We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nickel & Dime you”
Review of Mena House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mena House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nickel & Dime you”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here because I wanted to stay in the same hotel my grandmother had stayed at many years before (when it was an Oberoi hotel). I booked through an online travel agency and the room rate was for a pyramid view room with internet. On arrival, they said that was a mistake an no internet was included. After I showed them online that the agreement showed complimentary internet, they still were trying t argue with me. Finally, after much discussion, one of the managers relented and said they would deal with the online travel agency to sort out the matter and I would get internet. They asked if we wanted two wifi access, or if we wanted one wi-fi and one cable access since there were two of us, and the wifi access was for only one device. We opted for the latter, and because the cable internet was the only thing available in the room, we never went to the front desk to renew the wi-fi access after the first 24 hours. Good thing too, because they still ended up adding the internet charge to my room for the wi-fi access....something I only found out at check out when we were in a hurry to catch a flight--conveniently preventing us from being able to make our point and speak to the same manager who had "cleared up" the internet situation the first time. So, we payed for it ($25 dollars per day per access!!) and went on our way. I felt this was dishonest.

This is not the hotel it once was. Unless you are booking directly from their website (at inflated prices) you will not be staying in the historic portion of the hotel--which is where you think you will be staying from the pictures. Your room will be further away from the pyramids, and will be a "newer" construction with shoddy electrical access---never have I actually needed to make use of a power converter (in addition to a plug adapter) other than what is already included in my travel devices--there were spikes and valleys in the power so the charging of my camera battery/lap top/etc was inconsistent.
I would not stay here again, and since there are so many options for pyramid view rooms in giza, I would go elsewhere.

Room Tip: You need both an adapter and a power converter if you will be using any electricty while here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SenTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    955
    408
    102
    30
    23
See reviews for
325
556
141
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We travel to Mena House in 2012. There were 7 in our group. Travel to Egypt was slow at this time and the staff at the Mena seemed really glad to have us there. We stayed in the older part of the hotel. It felt like we were stepping back in time. The hotel is beautiful and taken care of very well. We stayed in the wing with the larger suites and the balconies face the Pyramids. At night when the light show is going on the Pyramids are lit up and it is a great view from the hotel. We were given a tour of several of the larger suites. Some were where generals had stayed during WW2. The staff is very attentive the food is great. I would love to go back here someday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and great view of the Pyramids. Order a bottle of wine and enjoy the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainKirkT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Mena House Hotel at the foot of the Great Pyramids in Cairo is nothing short of spectacular. It perfectly meets the expectations, and wildest imagination of travellers who come to Egypt seeking a luxurious adventure and old colonial charm.

The building is a treasure in itself adorned on the outside with period woodwork from over 100 years ago, and the interior is just stunning with enormous, and intricately ornate chandeliers, wall decor and touches of grandeur in every nook, cranny, and corner.

The service is impeccable, and the staff hold a certain old school Egyptian etiquette which is hard to come across in modern Cairo. And I think you will be hard pressed to find anywhere else in Egypt steeped in so much history, with a list of historical celebrity guests including foreign dignitaries like Winston Churchill, Monty and others.

The location at the foot of the pyramids means you wake up every morning to the only surviving wonder of the world. And not only does it serve as a fantastic location for visitors, but also as an excellent place to escape the city all the while staying in the city for locals.

In short - its a must see, and must stay.

Room Tip: More than half the rooms in the hotel face the the Giza pyramids - make sure you book one of those e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waseem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is a gem and the old building feels unreal. The newer wing has a bit less personality, but maybe it's just me. The location is one of a kind: right next to the pyramids... I was able to visit them at 8am, almost alone. Priceless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAlberto041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Alberto,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Mena House was included as part of a tour package I signed up with Ask Aladdin, out of Egypt. I decided to pick the 5 star hotel package, as opposed to the 4 star....evident there is a big difference. It was the first place I stayed during the tour. I was pleased with the Mena House. The view of the great pyramid from the room's balcony was amazing. The service was excellent! The food was great. Keep in mind, with all 5 star hotel...regardless of country...expect to grab your luggage and transfer them to your room for a tip. The pool was way cool! Would stay here again! They are nicer hotels, such as the Fairmont, near the airport, and where we stayed on the way out of Egypt. But if visiting Giza and the great Pyramid....this is the best place to,stay.

A word about security. It was never a problem and I never felt threatened. Egyptians are great people who love tourist. This is a great time to visit as rates are reduced everywhere and all attractions you will have almost to yourself! I didn't really want to navigate the whole process by myself, so this is why I paid more and had Ask Aladdin set it all up for me. FYI, they did a fantastic job!

Room Tip: Tell you want a room with the Pyramid view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCOKUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. JCOK,
Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strasburg, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

this was our first time in Giza, lucked out with this selection. THE BEST pyramid views and outstanding breakfast. two layers of security for some reason and the staff were very helpful. was told this place was built in the 1800s so you notice the history.. very clean and comfy rooms.

Room Tip: save your money and don't get the rooms with the view. odd are you're here to see the pyrami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strasburg_Allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tareklotfy62, Director of Marketing at Mena House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Mr. Allen,

Thank you so much for your feedback and comments on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

Best Regards
Tarek Lotfy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived after dark and had no idea that the pyramids were across the street. What a wonderful surprise the next morning! Our first view of them was from this amazing oasis and then we got to "sit with them" during breakfast in the beautiful restaurant. Be sure to have your camera ready as you walk through the grounds!
BTW, because we arrived late, we ordered room service for dinner. What a nice surprise to discover that even the spaghetti was outstanding!

Room Tip: We were in one of the newer rooms and had trouble with the room being too cold. Turning off the AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
640 reviews
5.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
2.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at Nile Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mena House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mena House Hotel

Property: Mena House Hotel
Address: 6 Pyramids Road, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#2 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#2 Spa Hotel in Giza
#2 Business Hotel in Giza
#3 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Mena House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 523
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mena House is one of the most unique hotels in Cairo, with its own rich and colourful history. Surrounded by 40 acres of verdant green gardens, this palatial hotel is located in the shadows of the Great Pyramids of Giza in Cairo. The royal history of the hotel is reflected in luxurious interiors that are embellished with exquisite antiques, handcrafted furniture, original work of arts and magnificent antiques that are rarely found in luxury hotels. Mena House has played host to kings and emperors, Heads of State and celebrities. The Mena House located 700 meters from these wonders of the ancient world offers unmatched views of the pyramids. You can gaze upon the magnificence of the pyramids from your rooms at sunrise and sunset. After dinner at one of the many restaurants, you can return to see them lit up for your private viewing pleasure. An ideal location for meetings in Cairo, the hotel's banquets and conference centre offer venues for weddings, receptions and meetings ranging from 50 to 1000 guests. Recreation options at the hotel include a heated swimming pool, a fully equipped Fitness Centre and Spa. Regarded as one of the leading luxury hotels in Cairo, the hotel combines the magical charm of a bygone era with unrivalled service fit for royalty. Your interlude at the hotel promises to be a journey of discovery, exploring Cairo's ancient treasures and unravelling the many mysteries of Egypt's past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mena House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mena House Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Giza
Oberoi Hotel Mena
Oberoi Giza
Mena Oberoi
Mena House Giza
Giza Oberoi
Mena House Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing