We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cataract Pyramids Resort
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Giza
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

one of the good resorts you can find in Giza , pyramids are just across the street, and the place it self is good, with its huge pool , and also away from noise , great green area . Recommended for day use

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank osamaelhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    103
    91
    68
    101
See reviews for
98
99
30
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I could accept old furnitures, but not dirt!! Pieces of chips on the floor and the couch, brown water in the shower, rusted bathroom, remains of rice over the napkins, waiters touching bread with their hands on the buffet.
It was a terrible experience and if you can avoid that place, please do.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beatrice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Giza hotels

Santa Clara, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the hotel for one night with my family. My overall experience was bad. Definitely this is below 3 stars hotel although it is marked as 4 stars. I definitely won't stay at this hotel again for the following reasons:
- Very old rooms that needs major renovation
- I got food poisoning after having dinner in the hotel restaurant (the Villa)
- Towels on the pool are very old and most of them are dirty
- No chlorine used for the pool leading to very smelly water

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelYoussef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I Have stayed in this hotel for 2 nights , the price were very good , the rooms were very good but it’s small , comfortable beds , pool view but some of the rooms were not refurnished so if you are going to stay there you better tell them you want a room that has been recently furnished.
The staff were very good , cheerful and friendly , the food was great at the pool and the breakfast was amazing but the main restaurant food wasn’t good . The pool is big and hotel location is near to pyramids.
If I want somewhere to relax in Cairo I will definitely go again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merihan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

one of the best resorts you can find in cairo/giza , pyramids are just across the street, al haram street is nearby where you can talk a nice walk, and the place it self is very good, with its huge pool, comfortable room , and also away from noise and crowded areas

Room Tip: garden view is more quiet, i always prefer it , also it's cheaper , and not too far from pool al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caesardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here in June 2013 for a few days and had a very good time. The pool was huge and very relaxing, especially at night. The rooms were perfectly fine. The breakfast was very good, and we even bore witness to a wedding on our first night there.

5-stars in Egypt is not 5-stars in America and the differences in amenities should be expected. We would certainly stay here again if ever back in Egypt.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricSeidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Venezuela
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Cataract Pyramid Resort in Giza in May 2014 as a way to avoid the chaos of Cairo ( and protests, although now we have learned that i not really. Problem) and we were very pleasantly surprised, although the hotel is not that well known(our taxi driver had a hard time finding it), it was very nice, the facilities were beautiful and elegant and everything was spotless. Our room, although not too big was very nice, and super clean and our housekeeper Ahmed, made sure to put a smile on our faces every day with his hilarious towel arrangements and always fresh flowers. It is true as other reviewers pointed out that not some hallways are dark an such, but so few tourists I can imagine they need to keep their costs down, but we felt like we were the only guests in the hotel but this means that we got the best attention from all the staff: from reception( thank Mr Sami for all the special attention) to the restaurant to the bell boys, everybody made sure we had a great stay. We will definitely recommend the Cataract hotel to anyone that wants to stay in Giza. Please note that while most websites state they have a free shuttle to the pyramids, this is no longer true, due to the low affluence of tourists, but they always have very nice drivers just out the door and it is only like 30LE to get you there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tisbethita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
3.4 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 41 in Giza
1,518 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
2.4 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 41 in Giza
640 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cataract Pyramids Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cataract Pyramids Resort

Property: Cataract Pyramids Resort
Address: Sakkara Road | El-Haraneya, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Giza
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Giza
#9 Spa Hotel in Giza
#13 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Cataract Pyramids Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cataract Pyramids Resort has a unique location, beautiful panorama of the great Pyramids, surrounded with farms and green grace peaceful. Superbly located within peaceful, quiet and pollution free farmland. The resort has been built with a low-rise building spreading over almost 11 hectares of the landscaped gardens; keeping with the local architecture and landscape with a promenade boarded by enormous hundred year old palms that connect the two extremes of the complex, and unfolds more than 20 garden acres. The resort, Applying 4 star standard hotel, is located on the road to Sakkara towards the oldest made structure - The step Pyramids of Sakkara. The Great Pyramids of Giza are a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cataract Pyramids Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataract Pyramids Hotel Giza
Hotel Cataract Pyramids
Cataract Pyramid Resort
Cataract Pyramids Resort Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing