We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip of a lifetime”

Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$47.00*
and up
Sound and Light Show of Giza Pyramids of Cheops from Cairo
Ranked #3 of 78 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The largest and oldest of the Giza pyramids, this colossal structure stands nearly 500 feet tall.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Asked hotel reception to arrange a taxi to take us there - it arrived within the hour with an English speaking driver who warned us he was just a driver & not a guide. He proceeded to give us a brilliant talk on the pyramids, how best to deal with hawkers "La", or "La'ha" means "No" in Egyptian, but they recognize "No" provided you are firm. Do not make eye contact, do not look at the stuff they are trying to sell, or they will stick to you until you leave. Your 'area' pass that you buy to get to the pyramids (separate from passes to get you into either the Great Pyramid or the second one) gives you access to the sphynx also, so do not let your taxi driver take them from you otherwise they might offer to get you a 'separate' pass for the sphynx, take another 70 Egyptian pounds from you, only to return with your own pass! Our driver advised to enter the second pyramid as the interior is the same as that of the Great Pyramid but cheaper, plus it is becoming hard to get into the Great Pyramid - currently only 150 visitors can enter at 9.30 am and another 150 at around 3pm. However, the tomb in the 2nd pyramid is 42 metres underground and the entrance is VERY small - so we did not go into it, even after buying tickets. Unbelievable atmosphere & currently very quiet in terms of tourist numbers - may be like this for some years to come, so ideal time to visit!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AlisdairMcRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,186
    270
    46
    9
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Its really wonderfull, but turists needs to be very careful, because they will try to ask you for money for everything! Be really carefoul and its better to take a taxi, because Camels doesnt have A/C. (Do not belive them, taxi can go inside of the necropolis)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jakub_4240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It is a true marvel of human engineering!
If I was Egyptian I will be proud of my ancestors.
The experience is amazing!!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guestnumber007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Male
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was one of my dreams definitely to touch those huge stones. Can't imagine a summer day there but winter was really good see around Egypt. A light jacket would do. I can't still believe I was within the pyramids. Things are as wonderful as I have imagined them. Again don't forget to bargain when you are in Egypt. Even if you want to get on a Camel there inside the open museum of the Cheops.

There are horse rides for a fair price as well which would take you to a higher elevation. A good spot for a view and some shots.

My best experience ever in my life was here riding horses at night behind the pyramids on the desert under the moonlight. With full excitement, at high speed what I could hear only were the sound of the air passing me, the gasp and neighing of the horse and it's hoofs thudding on the sandy desert. Huh! Thats sounds like the Highwayman poem of Alfred Noel right? Yeah it was like that. A friend of us helped us rent those warhorses near the pyramid area. I don't know exactly what the place is called. But the horses were really huge steeds. Not like those slow moving ones inside the museum during the day. Try it, ask around and you may find it. I highly suggest it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nishamanttey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wow just stunning”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Great Pyramid are out of this world they are so big, just walking around them is just nothing i have ever seen before, everyone should go and see them, camel ride was fab,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank commoncatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu) also viewed

Giza, Giza Governorate
Giza, Giza Governorate
 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Great Pyramid of Cheops (Khufu)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing