We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for me!”
Review of El Salam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
El Salam Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Aswan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I took a short solo trip to Aswan in November 2013 & just wanted a place to lay my head that was cheap, clean and centrally placed. The El Salam was ideal on all counts. I took a side room near the front at UK£7 per night (best rooms at the front were available for £10). I had a little balcony with view north along the Nile, 2 comfy beds, small bathroom with excellent shower. AC worked, though I didn't need to use it. Location superb, staff attentive (and never tried a hard sell on trips), breakfast on rooftop basic but adequate. Apart from being noisy at night, I couldn't fault it.

I really felt for the Aswan people, so many of whom depend on tourism for a living. The streets were still pretty lively, and the souq behind the hotel was doing brisk business until after midnight - but at times I wondered if I was the only tourist in town. Despite this, there wasn't much hassle (this is Egypt!) and I felt very welcome. Particularly enjoyed an overnight trip on a felucca. I highly recommend the services of Captain Ashraf (recognise him by the "dreads"). You can find him on the far side of Elephantine Island, about opposite the public ferry landing. Take the ferry, walk up past the school, continue past the irrigation channels, then on the the other side where the felucca is moored between the rocks.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms round the back, but no view. Full river view from front, but noisiest. Side rooms over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bartonwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

I'm staying at the El Salam hotel at the moment, for five nights and stay in this hotel every year. I took a private taxi down from Luxor for 250 EP. Tayeb the taxi driver does this run every day from the Hotel Venus in Luxor so there is a possibility to share the 250 EP cost with other passengers.

The hotel has recently brought more room service staff in (last week), as they are expecting an influx of tourists as many EU countries have lifted their travel ban advice and there is much talk of the resuming of the rail services, which is expected to happen soon. There have been no tourist trains to Aswan since August 14th.

I checked all of the open rooms on our floor this morning and they are all very clean, with nice sheets and room furnishings. Most rooms have air-conditioning and two or three power points. The rooms are quite big and you can often pick up the wifi signal from the lounge area in your room. There is a lift to all floors.

You can currently bargain a twin room for 120 EP (around UK£11) and this is superb value, with breakfast included. I highly recommend this hotel and would not stay anywhere else in Aswan as this is about the only budget hotel in Aswan where you don't get any hassle to take trips and boat trips.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have a great view over the Nile, but can be noisy on the lower floors. Ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lotuspods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

You get what you pay for - and we were not particularly enthusiastic, nor disappointed, with El Salam. It's in desperate need of a few coats of paint and new furniture (collapsed springs abound), but boasts an excellent Nilefront view and easy accessibility to a variety of shops and sites, as well as a small number of travel offerings (which I'd suggest avoiding - they can be sourced for cheaper independently; compare LE150 for a 2 hour felucca ride, versus the LE80 we were offered for the same amount of time, by one of the captains).

The staff was quite helpful, however, and the hotel features an elevator ("first floor" is several flights of stairs up!), which is well worth using. WiFi is only available in the lobby.

All in all, if you're only looking for a place to lay your head, this is satisfactory - but I wouldn't push it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Maitreyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The room is okay for a single man. But the building really needs a clean up and a renovation! The staff is helpful, and the terrace has a beautiful view of Nile River! Is near the market but you have to chose the back rooms, because the fronts rooms are very noise.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diegomaldonado10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Our bedroom was bright but truly needed a serious cleanup! Dirty windows, furniture, walls, floors and seriously rundown curtains. No double beds in this hotel, only singles.The toilet did not work properly for many days; the kept sending a cleaning woman to make the repair which didn't last 2 flush! Finaly, a plumber solved it for good in no time. The street noise is a very serious handicap to anybody who would consider finding a peaceful sleep before 2 in the morning! Breakfeast was served on the pleasant rooftop terrasse with its spectacular view of the Nile; but there again, they never cleaned the floor during our multi-days stay with cigarettes butts litering some space. A pity with such a view. Breakfeast was poor, very plain white bread with commercial jam, cream cheese and truly bad coffee. Staff did not show to many smiles!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PierreD861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

yes the terrace is beautiful and staff was very kind (they even gave my money back when I decided to leave one day in advance!). they gave me a room on the side (over a street near the bazar, noisy but not at night. and you can see the Nile too. I asked for a front view but it seems to be reserved for couples).the furniture is old but somehow speaking gently of better times. it is clean even if it doesn't semm so.
the only real NOs were the plastic curtain of the shower (wasted, almost black) and an absolutely unadequate breakfast.bad coffee, one industrial portion of butter and jam and three pieces of horrific bread. seriously, with that terrace they could do much much better!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank learningtocrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This hotel is dated but I would recommend it for its location and price! The room is clean, the bed is comfortable and they have hot water (travel during winter)! I was given a room with Nile view, which was great as the view was so beautiful! The receptionists are very friendly and helpful and they are not pushy for selling you tours. The souq (market) is just behind the hotel and my friend and I spent every night walking around it. Restaurants are easily found at the souq or along the main street. Would definitely stay in this hotel if I visit Aswan again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CS_Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
1.3 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#9 of 22 in Aswan
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
292 reviews
0.9 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Salam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Salam Hotel

Address: 101 Cornich el Nile St, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Aswan
Price Range: £13 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — El Salam Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Salam Hotel located in front of the wonderful Nile view, with a budget value, clean and comfortable rooms. Located in downtown so we are near from everything you need or like to see railway station, restaurants, and Bazaars. We have 70 rooms, single, double and triple, they all have private bathrooms, with a really hot water shower, they are air conditioned even we have few of them with fans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your El Salam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing