We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great facilities terrible service”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This magical looking hotel has one of the poorest services you can imagine , in all respects from restaurant, to check in , room service etc... Don't expect a pleasant staff experience if you stay here . I can't understand why, but as a guest I had the feeling they seemed to be annoyed I was staying here.

Room Tip: Make sure you have Nile view in the old building, they unfortunately are all suites and not discount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toversti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,
You wrote this review when you were still in the hotel and because we are very concerned by negative comments, we do not have a lot, one member of the management team called you immediately to organize a meeting but unfortunately after you confirmed you did not come and did not reply to any attempt to set another meeting .We regret that we could not talk to you and that we have to communicate through trip advisor reviews.
We understand that the soup you ordered in the restaurant came late but after your comment we did not charge you for it. We understood also that you wanted a free upgrade to the Agatha Christie suite and we explained that we could not, however we offered you a substantial discount for another suite .You left this morning and again I regret that we could not review with you the other points you mentioned about our colleagues , but I can assure you that you can contact me any time and I will be happy to discus with you.
Sincerely yours.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    159
    48
    32
    21
See reviews for
247
517
90
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

The palace is absolutely magnificent I can understand that this place inspire Agatha Christie and attract till today very famous people !!!
The view it's the best that I never seen before in front of the elephantine island more then 5000 years of history, you feel like in a nice dream...
My family and I loved very much the design,the fresh flowers,the 2 warm swimming pools,the SPA ,the Bar we loved all in this hotel specially our Fantastic Room Suit cataract Nile view we enjoyed everyday the sun set from our balcony !!! The bed was so comfortable !!!
I want to thank Hanan the reservation manager for up grading us,for her hospitality and generosity... Thanks to her my family and I spent a memorable stay!!!
Thanks also for Mr Edouard the GM and his team we really loved Staying In your hotel and we would like to come back soon to stay longer.
Anis Al Riahi

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SAFAR94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your nice comment. We are very fortunate to work in such a legendary and beautiful place and are happy to share it with connoisseur. Our renovation in 2011 restored the image of this palace where so many world decisional makers have stayed and where Agatha Christie found her inspiration. The surrounding area is also full of historical places which attract a specific kind of clientele .We are happy to read how you enjoyed your stay ,it was our goal and we succeeded .
We hope to see you back in the near future.
Sincerely yours.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aartselaar
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We spent one night in Aswan on our way to Sudan.
We had a Nile view room. It's like waking up in the middle of a movie. Beautiful to see the small boats on the Nile.
The staff is extreme friendly and helpful .
There a very few hotels like still 'old style ' left anymore.

Room Tip: Ask for Nile view room. It's like a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WimTAartselaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review that we hope will encourage more tourist to visit this part of Egypt which is like you live in another time fare from the problems of the rest of Egypt. Our hotel has 2 different wings and you took a room with Nile view in some of them the bathroom is also nile view which is very unique when using the bathtub.
Yes, our hotel is probably unique as you said ,thank you for pointing this out .
We hope to see you back for a longer time.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I splurged and spent one night in the beautiful hotel while I was in Aswan for two weeks. The bed was amazingly comfortable and tea time the highlight of my stay. The grounds are simply gorgeous. I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildwoman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Guest,
At Sofitel we have developed our special bedding concept called * my bed * you have experienced it and I am sure that now you do not regret to have splurged .Welcome to this legendary world and we hope to see you back .
Thank you for your fantastic review.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

If feels like stepping back in time at this hotel and if you a big Agatha Christie fan then it is definately a must to stay at this hotel. Large rooms, with comfy beds and squeaky floorboards. All adds up to a wonderful atmosphere. Large selection at breakfast so you can fill up before a long day sight seeing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sungoddess79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract and for your review.

We are more than happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay, breakfast, atmospher and service.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at the near future.

Thank you and best regards

Jules-Henri Edouard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I had heard good things about the Old Cataract Hotel and we are happy to report that it was as good as we had hoped for, or even better. We stayed in the old historic part of the hotel with a great view over the Nile and the areas towards the west. The hotel has been renovated in a way that has maintained enough historic authenticity, yet having all the amenities one would expect from a 5-star hotel. Splendid is the right word, without being overloaded. Those who did the renovation are to be congratulated.

The only thing we can criticise was breakfast. The quality ofthe bread at the breakfast buffet is not up to the standard of a European 5-star hotel such a Sofitel - only soft white and fluffy stuff. Also, the staff attention at the breakfast and lunch area was not too great, we had to really make an effort to mobilize someone in order to get a tea/coffee refill. Dinner, on the other hand was great at the incredible setting of the 1902 restaurant. We are lokking forward to going back for another stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for your review .We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us .Effectively the renovation of the hotel according to the comments we regularly have was done in the respect of the history of the place .However we noticed your comments about the quality of the bread and the attention of our colleague in the restaurant Saraya, thank you, they will help us to improve.
We hope to see you back in the future.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

stayed at this hotel over 30times was there last year after renovation stayed in palace wing nile view only 1 world best luxury hotel in egypt staff first class hope to go in next few weeks but wonder how busy the hotel and aswan are?????

Room Tip: palace wing is luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract, it is always an honor welcoming you back.

I am happy to see that your recent visit was enjoyable as usual.

The occupany is getting better and we are full in some days in March.

We will be waiting to welcome you back in few weeks as promised

Best personal regards

Jules-Henri Edouard
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.3 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Property: Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing