We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pyramids of Giza

Pyramids of Giza
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.50*
and up
Private Half-Day Trip to Giza Pyramids with Camel-Riding
Ranked #1 of 78 things to do in Giza
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perhaps the most recognizable among the Seven Wonders of the World, the exact origin of these majestic pyramids continues to spark debate.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Giza Pyramids, built to endure an eternity, have done just that. The monumental tombs are relics of Egypt's Old Kingdom era and were constructed some 4,500 years ago.
Egypt's pharaohs expected to become gods in the afterlife. To prepare for the next world they erected temples to the gods and massive pyramid tombs for themselves—filled with all the things each ruler would need to guide and sustain himself in the next world. Now, I can tell that after seeing them we are the next world and this place would blow your mind away. This is a must see in your lifetime

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nelson7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,278
    932
    282
    81
    68
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another place you should never miss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Keep this also in your Egyptian schedule. A must visit if you want to know about an ancient culture & history of 7000 years old...

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank krishnanbmenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of the Wonders of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Overall experience was good, but it was not what I had in mind. I visited Pyramids some years back. We were allowed to get into only one pyramid and it was through a very narrow long steep stairway with one row of people going up and one row going down. It was very musty and humid. When we made it to the bottom of the stairway, there was one little chamber we could see and turn back and come back up. I was hoping see more than just one tiny chamber. I guess Hollywood movies made my mind unrealistic. I was expecting something more grand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What words can't describe !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

When you are walking during your sightseeing more than 50 centuries tops of the pyramids are looking down on you!
When you get inside one of the pyramids it never answer your questions about it, it will just make you ask more..
When you meet Egyptians working there, this will show the gap clearly between the ancient Egyptians who built The Pyramids and those Jerks asking you for more money to ride a camel..
When you look on the other side towards the modern buildings, you would prefer that pharaohs are still a life with there construction systems and theories.

I am an Egyptian and I admit that what is happening today in the region of The Pyramids is a mess! The government is irresponsible at some point and the people running their businesses there are the worst kind of human beings! I am sorry for this ... I will recommend going just because The Pyramids is incomparable with anything in the world!

I advice that you don't respond to everybody offering a horse or a camel ride and just do it when you want because they will cause you a headache
For Egyptians its the same as tourists, they will steal your money too ;) I swear ..
Remember this word "صبّح عليّا" ..
Enjoy ! :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmed Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just has to be done!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Loved the whole pyramids tour by coach. Husband fell sick so I was with a group of 2 English couples from our hotel. They really looked after me. Was so excited to see this marvellous piece of history. Great fun..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluenose55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pyramids of Giza also viewed

 

Been to Pyramids of Giza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing