We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Egypt...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Egypt...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

As an ex-pat who has lived, worked, and traveled throughout Egypt over the past 7 years, I can say this is, hands down, the best hotel in Egypt. The concierge staff in particular set it head and shoulders above the rest.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abedski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and the service; I will pass your message and compliments to our concierge team members.
Looking forward to welcome you back soon,

Sincerely

Rafic KHAIRALLAH

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    846
    145
    45
    32
    19
See reviews for
208
475
80
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just returned to Cairo after a wonderful weekends in this splendid property. The hotel is a beauty in Itself and the location by the Nile is magic. The superior luxury room was superb very large with an enormous bathroom with a view on the Nile for the bath tub. The balcony is also very large with both 2 us beds and a full sitting area. The room has also a very large sitting area a walk-in closet and a separate bar with complementary nespresso!
The spa is ice and the 2 massages I had were very good. The food in all the restaurants was very good and service excellent. It is great to see that the standards of the hotel are still top even in these difficult with very few tourist. I applaud the staff and management for the effort and we will surely return.
The only downside was that I could not get points on the Accor card as the booking was not made through them

Room Tip: High floor luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this nice review, it was a pleasure welcoming you to our hotel, I am happy to read that you have enjoyed all the hotel services…I have shared your review with the management team. As for Le Club points, as per the policy, any booking made through a third party is not eligible for the points, we highly recommend you to book directly through us next time.
Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract
Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Definitely a MUST if you want to experience Egypt at its finest. Aswan is an enchanting city but staying at the Old Cataract Hotel is magical. My family stayed 2 nights in three rooms (upgraded to Opera Suite, Luxury Suite and a deluxe room)in the new wing overlooking the Nile. You have the option of staying there or in the "palace" which has a charm of its own. But we preferred the new building and we were not disappointed. Ecstatic is more like it. The balconies overlook the Nile and Elephantine Island. We felt no need to leave the hotel. Loved the bathrooms! Our children (4-14 years old) loved lazing around in the pool all day, with lunch at the pool restaurant (two waiters/attendants are super friendly and efficient). Food was good. We ate all our lunches there. I forgot sun cream and the pool attendant gave me a a bottle to use until the one I ordered from the pharmacy arrived. Nothing was too much for the staff to do. This is definitely service above and beyond. We had dinner at the French restaurant 1902 and most of us took the set menu of the evening while my husband ordered ala carte. None of us was disappointed. The restaurant itself was so historical. The waiters charmingly narrated the rich history of the restaurant and the hotel. The hotel has it's own getty where you can hire a felluca (a sail boat) to sail along the nile or a motorboat to take you to the different historical sights. After a sunset felluca, we all opted to spend our time in the hotel doing absolutely nothing (we passed on going to Abu Simbel). My husband preferred to take a nap in our balcony with the majesty of the Nile below us. We had a couple's massage in the spa (huge two-floor facility). You can also take a stroll around the property. Lovely views! I though my children will get bored because there is no kids' club. But even they loved the place and relaxed with us. There was none of the frenzy that comes with constant activities in a kids' club. Everyone slowed down to the luxurious pace in this hotel. A true vacation. We will never stay at any other hotel in Aswan.We're already planning to go back!

Room Tip: Stay in the new wing overlooking the Nile, on a high floor. You can always visit the palace wing to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RKRJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this nice review. You have described the hotel in a wonderful way that nothing else needs to be added and it makes us proud to read it.
I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your rooms at the new wing as well as the pool, service spa food and beverage; we are also very delighted to see that the kids did not get bored.
I will definitely share your review with the team.it was good that you didn’t leave without having the experience of the 1902 restaurant because this place has so much of history
Thank you again, we are looking forward to welcoming you back for longer time to enjoy the quietness and the beautiful view of the Nile and live again what you have described.

Sincerely

Rafic KHAIRALLAH

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great hotel- in every way- absolutely loved it: the decor, the food, the views, the staff.... We stayed here for 3 nights and took 2 rooms- one for my mother in the (main) Palace wing and one for me and my husband in the Nile wing (previously known as the New Cataract). Both rooms were outstanding. Ours in fact was a suite with to-die-for views over the Nile- spectacular! You just don't want to leave it- especially the fabulous bathroom- to go sightseeing (but we did). And can't say enough thank yous to all the wonderful staff but would particularly like to mention Moustafa (the elder) at the Kebabgy restaurant for being sooooo patient and thoughtful with my mother and her restricted diet, and Hussien at the main restaurant, and Susana who's such a sweet person. The hotel was almost empty as tourists in Egypt are sadly few and far between, but the ones who were there seemed on the whole to be faithful oldtimers who come 2-3 times every year- and who can blame them!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for this nice review, I am glad that everything satisfied you and as you said the hotel is empty but we hope the situation gets better and that encourage more tourists to come to Egypt .we are waiting for you to come back and live again what you have described.
Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Though we did not stay as guests of the hotel, we did stop by for a relaxing coffee and lunch break on the terrace. The setting is beautiful and peaceful and the service exceptional.we highly encourage you to visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethanddavetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,
This is our pleasure to welcome guest coming from other hotels .When they visit us they stay for coffee or lunch/dinner ,the place is so relaxing .Most of the time they regret not having booked in our hotel and we always make them feel special like everyone passing by Sofitel Legend Old Cataract.
Do not hesitate to stay with us in the future if you decide to visit again Aswan.
Thank you for passing by.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Old Cataract at the end of March for 2 nights after a fabulous river cruise on board the SS Sudan (highly recommended!). Without a doubt this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. It is absolutely beautiful, inside and out. The staff are lovely and very attentive; the breakfasts (everything home-made) to die for. We paid a little extra on arrival for a gorgeous suite with a terrace overlooking the Nile in the Palace wing, which was worth every penny. The hotel was extremely quiet, as was everywhere we went, due to the political situation, but we felt completely safe at all times on our trip, and it's a great time to go as the ancient sites are also very quiet. We had Abu Simbel to ourselves! Thank you to the staff who helped to make our stay so memorable. We hope to return and stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Our room 1122 was amazing. We saw the rooms in the new wing; they are lovely too but more modern. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bridia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for this nice review and we are proud to have contributed for you to have a amazing experience here in upper Egypt .As you said Nubian are quiet people and there are so many historical and cultural places to visit .We hope to see you back .

Sincerely
Jules-Henri EDOUARD .
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Fantastic hotel, great view, service, welcome !
Don't miss the Old Cataract Hotel if you go in Aswan... and you should GO because the country is extraordinary. We travel a lot, and believe me, the hotel is one of our best place we discovered

Room Tip: Prefer the new wing because the view is wonderful, and if you can, choose a prestige suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amelie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldCataractManagemnt, General Manager at Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel like you that we working in the best hotel, therefore it is always good to see guest having the same feeling .Being a frequent traveller around the world your opinion certainly counts. We thank you and hope to have more tourist visiting Upper Egypt to check on your comments.
Sincerely.
Jules-Henri EDOUARD
General Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.3 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
2.1 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan

Property: Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Address: Abtal El Tahrir Street, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
#1 Family Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Complex encompassing famous Victorian-style Cataract Hotel & adjacent high-rise New Cataract Hotel (1963). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan Hotel Aswan
Accor Old Cataract Aswan
Sofitel Aswan
Aswan Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing