We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
El Salam Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
3
12
15
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
12
15
8
6
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

You get what you pay for - and we were not particularly enthusiastic, nor disappointed, with El Salam. It's in desperate need of a few coats of paint and new furniture (collapsed springs abound), but boasts an excellent Nilefront view and easy accessibility to a variety of shops and sites, as well as a small number of travel offerings (which I'd suggest avoiding - they can be sourced for cheaper independently; compare LE150 for a 2 hour felucca ride, versus the LE80 we were offered for the same amount of time, by one of the captains).

The staff was quite helpful, however, and the hotel features an elevator ("first floor" is several flights of stairs up!), which is well worth using. WiFi is only available in the lobby.

All in all, if you're only looking for a place to lay your head, this is satisfactory - but I wouldn't push it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The room is okay for a single man. But the building really needs a clean up and a renovation! The staff is helpful, and the terrace has a beautiful view of Nile River! Is near the market but you have to chose the back rooms, because the fronts rooms are very noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diegomaldonado10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our bedroom was bright but truly needed a serious cleanup! Dirty windows, furniture, walls, floors and seriously rundown curtains. No double beds in this hotel, only singles.The toilet did not work properly for many days; the kept sending a cleaning woman to make the repair which didn't last 2 flush! Finaly, a plumber solved it for good in no time. The street noise is a very serious handicap to anybody who would consider finding a peaceful sleep before 2 in the morning! Breakfeast was served on the pleasant rooftop terrasse with its spectacular view of the Nile; but there again, they never cleaned the floor during our multi-days stay with cigarettes butts litering some space. A pity with such a view. Breakfeast was poor, very plain white bread with commercial jam, cream cheese and truly bad coffee. Staff did not show to many smiles!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

yes the terrace is beautiful and staff was very kind (they even gave my money back when I decided to leave one day in advance!). they gave me a room on the side (over a street near the bazar, noisy but not at night. and you can see the Nile too. I asked for a front view but it seems to be reserved for couples).the furniture is old but somehow speaking gently of better times. it is clean even if it doesn't semm so.
the only real NOs were the plastic curtain of the shower (wasted, almost black) and an absolutely unadequate breakfast.bad coffee, one industrial portion of butter and jam and three pieces of horrific bread. seriously, with that terrace they could do much much better!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank learningtocrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel is dated but I would recommend it for its location and price! The room is clean, the bed is comfortable and they have hot water (travel during winter)! I was given a room with Nile view, which was great as the view was so beautiful! The receptionists are very friendly and helpful and they are not pushy for selling you tours. The souq (market) is just behind the hotel and my friend and I spent every night walking around it. Restaurants are easily found at the souq or along the main street. Would definitely stay in this hotel if I visit Aswan again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CS_Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews