We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

““A nice hotel that is unfairly rated””
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helnan Aswan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Giza
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
““A nice hotel that is unfairly rated””
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Throughout my drive to Aswan, I was very gloomy from the reviews I read re Helnan Hotel. This is my second day at the hotel, as here are my remarks:

Pros:
1- A great location with an awesome view.
2- There is a snacks shop across the road to the left side
3- Near to the city center for lunch or dinner
4- Taxis and hantours are always waiting at the hotel gate and usually they provide the guest with their numbers for the return trip back to the hotel
5- All rooms are overlooking the pool on the other side of the road and the Nile.
6- Overlooking Agha Khan tomb which is lit during night hours in a very romantic way
7- Till now I met 4 receptionists (2 females and 2 males) and they are very friendly and tried to answer all my questions politely and professionally
8- The bell men and the guards are very polite and always greet people with a lovely smile going in or out
9- The hotel is clean and neatly furnished like any other 5-stars hotel
10- The room is clean.
11- Sheets and towels are changed on daily basis
12- Breakfast buffet is very good, pancakes/waffles are the only missing item, however, the buffet provides Egyptian traditional food and intercontinental breakfast items
13- The waiters are around picking up plates or helping guests by bringing them ordered eggs or tea from stations.
14- The mattress is hard (Taki Vita) but very comfortable

Cons:
1- The TV is old and the satellite channels are few
2- The shampoo, body milk and shower gel are provided but the writing on the bottles is almost gone; yet guest can identify which is which from the remaining letters
3- The waiters, cleaners, bellmen and the guards are locals; they just use some words to great you in English, yet this can never be considered a negative point as they know how to do their job in a professional way
4- Room service menu is not fancy, little choices and a bit expensive

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daliahemeid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    77
    53
    30
    14
See reviews for
35
71
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bolton_lass72
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my Egyptian husband initially for 3 nights. Didn't book, just arrived. The man on reception didn't smile, kept answering the phone, and I didn't feel welcome at all. Got one of the villas across the road, but wanted main so asked to swap rooms. Got the very end room on top floor......
Beds are very hard, and no tea making facilities in the room, which I would expect of a hotel of this standard. On this basis, we decided to cut short our stay to the one night and transfer to a different hotel. Reception said no problem and would be no cost in reducing from 3 nights to 1. All I can say is, I'm glad my husband is Egyptian, because it was a fight to get the money put back on my Visa card. Several phone calls, several ignored phone calls to the managers number - got money back a week later. Shocking customer service. Only good thing about this place was the free wifi in reception. The hotel we went to transformed our break in Aswan.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank bolton_lass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aswan hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I've visited Aswan for more than 20 times, last two was at this hotel. first time, when was operated by eprotel ,was very nice , clean with lovely rooms and nile view.
Unfortunately this visit descovered that it is operated by Helnan which was very disappointing. They still have the view and the rooms but with broken furniture, no satalite just 2 channels and no hot water in mid of December !!! I had my room at the nile side and I had to walk through an underground tunnel under a main bublic road with not operated elevator at its end to have breakfast in another building. Last year I highly recommended this nice hotel for my friends, too bad I wont do this again:(

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank FadyGomaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
639 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a travel talk tour & we found it a very pleasant stay. We found the staff to be friendly & helpful, although the bar staff cant make cocktails.... the buffet breakfast had an excellent variety of food choices, & the service during it was good. The room itself was very spacious & the bed was comfortable too. The only issue was that the shower door was difficult to close. I'd be more than happy to stay here again as the hotel pool is fantastic, plenty of deck chairs to bask in the sun, & its only a short walk to the main city, although you will pass plenty of people trying to sell you stuff. There is a shop just across the road (or above the villas) where you can stock up on water for £5 L.E. The views of the Nile river are magnificent, you can enjoy it from the pool edge!

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MFC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
438 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We have a contract with this hotel and I still prefer it compared to being held hostage on Elephantine Island, but it is apparent this former Iberotel is suffering greatly from the lack of tourism in Egypt. This is a shame because Aswan is my favorite small city in Egypt and there is much to see here. It's also a launching stage for the drive to Abu Simbel.

From the hotel, the setting is stunning both up and down the Nile and the restaurant on the first floor is well positioned to take advantage of this view. And you might say that the view is better than the food (buffet) and the service, which is non-existent except to pick up your plate when you aren't looking. That said, you won't go away hungry if you're not picky about what you eat for breakfast (I've never had a lunch or dinner meal here). They used to have an omelette station on the patio but it has been replaced by hard boiled eggs. But you do have your choice of pastries, sausages (all beef or chicken), fuul - the Middle East equivalent to re-fried beans - passable French toast, cereal, and the usual choices of a typical M. Eastern breakfast - salads and olives, but no cheese - a victim to cost cutting. The staff DO speak English and are very pleasant in trying times.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, but with "cheaper" local wood crafted desk. Nonetheless, it is serviceable and most importantly, clean. Internet IS available in the room; you only have to ask for the cable at the front desk. The bigger chore is the scavenger hunt looking for the cable outlet. Sometimes it is in an odd place!

I didn't use the amenities in the bathroom because the labels had faded and I didn't want to test each one to see what they held. Take bottled water with you; they no longer offer one complimentary.

It's unfortunate that the hotel has closed the Nile side "villas" as these are a couple of steps higher in grade and sophistication. It's also where the pool is located - a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the river scenery.

As far as service goes, staff are few and far between, but they are present when you need one and they are very pleasant under difficult circumstances.

The hotel is at the edge of Aswan proper and close to where the cruise boats dock. It is a modest walk - maybe 10 minutes - to the train station where the commercial sector is located - restaurants, grocery stores (who appoint themselves with the misnomer "super market") and the "souk' (market or bazaar).

Room Tip: All the rooms are with a Nile view. The end rooms on each floor appear to be larger but they are a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2013

This hotel is all top show with little thought for service. We had five nights here and were very very disappointed. The hotel looks very grand and the rooms are spacious but is let down by the service and food. There was only one restaurant open and the food is dreadful. We only had one evening meal there was not good. The breakfasts were included but again poor. We felt that the fruit was brought out from the previous day with little variety. The staff appeared to be only interested in clearing tables, not in providing fresh supplies. We had great difficulting in getting a drink at the pool. We had stayed at the Iberotel in Luxor which was very good and had booked this as the Iberotel Aswan only to be told there had been a change of ownership. If it continues as it is will it survive the current economic climate. Not to be recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I've stayed in this hotel three times and have enjoyed the amenities and grounds. It is in a great location with a large swimming pool accessed through a beautifully decorated private underpass. The breakfast buffet is high quality, and the dining room looks out over the Nile - a great start to the day. There is free wifi internet access in the lobby area, which is good as I haven't been able to access the internet in the room. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, and I enjoy the lift/elevator with views out over the Nile. The staff at reception are friendly and welcoming, and the hotel has a peaceful atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
2.1 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
2.4 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.4 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helnan Aswan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helnan Aswan Hotel

Property: Helnan Aswan Hotel
Address: Corniche El Nile, Aswan, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Helnan Aswan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Helnan Aswan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Aswan Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing