We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the World's great hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“One of the World's great hotels”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Everything about this property is outsized: the location, the view, the rooms, the dining area, the terraced pool and gardens tripping down to the Nile. If you have the means, and care about a great hotel and/or history, you must stay at the Old Cataract. The rooms are lovely in the older wing, if a bit small; the dining room is fit for a King and the stuff of dreams with Moorish arches and chandeliers that last well into the future; the terraced pool and gardens are enticing you down to the Nile. Stay here, and spring for a Nile-view room with balcony.

Room Tip: You must have a river view with balcony in the old wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoTimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this review and for the description you gave of our property .I see that you felt (because it is a question of feeling with Sofitel Legend old cataract) everything inspires by the property, this is an out time and age trip that you experienced ,this makes it one of the world's great hotel as you said .We are happy that you enjoyed it .
Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    159
    47
    32
    21
See reviews for
246
514
88
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in the old cataract palace for 2 nights and 3 days during December 2013, and we enjoyed a free upgrade to a luxury sweet with Nile view. the place is a must see, a piece of history, spectacular location on the Nile, impressive architecture, and good service.
we had a dinner in the 1902 restaurant, and again, it is a unique experience.
Hotel location is quit strategic overseeing the Nile from a perfect spot, walking distance to Nubian museum and the Souq, and very close to Doka Nubian restaurant ...
Only the service can be improved, but still the staff is so pleasant and all requests are well managed, annoying noise was coming from what seems to be the generator room...
It is by far the best hotel in Aswan and the most expensive....

Room Tip: higher floors get a better nile view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asso1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying in our hotel during your trip to Aswan. We all are committed to make our guests live the most pleasant and unique experience, I am happy to see that you were upgraded and you enjoyed the location, the architecture and the food .We are sorry to hear that you were annoyed by a noise which is not what we wanted for you. We were probably not informed otherwise immediate actions would have been taken to stop it or to move you to another room.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, premium service amazing location. A place full of history and tradition. Amazing views. The hotel is fully renovated and the rooms are exceptional. Would like to visit again.......................

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gamboiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this nice review, we are waiting for you to come back and live again what you have described.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Away from the hustle of Cairo. Aswan is good place to relax and take in the Nile. The hotel is of a high standard with well maintained grounds and responsive staff. Comparative value at this time in Egypt is not so good as the don't seem to have adjusted their prices to match demand. Better value to be found.

Room Tip: Nile view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for this nice review ,We are happy to known that you had a good time in our hotel and you appreciated the high standard of service .Despite of the crisis we maintained our high standard of service all aspect of the operation .We did review our rate to a certain extend but we definitely want to keep our level of quality .Tourists do not come to Egypt because of the high rates they don’t come because they are afraid by what they hear .We do not want to go in a war of price like other hotels which will affect the quality and destroy a Sofitel legend and will change our clientele . I am sure you can find much lower price than us, which is good for the customer to compare and to other to operate this is a choice .We hope that your comment and my reply will help the tourists to understand that to have quality you must pay a price.
Sincerely .
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Luxury Nile view room at the Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Hotel in Aswan, Egypt for 1 night on the 1st December 2013. The hotel is a beautiful property with a spectacular location and excellent rooms. One of the best historical hotels I have seen although severely lacking in service and hospitality as you we would learn from our experiences mentioned below.

The hotel had extremely low occupancy presumably due to the political situation in Egypt (maybe less than 10% on the day we were there). After settling down in our room we discovered that there was no running hot water in the bathroom. We called and complained at the reception, which sent a couple of engineers to sort the matter. The engineers were tooling around the bathroom area for an hour and claimed to have fixed the problem and departed. We proceeded to use the bathroom which was in big mess (due to 2 engineers working in it previously) and surprising there was still no hot water in the shower or wash basin….

We then called the front office manager (afternoon shift) who promised to rectify the issue. We offered to proceed out of the room and were roaming around in the hotel campus while the engineers were working in our room since my idea of a holiday is not to spend time with my spouse in room with various hotel staff trying to resolve room problems… the front office manage informed me personally after an hour that the matter was resolved. At that stage we offered to him that we are okay to change rooms since we did not want to face the same problem early next morning while we used the bathroom. He assured us that there would be running hot water available and there was no need to change rooms or worry about the same…

Next morning again we had ice cold water in the bathroom (7AM) and as a result did not have a shower... Having been quite frustrated with the previous day complaints and not wanting to spend most of our holiday with service engineers in our room we chose to inform the reception when we went for breakfast around 9AM. The reception informed us that we should wait for the front office manager to report to duty and take the matter up with him…

We then proceeded to breakfast at the terrace. The waiting staff wrongly charged us for items that we did not order for breakfast and we sent the invoice back. Post which the front office manager (morning shift) came to our table to offer an apology due to the problems we were facing regarding lack of running the hot water in our room. We informed him about the wrongly charged items on our breakfast invoice and he offered to waive us the entire cost of the breakfast as an apology…

We demanded that since we had not received adequate basic services like running hot water and we had spent a great deal of our holiday trying to get this problem resolved we be given a refund on the room rent and were directed that we make a formal request through our agent (Expedia).

The hotel markets itself as a luxury property and room rents are US $ 250 plus per night excluding breakfast and it’s quite disappointing that they haven’t the slightest clue on hospitality and service levels required to be one… Despite facing the same problem on 3 separate occasions no attempt was made to change our room, the hotel management did not even have the courtesy to offer a complimentary drop-off to the airport or a complimentary lunch to make for services not offered by them which they had been duly paid for in the room rent….

Extremely disappointing service and will not stay in a Sofitel again due to previous negative experiences in yet another Sofitel property we stayed at in Melbourne, 16-17 September 2013 which has lead me to believe that there is lack of hospitality culture itself within the chain….

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Puja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest
We are sorry to read this review about the bad experience you had in our hotel, we certainly did not want this to happen and as you can read in all the reviews before and after you, we are all committed to make our guests live a legendary experience. In your case we did not succeed and I regret it .I have read carefully your comment and also the guest incident report given to me in case of incident with a guest. I noticed that your reservation was for a premium room and we automatically upgraded you without you asking for; to a luxury room free of charge because we wanted you live something different. We showed you on your reservation that your breakfast was not including in the price paid to your TO and when we understood that you were annoyed by this, we decided to take the charge on us still for you to feel better and not to spoil your holidays .The incident with the hot water is not acceptable and we did not react correctly, we should have move you immediately even if we felt that you were happy with the luxury room upgrade .We definitely did not understand how unhappy you were and again I regret it .We hope that you will change your mind and give us another opportunity to greet you in one of pour hotels.
Sincerely.

Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has proven to be one of my favorite I have ever stayed in. We got an amazing suite with exceptionally great rates since there was this offer that we took advantage of. The location is very convenient, everywhere we wanted to visit was a fifteen minute carriage ride away at most. The view was breathtaking, the food was excellent and these two attributes went hand in hand when we had our delicious breakfast on its famous terrace. We also had access to boats for cruising the Nile. It was a shame that not many people were there since most people were probably repelled by the country's current state but there was absolutely nothing to worry about. The hotel was an integral part in our experience in Aswan and we wouldn't have had it any other way.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Razek90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review .We hope that this will encourage tourist to come to Aswan and Egypt .We wanted you to be happy to have e a nice experience and you were upgraded .Whatever is the situation in Egypt we are keeping out high quality of standard with good food .
Having you living the legendary experience was important for us and we are happy that you did .
We hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely .
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I stayed at the Old Cataract for 4 days and enjoyed a little piece of Heaven! Amazing character and decor in the beautifully restored gem of a hotel. The rooms were incredibly luxurious and provided every comfort. We stayed in the new building but it was as wonderful as the original building and had amazing views straight out onto the Nile. The staff were great, welcoming us warmly and making us feel at home and relaxed from the first moment to the last. The 1902 restaurant was the last word in sumptuous impressive decor but we still felt completely at ease there with the delightful staff showing us around, discussing the impressive history and helping us to enjoy an outstanding meal. The spa was great with an well equipped gym and large heated pool as well as steam rooms and reasonably priced treatments. All round an unforgettable experience and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Nile view in. The Nile wing (new building) is. What I would recommend. Ideally on 5 th floor or hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 963Jan_1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Guest ,
We are happy to see that you have had this legendary experience in our hotel. We have 2 buildings to suit our different clientele everyone can find his taste .The new building is modern very comfortable newly renovated and all rooms with Nile view .The old building has been also renovated this the palace like you enter in another world .We have one of the most reputed spa of the middle east and of the best fine restaurant of Egypt the 1902 and all of that with the exceptional service of Sofitel legend .Thank you for your nice review .
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.3 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
85 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Property: Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing