We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monumental highlight in my world travels”
Review of Pyramids of Giza

Pyramids of Giza
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.50*
and up
Private Half-Day Trip to Giza Pyramids with Camel-Riding
Ranked #1 of 79 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perhaps the most recognizable among the Seven Wonders of the World, the exact origin of these majestic pyramids continues to spark debate.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
202 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Monumental highlight in my world travels”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

What a phenomenal experience. To think these structures are from the ancient world and constructed without machinery is baffling; especially given the size of each stone. Even though it is clearly marked not to climb the stones, many do. It can be quite treacherous. We saw a few injuries there. It's very hot. Once you assimilate yourself to that it gets easier.
Absolutely wear a hat or cap and plenty of sunscreen. Drink a LOT of water. The dry desert heat is brutal and can quickly dehydrate you. Be watchful for pickpockets here. There are huge crowds. Always keep an eye on your belongings. Don't give your camera or cell phone to anyone. They may run with it. We saw this happen more than once. Yet, many people ask to have their pictures taken. Lots of Bedouins and gypsies selling overpriced carved resin trinkets and souvenirs. If you are going to ride a camel, try to have your guide prearrange it. We did that. It was trouble free and it only cost a couple USD tip. One problem is getting people on the camel for a tour and then taking you out very far for a ransom price in order to get down from the camel. It's very high off the ground. If you say no, they make you get off and you have that long walk back. Don't let these things prevent you from going. It is truly a bucket list experience. Very awe inspiring to see this. As you approach by
plane, the area of Giza is brown and barren and dry and stands in direct contrast to the area closer to the Nile where it is more like a jungle with lush, tropical foliage. I loved seeing this.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,546
    981
    299
    82
    69
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“I was in total awe...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I loved the Pyramids!!! It is ginormous and we only managed to climb up five stones of the Pyramid…trust me it may look easy but it isn't ha!
We went on a hot day so ensure you have loads of water with you but sip slowly as there aren't many toilet facilities around.
The site is amazing and the experience is a must…put it on your bucket list and tick it off!!!
Our tour guide was very helpful and answered all our questions and took pictures of all of us when we asked. You'll get more out of the experience if you went on an excursion as the tour guides do help a lot.
This was part of our excursion to Cairo where we had lunch provided and went to the Egyptian Museum.
Do not make eye contact with any of the locals as they'll try and sell you something or convince you that you want to ride on their horse or camel. Stay with your tour guide as they help when it comes to the locals - this is more for women as they can be quite rude and persuasive.
I did witness animal cruelty from one of the locals to a horse and it was painful to see but we were advised to not get involved.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenice88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
677 reviews
410 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The view from the hill is amazing looking across to the pyramids - they are everything you expect them to be. Awe-inspiring for thousands of years - you can only imagine what they looked like when the stones were capped with the marble granite before Napoleon got to them. Visible for miles, instantly recognisable surrounded by sand dunes. We got there so early - no other tourists just three of us and it was incredible to stand at the foot of them. I have left a detailed review under Keops. We walked all around we climb part way up and have been inside and it was the best experience I have ever had. I love History and to go down into the tomb was incredible. If going inside beware of claustrophobia even if you don't usually suffer from it - once was enough for me. We spent 3 hours here and it did get busy. Lots of camel rides and hawkers - pretty much non stop. I had a romantic idea of the pyramids in mind - I looked beyond anything that would spoil this incredible trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The pyramids are nice, but all the overall experience is terrible..”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The pyramids are nice, but all the overall experience is terrible. The "tours guides", that annoy you constantly, grab your tickets and follow you around for hours, even when you tell then to leave, to the garbage around the side, to the constant offers of camel/horse rides following you everywhere, people asking to help you to take pictures, but only wants tips, and many harassment if you are a women..

The tombs and inside of the pyramids are a waste of time and money, there's nothing to see, the site is "small" nothing like the people will tell you, a far distance is like 1 km walking at most...

They should care more of the site e make a more pleasant experience for the visitors...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Inespasseiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Really awesome to see - but dont get scammed”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

On my trip to Egypt this was the number one thing we wanted to see. Granted, its a bit underwhelming in that there is lots of trash around the area and not as big as I imagined from my hollywood-inspired impressions, but it still was the visit of a lifetime. With that being said, do NOT let them take you on a camel for a picture. One of our friends did and they went behind the pyramid and took her camera to "take a picture" for her - but would not let her off the camel or give the camera back unless she gave them $100. Go visits with a trusted guide and be very cautious of people trying to sell things there. Other than that - enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyLoverOfSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pyramids of Giza also viewed

 
Cairo, Cairo Governorate
 

Been to Pyramids of Giza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing