We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pool and views, shame about extra payments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Aswan
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wonderful pool and views, shame about extra payments”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A great hotel that you can really relax in. The free ferry from the mainland means you don't feel too disconnected from the town - it takes about 10 minutes and goes very regularly. The rooms are a good size and the view from the Panorama bar are great - one advantage being that you don't have to see the brutalist tower you're standing in! The only downside was the fact that every extra thing is paid for, including a ridiculous price for wifi which then was not good - the voucher ran out after only 30 minutes despite having paid for an hour. Apart from this gripe though, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear our valued-Guest,

please let us thank you for posting your valuable review on trip advisor based on your recent stay in March at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us and we took note of your sent comments as we consider our guests comments and observation as a valuable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our valued-guests,

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for long stay at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    357
    126
    45
    32
See reviews for
299
488
102
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked rooms to make a day usage of the hotel facilities. We were received by drinks and were took to our rooms. Then we went to the pool and ordered some drinks and snacks from the pool bar. Til then everything was great and perfect. After swimming all day, we went to have dinner at their Panorama restaurant, but before we checked out and left our small backpacks at the reception. When we finished dinner and went back for our bags they told us that the concierge wanted to speak with us. Then he informed us that we had a balance due to consuming stuff from the mini bar. Did I mentioned that we spend all day swimming (we barely went to the room to shower and change clothes) and had already checked out?
The concierge said that we had taken several beers and snacks from one of the rooms which was illogical to us because we had snacks and drinks at the pool earlier in the day, why would we munch again before having a set dinner (3 course dinner) in one of their restaurants. And why would we leave our bags with them if we were trying to avoid a charge?
After going back and forth for about 30 mins they said they would let it go (the housekeeper said she didn't remember if this items were missing from our stay or the night before... seriously?) as if we did something wrong. It was totally embarrassing to be accused of something we didn't do, specially in front of other guests.
They ruined our day and left us with a sour taste.
If you are still thinking of staying here I would advise you to check what is on your mini fridge and take a pic or something before they try to say you stole from there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Janisebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This amazing hotel is right in the middle of the Nile on a small island and has everything you could want pool, spa restaurants include a panoramic hotel looking out on the valley. Aswan is an amazing city, the people are great and this hotel puts it over the top.

Room Tip: Check for free upgrades with everything in Egypt thing are pretty empty and it's easy to get a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear our valued-guests,

please let us thank you for posting your valuable review on trip advisor website based on your recent stay in March.2014 at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us and we do Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for long stay at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Eventhough we stayed for just a single night, post a nile cruise, yet the view was really unforgetable; quite neat location, with suuportive and cheerful staff. There's a tower restaurant with marvelous view overseeing the city.
Nice beaufeut, both breakfast & dinner.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ahmad_Shohbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear our valued guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor website followed by excellent rating and positive feedback.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service + true Values ".

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain


Cordially

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Arriving by boat to your hotel is a wonderful experience, the staff were all welcoming and helpful. Our room was upgraded to an amazing two floor suite with a lovely view of the gardens and the Nile. Our upstairs loo wasn't working at first but was soon fixed. Shower didn't drain well.
Do go up to the 13th floor of the tower to enjoy an amazing panorama of the city.
Aswan is a very safe and friendly place to visit, do visit the Nubian museum.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear our valued-Guests

please let us thank you for posting your valuable review on trip advisor based on your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us.
Many thanks for your nice recommendation to Aswan and our property.

Lastly, we do Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for long stay at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a beautiful setting for a hotel and we really injoyed our 2 stays here at either end of our holiday. The staff were fantastic and catered for all our needs, and thank you for our room upgrade on our second stay. We will certainly be staying here again on our return to Aswan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear our valued-guest;

Please let me thank you for posting your precious feedback about your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor,

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and many thanks for your wonderful recommendation for our property.

We do hope you will keep Moevenpick Resort Aswan in your good memory and we do looking forward to serve you again for another fantastic stay.


Sincerely,


Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Best hotel in aswan interms of value for money
Servvice is good,room space is nice,room nile view is amazing.
No wireless connection !!
And TVs are old ones
Also room keys are old manual keys not automatic onesss

The fairy boat was amazing

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonNabil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear our Valued-Guest,

I would like to thank you for posting your valuable review about your recent stay at Moevenpick resort Aswan on trip advisor site.

We took note of your all sent comments however we do provide Wireless connections at the lobby, public areas and at the Lounge bar. But it will be discussed with the operational team concern As our aim is “To always offer the highest standard of service in friendly & professional way”

Lastly, we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon to Moevenpick Resort Aswan or to any of our properties worldwide.


With best regards

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.2 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.4 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Aswan

Property: Movenpick Resort Aswan
Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nile. The Mövenpick Resort Aswan stands out by Virtue of its secluded setting amid tropical gardens set on an island in the Nile. The perfect hotel for relaxing and enjoying the luxury amenities during an exciting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Movenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing