We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside it's big, inside it's amazing”

Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.00*
and up
Pyramids Day Tour from Cairo: Pyramids of Cheops, Chefren and Mykerinus
Ranked #2 of 79 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest and oldest of the Giza pyramids, this colossal structure stands nearly 500 feet tall.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outside it's big, inside it's amazing”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

An amazing place to visit, outside it's big, but more or less what you expect from the many images we've all seen before however it's quite an amazing experience to go inside, even moreso if you're lucky enough to be the only person in there as I was for a short time. At 200 Egyption pounds it's expensive but well worth it for what will be a life long memory.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pjbliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,221
    274
    46
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“You can visit the inner chamber of this and many other pyramids”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The most dazzling pyramid inner chamber that can be visited by the general public would have to be that of Teti as Saqqara (see my review under Pyramid of Unas). And the most adventurous would be the Red Pyramid at Dahshour (see my review).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank X1_G8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A bucket list experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

At this time, there are fewer tourists visiting Giza. This makes it a great time to go! I got time in the kings chamber to tone, meditate and lie on the sarcophagus. The climb up to the chamber can be a walking meditation; it was very enjoyable for me. But I am short and fit. It could have been tricky for a tall person with no flexibility. Your body must negotiate through small spaces. That's half the fun! You are in one of the worlds greatest treasures, so be fully present and enjoy every second. A truly magnificent experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank H4riata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

You will be amazed by the size and the construction. I am sure there is still a lot to discover and know about this place. I managed to go inside …….. you must be there very early as they only allow 100 peers/day. Whether that is still the case? I mean standing in front is something , but inside you will understand the real amazing and colossal project this was.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MAlbertoS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Unforgettable...”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A must see for every globetrotter. Skip the dozens of people selling souvenirs and you should be fine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank J_Guilherme_R_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu) also viewed

Giza, Giza Governorate
Giza, Giza Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing