We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in Giza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cataract Pyramids Resort
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Valencia, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Giza”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cataract Pyramid Resort in Giza in May 2014 as a way to avoid the chaos of Cairo ( and protests, although now we have learned that i not really. Problem) and we were very pleasantly surprised, although the hotel is not that well known(our taxi driver had a hard time finding it), it was very nice, the facilities were beautiful and elegant and everything was spotless. Our room, although not too big was very nice, and super clean and our housekeeper Ahmed, made sure to put a smile on our faces every day with his hilarious towel arrangements and always fresh flowers. It is true as other reviewers pointed out that not some hallways are dark an such, but so few tourists I can imagine they need to keep their costs down, but we felt like we were the only guests in the hotel but this means that we got the best attention from all the staff: from reception( thank Mr Sami for all the special attention) to the restaurant to the bell boys, everybody made sure we had a great stay. We will definitely recommend the Cataract hotel to anyone that wants to stay in Giza. Please note that while most websites state they have a free shuttle to the pyramids, this is no longer true, due to the low affluence of tourists, but they always have very nice drivers just out the door and it is only like 30LE to get you there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tisbethita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    103
    93
    68
    103
See reviews for
100
100
30
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After crossing over from Eilat , Israel, we took a few hours of bus ride to Giza, Egypt.
I was amazed that we managed to cross the Suez Canal underground. I didnt know that.
When we reached the hotel, we were so tired at about 9 p.m. There a beautiful swiimming pool
a group of Egyptian Belly Dancers greeted us. We rested on the clean sheet of bed . The morning breakfast was international cuisine & was rather surprised to see Japanese in this part of the world. We visited the Pyramid after breakfast & we didnt know the Pyramids were so near City Zone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I visited Egypt in August 2013, at the time there was a lot of unrest in Cairo but staying at the Cataracts I felt very safe and overall very much enjoyed staying here.

The staff were always helpful and friendly, I liked the massive pool and there was usually a spare deckchair to be found. Pool service was great also as was my room, all the typical mod cons you'd come to expect for a quality hotel, the only difference being the price which for me seemed very cheap.

If I ever return to Egypt I would stay here again, nice place and very close to the Giza Pyramids!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roamingkangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Everything is perfect , rooms, large pool, the food and the service.
Food in the days of the feast was very good quality and high service restaurant has changed from the last time I visited this hotel to be more qualified and more better, and overcame the problems that were before, thanks really to the Director and all the staff in the hotel restaurant special, and it was full board option was very good but I would recommend this hotel to have all inclusive option .
The only bad thing I found was songs and music during the night hours after dinner, they let all of the guests to listen to a song related to political issues , that some of guests do not like, the hotel did not respect the feelings of some of the guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ahmed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wael l, Guest Relations Manager at Cataract Pyramids Resort, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Mr. Ahmed

Thanks for choosing Cataract Pyramids Hotel & Resort
We delighted host you in our hotel wishing provide the best service
For your satisfaction
Thanks for your review we appreciate your feedback as it helps us continually
Improve our service
We look forward to always host you at Cataract Hotels & Resorts
Hoping that we always keep your almost satisfaction that we always want
Through the unique & personalized service we provide
To be your first choice for your accommodation

Best
Regards
Samar Tarek
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

i stayed in this hotel 2 weeks .i really enjoyed.very nice swimming pool an very hugs..food was very good . room is nice and hugs.this hotel is very great.u have 2 see..little far a down town,but very close 2 pyramids ,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erzsebet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week and just came back tonight. I really enjoyed staying here because it was very calm and quiet, had beautiful scenery, delicious food and a huge swimming pool. I loved waking up in the morning to splash in the pool, the food was tasty for breakfast where I had omlettes etc....., there were parasoles outside with deckchairs so you can relax and shade from the sun, there was a cafe and market bazaar inside the lobby and bureau de change etc......and also there is free wifi/internet access. The room service was ok, except it could be a bit faster, but otherwise the food was nice. The cleaners did their job well and my room was always clean. I loved the balconies where you could sit outside to see the view. The biggest let down was the bathroom, as the shower made a little mess and the floor would sometimes have water on it. Overall, there were friendly, helpful and nice staff, good facility such as the gym and swimming pool and excellent accommodation and food. The end result is the best holiday resort. I rate cataract pyramids resort 5/5

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saphiregirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

iit was a very nice place for recreation as it is a little far from the down town and it has a marvelous swimming pool
I think it only need some care from its administration to be one of the great hotels at pyramids area

Room Tip: best rooms which facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGYGuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
3.4 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,548 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
655 reviews
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
3.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cataract Pyramids Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cataract Pyramids Resort

Property: Cataract Pyramids Resort
Address: Sakkara Road | El-Haraneya, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Giza
#10 Spa Hotel in Giza
#14 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cataract Pyramids Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cataract Pyramids Resort has a unique location, beautiful panorama of the great Pyramids, surrounded with farms and green grace peaceful. Superbly located within peaceful, quiet and pollution free farmland. The resort has been built with a low-rise building spreading over almost 11 hectares of the landscaped gardens; keeping with the local architecture and landscape with a promenade boarded by enormous hundred year old palms that connect the two extremes of the complex, and unfolds more than 20 garden acres. The resort, Applying 4 star standard hotel, is located on the road to Sakkara towards the oldest made structure - The step Pyramids of Sakkara. The Great Pyramids of Giza are a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cataract Pyramids Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataract Pyramids Hotel Giza
Hotel Cataract Pyramids
Cataract Pyramid Resort
Cataract Pyramids Resort Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing