We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting to see”

Egypt Papyrus Museum
Ranked #10 of 78 things to do in Giza
Attraction details
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
679 reviews
413 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
“Interesting to see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We watched the entire process and it was interesting. Having been on lots of trips like this and never buying anything - this was the exception. I actually bought a few really nice papyrus. Pretty expensive but had them framed when we got home.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank regulartraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    164
    147
    34
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
226 reviews
177 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Paper & Hieroglyphics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This was an incredible experience for me in 2008. To witness the transformation from grass to paper (tree pulp to paper, in the wider industry) was a learning issue. Then the application of the hieroglyphics (it's a stencil) adds notation to the item. Be aware that there are imitation Papyrus being sold as advised by the Museum Personnel. For myself I purchased a Nefertiri and had our names written in Hieroglyphics.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lionel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Thety taught me from start to finish how to make it and I coulnt leave till I had skill with the technique

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DocFeelgoodesOil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not my thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was not part of a group, so it was a very perfunctory overview and then a sales pitch for a souvenir - at 2 x the price of the same item in the hotel shop.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TerryEEEEEEEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greytown, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting but just not my thing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Very interesting to see how the paper is made as well as great to see the artwork but it's not something I would be keen on purchasing to take home. The drink on arrival was lovely.
We were part of an organized tour so stopped here. unless you are very interested in paper and are an art lover I would say skip along.

Helpful?
Thank S_Gangz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Egypt Papyrus Museum also viewed

 
Giza, Giza Governorate
Giza, Giza Governorate
 

Been to Egypt Papyrus Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing