We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the calm between hustle bustle”
Review of Safir Hotel Cairo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Safir Hotel Cairo
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the calm between hustle bustle”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

very good food, very clean room, very friendly staff. stayed 2 nights felt like stayed there more longer. greeted with Egypt sweets and next day with very good quality food. surrounding have good food options if you dont wish to have food in hotel.

would have loved to have little more quietness in morning , since its down town gets noisy very early.

Room Tip: 805 for city view , 826 for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeelkhan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    178
    55
    14
    6
See reviews for
85
126
56
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just got back from Cairo yesterday. My third time there but my first time stating in Safir. Very nice and elegant hotel. I believe that it's very popular with business people. I love the location- just about 10 mins from Dokki metro and many restaurants nearby (my favorite Mcdonalds is few feet away). Downside- limited free WiFi in lobby/room - then you pay extra. Breakfast - surprisingly, lacking in hot items- you know like egg station, pancake, etc. Also I didn't know why they put me in smoking room-they didn't really ask me. I guess it's because they are in full capacity (according to receptionist) and I checked-in early so they might have given me the next available room. No complaints about smelling any smoke though- so that's good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hermes_77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boileau, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Arrived early. Had requested a non-smoking room but got put on smoking floor (4th). The smell was very faint, but still. We took it, went to visit for the afternoon, then came back around dinner time and asked to be moved. 30 minutes later, we were moved onto the 7th floor into a smoke free room. Very, very quiet.

Both room we saw were extremely clean but the first one was showing slight signs of aging. Shower has amazing pressure (but the temperature somewhat fluctuates). The pool area is well maintained and attended. The staff is extremely friendly and inviting, like most Cairenes. Breakfast was adequate but I've seen better variety (we were here 3 days and only 2 kinds of fruit available).

The hotel seems to aim for M.E. businessmen. It was quite busy and seemed unaffected by the current difficult times. There is the Doqqi metro station within less than a 10-minute walking distance. Doqqi station is 1 away from Zamalek and 3 from downtown. Know that at the time of writing, the main Tahir Square station was shut down. All in all, recommended!

Room Tip: Some say the higher the better, but honestly the hotel is so quiet, I wonder if there is a point to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed for three nights in May 2014

Pros:
-- EXCELLENT front desk and service all around. Just ask nicely and it will be done.
-- Lively lobby but not loud.
-- Handy travel agent in the lobby -- use them for the pyramids and anything else. VERY helpful and easy to work with.
-- The lobby bar delivers to the room.
-- The breakfast buffet was very pleasing.

Cons:
-- I didn't eat in the restaurants but certainly wasn't tempted to do so.
-- Don't count on a non-smoking room being non-smoking. Just nicely ask to change rooms.
-- This hotel is not new and is definitely has some wear on it -- service and price more than compensates.

Room Tip: -- Specify non-smoking but be prepared to ask for a change if it smells like cigarettes. -- Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taguba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALALSAFIR, Revenue Manager at Safir Hotel Cairo, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,Thank you for your review of your stay at Safir Hotel Cairo.We have taken note of your concerns on our service, particularly with regards to smoking and non-smoking rooms.Thank you once again for your valuable and honest feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you during your next stay with us.Kind regards, The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I have had a gym membership at the hotel for a year now. Overall I have been very disappointed in the maintenance of the equipment. It is a very small gym so it is important to keep the equipment that is there in good working order. Unfortunately, this is not the case. The equipment will stay broken for long periods of time despite numerous complaints by many of the guests. The pool is also supposed to be heated in the winter; however, for most of the winter they have offered the excuse that the boilers are not working properly, therefore the pool has been not heated or poorly heated. The quality is simply not up to standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ctcairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunshine coast australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My family and i stayed here early january.The staff were very friendly and helpfull.Rooms were very neat and clean.Buffet breakfast was excellent with a great selection.Good location to cairo city centre.I would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyb690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sendai, Japan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I was hosting an event at this hotel and I decided to stay 2 nights there, staff were helpfully and friendly, hotel in general was clean and neat, breakfast & lunch was tasty with large variety, rooms are clean and air conditioned well, almost sound proof, and parking areas are available for free or with few charge.
Overall rating for this hotel is great and I highly recommend to stay in this hotel for business trip of short stay in Cairo.

Room Tip: Booking online saves around 20 USD per night, and it's big hotel with a lot of rooms, so it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osama-alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Giza
1.5 mi away
Ramses Hilton
Ramses Hilton
#13 of 137 in Cairo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,356 reviews
5.9 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Cairo at the First Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kempinski Nile Hotel Cairo
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Cairo El Gezirah
0.3 mi away
Pyramisa Suites Hotel Cairo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safir Hotel Cairo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safir Hotel Cairo

Property: Safir Hotel Cairo
Address: | El Missaha Square, Giza 11211, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Giza
#5 Romantic Hotel in Giza
#6 Luxury Hotel in Giza
#6 Family Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Safir Hotel Cairo 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safir Hotel Cairo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safir Hotel Giza
Safir Hotel Cairo Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing