparable to 5 star hotels in Europe. Its two advantages over other hotels in Giza is the size of the hotel grounds - plenty of space to walk around the very well kept gardens; and the very spacious rooms, which makes a difference in such a hot country. Although a hotel, it has more of a resort feel.

The view of pyramids is lovely.

Room Tip: The new section of the hotel is modern and somewhat minimalistic. If you want an Egyptian decorate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anoushka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    404
    100
    29
    23
See reviews for
314
545
138
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

staying here you must request a room with a full view of the pyramids of Giza. It is a lovely old hotel set in lush tropical gardens across the road from one of the great Wonders of the World.
its hard to believe that each morning when you wake up and walk out onto your balcony, that you are looking right at the Pyramids. Truly mind boggling and for most, a dream come true.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhonnieAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Famous hotel much beloved by Heads of State. Amazing location adjacent to the pyramids. Service what you'd expect from a hotel of this class. The Indian restaurant takes a lot of beating with great food and atmosphere. For its class quite good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Me and my wife stayed for two nights at the Men's House in December. We were a little sceptical of how things would transpire as the hotel is no longer with the Oberoi group.

It is definitely an experience in itself staying at Men's House which is a great relief from the bustling city of Cairo.

We had booked for an airport transfer which cost us 40USD which I was ok paying for knowing that things were a little unstable in Cairo. There was a representative waiting for us right at the entrance of the terminal from the tarmac even before you hit the luggage carousals which was great.

It took us about 60 minutes to reach the hotel. The driver (Mustafa) spoke excellent English and was quite re assuring about the situation in Cairo.

Welcome at the hotel was fantastic. What a high it gives you to alight from your vehicle and be immediately addressed by your name in a foreign land.

We had the rooms division manager and duty manager promptly escorting us in and given a brief show around of the majestic hotel followed by an upgrade to a suite.

The rooms are extremely well appointed with enough space in cupboards and racks to keep you going for weeks together.

We tried the coffee shop and the Indian restaurant; both scored high in quality of food and service. Having been out traveling for about a month we were craving for Indian food Emma at the Indian restaurant was just outstanding with his choice of dishes.

The coffee shop serves some excellent choices of dishes from around the world.

Must mention the prices for alcohol across Egypt were quite high except for at Mena House which was quite a relief.

The concierge and belldesk was prompt and courteous and also helped us with a detailed show around of their presidential suite.

We also got a chance to me Rasha the house keeping executive who went out of her way to ensure the room was done to our requirements and her eye for detail and her knowledge about her profession and Cairo was awe inspiring.

All in all it was a great experience having stayed at the Men's house...in the cradle of the Pyramids.

P.S. Make sure u plan you trip in a manner that you reach Cairo towards the closing end of the moon cycle. The moon is visible directly above the pyramids and it's quite an experience just looking at the pyramids. Mystical and Magical!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra money for the palace wing. The newer wing is very modern, something that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pratzila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just arrived back from a magical six days in egypt...all spent at the classy mena hotel...what a shame that all the issues in egypt are keeping the tourists away...while i feel sorry for the staff who rely on a high occupancy...it meant a magical time for us . so the positives...brilliant location, very friendly staff and magical views...the down was that there is construction work at present ...but this is reflected in the price...i would certainly suggest the old rooms rather than the new wing...we did have a bad guide on day one but spoke to the senior guide and from then on we were in good hands...indeed Nasr made the whole trip ...strongly recommended...especially for his knowledge of the pyramids. I hope you enjoy giza as much as we did!

Room Tip: The old wing if you can afford... if not a high garden room facing the pyramids...we had 430
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barker138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teaneck, NJ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

As part of our tour we spent two days at Mena House. We upgraded to have a view of the Great Pyramids. Nothing can beat sitting on the balcony, watching the sun rise as the call to prayer filters across the garden. Room service and the food was excellent. Since few travelers were in Cairo, or the lower Nile, we had the experience in peace and quiet.
Lovely, historic hotel. The desk will arrange, upon request, a tour of this beautiful hotel. Seeing the suites where Churchill, Montgomery, and Obama stayed was a thrill. Would recommend staying here. Only drawback is traffic getting to and from tours and the airport.

Room Tip: Upgrade for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanTeaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Back then I missed filling a review on the Hotel we stayed in Cairo, Egypt. This was the Mena House hotel very close at a walking distance to the Pyramids. YThe personnel was bilingual, the rooms were very clean and nice, each room had a different style.
Notwitstanding the International cuisine, you could have lunch and dinner on the porch of the hotel and by the same token inside with air-conditioner on. You could also explore at breakfast time a plate of FOUL Medamis together with Oive oil. They are also specialized in Lebanese food and sweets. I would recommend this hotel if you are justpassing by Cairo and want to have a glance of the Pyramids. Tickets are also available for Som et Lumiere. All rooms are Air
Conditioned. We pretend next year to stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a front end and and a side end. I would suggest the upper floors which are more sile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
6.6 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing