We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Pyramids Hotel
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Giza
Reviewed 26 December 2013

This hotel is in the center of a busy city and yet it feels like you are in the middle of an oasis when on the grounds, only reminded of all the outside world when you smell the car exhaust in the morning or evening. The hotel is nice enough, the rooms are slightly dated, and the carpet is not new, but the bed was soft and the sheets clean. The pool was amazing after a hot day of site seeing, its a shame it closes so early though. They have an awesome shisha lounge beside the pool which is open late at night with live music sometimes. Alot of fun to sit back, drink a glass of wine and smoke some shisha. They have a camel on the grounds that you can ride for a price, but I would wait and ride one at the pyramids...the photo opportunities are so much better. The food was good. The best part is from our hotel balcony we could see the great pyramid, which I think made the hotel completely worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view with a pyramid view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 544 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were booked in here by Memphis Tours and so we were delivered to the hotel at no cost to us and picked up each day by our driver. The hotel is far away from the centre of Cairo, but for us not an issue. I could see it being a problem if you had to arrange your own transport.
Nice inner courtyard with a small patio bar. Our rooms were perfectly adequate and the bonus fo us was waking up with a view of the pyramids!
Hotel is definitely not pedestrian friendly, fairly rough area outside, next to a major highway. Wanting to try some typical Cairo food, we ventured out, walked left to the end of the block, turned left and walked 1 block up the side street and found a great place (Al Ftowh).
Breakfast was decent. All in all, a fairly decent hotel with a nice pool and clean rooms, but a 3 star, not a 4 star.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed here on a family holiday and found the rooms to not meet western 3 star standards where the hotel claims it is a 4 star hotel. A few restaurants inside the complex and also currency exchange very useful. Tour desk is ok, please ask for Hossam as he is the best driver by far.

Service not excellent as I made a complaint about Mohammed the camel guy (very rude and pushy) and the staff were not too helpful.

Only a good location to visit the pyramids and is far away from the other Cairo landmarks. Please avoid!

Room Tip: Dont stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hassan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

In the heat of the town, this hotel offers a comfortable rest with clean environment and big swimming pool. It is close to the highways so I could see many cars driving all the time. Breakfast is pretty good with large variety of local choices to explore.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piyawadee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First: I've went there with me wife for a business workshop were I had to give session there, the session room was very small compared to the attendees, the data show went off and the hotel didn't provide another one, the Air condition is the room was extremely terrible.

second: We have our room on the pool were the view is good but what bother me & my wife is the sound of the DJ is extremely high from 8 Am till 12:00 pm or 1:00 Am that enables you to have rest in your room

Third: The food is not diversified rather than of good quality but it may be acceptable.

Fourth: The hotel is located in HARAM which is far away from the center of Cairo and any other place you want to visit in Cairo expect the pyramids which can be seen easily around the hotel

Fifth: Concerning transportation there are two types:
1- Private taxi or limo from the hotel to the place you want to go but the cost will be extremely expensive
2- Public transportation which is cheaper than private ones but it is not that great and crowded and you reach the end of its route were you will have to take the underground or another bus and it will take long time (about an hour in non rush times) to get to center of Cairo and then to your destination.

Room Tip: Insist that you stay in a non smoking room from the beginning because they won't change the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wessam_maher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

An Amazing hotel situated in Giza, Egypt with a great view of the famous Pyramids of Giza. Good value for money. Quiet place with clean rooms, WiFi only in lobby, scrumptious food (if you're into the whole Mediterranean cuisine). Camel rides are available for those kids who like being a little adventurous. We only had the opportunity to have breakfast there and oh my! what a mighty feast it was! Excellent selection for breakfast. We had a 7 hour long hike up the Mount Sinah early morning and after a day long journey around Cairo, we were welcomed by cool rooms and comfy beds! Have no negative comments.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarLouSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is in Giza and is in a quieter area, unfortunately facing the side of a highway and the front area is not scenic with lots of rubbish left by locals but it is a 2 min walk to a supermarket and 5 min down the road from the main rd with many restaurants/shops. You could see the pyramids from our balcony across from highway but it is not the best view of them. The room is relatively clean and spacious and good value. However, when we asked to borrow a knife to cut up fruit and/or cup of hot water, reception wanted to charge 1usd each. We felt like they were trying to take advantage bc we were the only few tourists there. The pool looked a little dirty so we did not dare to try it. The breakfast was quite good and had a variety of breads and hot food. We arranged for a tour package with the guy at the hotel but be wary of what it includes eg. Tour guides are not egyptologists but might be ex-basketballers, 'tour' to the pyramids does not include guide, only driver, where included-guides might just give a 10min talk outside and then it's 'free time'- you do the tour inside the attraction yourself, package does not include baksheesh/tip for guide and driver (it is entirely up to you if you want to pay a tip but they will unashamedly ask for it). It costs more to book a taxi with hotel, just walk out onto main rd and flag down a taxi and negotiate cost beforehand-much cheaper but usually no air conditioning

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dimity L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giza hotels
1.1 mi away
Pyramids View Inn
Pyramids View Inn
#1 of 42 in Giza
697 reviews
1.2 mi away
Le Meridien Pyramids Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Aracan Pyramids Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Barcelo Cairo Pyramids
1.1 mi away
Mena House Hotel
Mena House Hotel
#3 of 42 in Giza
1,664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mercure Cairo Le Sphinx
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pyramids Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pyramids Hotel

Address: 53 Studio Misr Road | Mariottia Pyramids, Giza, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Giza Governorate > Giza
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Giza
#16 Luxury Hotel in Giza
Price Range: £27 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Pyramids Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Pyramids Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Pyramids
Grand Pyramids Giza
Grand Pyramids Hotel Cairo
Grand Pyramids Cairo
Grand Pyramids Hotel Egypt/Giza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing