We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Aswan
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our visit to the Moevenpick resort was such a pleasure. The visit to this hotel one of the best. We arrived to the hotel from boat. The hospitality was one of the best!! The room was big very clean and food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear our valued-Guest;

Please let me thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor site during your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan .

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us. It is really a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and have a good memory with them

We have passed on all your nice comments to the whole team who are joining me in hoping that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again soon for your next visit to Moevenpick Aswan for long stay.

With best regards

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    362
    126
    46
    33
See reviews for
303
491
103
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The first thing to say is that Egypt is open for business - it was deeply worrying to see so few fellow tourists enjoying the wonderful hospitality that Aswan, and the Moevenpick Hotel in particular, has to offer. My wife and I found that the staff at the Moevenpick could not do enough to make our stay a happy, relaxing experience and we really appreciated it. The breakfast is legendary in the variety offered to all nationalities with eggs cooked freshly each time. The pool area is extremely well managed and plenty of shade is available courtesy of a combination of palm trees and umbrellas: we also appreciated the activities of the masseur more than once. Our room was serviced very efficiently twice a day and the management were very much in evidence and wishing to engage with guests: we were particularly moved by being invited to the hotel's Open Day for local orphaned children (pictured), an event with which many of the staff and management were actively involved. The hotel's major 'plus point' is being on Elephantine Island itself and only being able to reach it by the hotel's efficient and frequent 24-hour ferry service. Whilst it is great to engage with Aswan, it's terrific souk and wonderful people, it is also good to have a little detachment and peace and quiet on the Island too. I notice some comments refer to the noise of the extension to the Moevenpick being built nearby on the Northern end of the island but I have to say it didn't affect our enjoyment at all and actually shows how Moevenpick believe in Aswan. So the message is get to Aswan (and Luxor) - it's business as normal and our Egyptian friends need us to spend our money with them! Also, stay as long as you can as this is a great city to get to know and the Moevenpick is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We preferred the west side facing Kitchener's Island. We were in a ground floor room (110) which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear our Beloved-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor website followed by excellent rating and positive feedback.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service + true Values ".

We’ve passed on your nice words to the whole team who joins me and hope that you will keep Moevenpick Aswan in your good memories.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain


With best Regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, West Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

You are definitely in for a treat if you visit Aswan. You can only access this hotel by boat which was all part of the magic for me. The island certainly makes you feel more secure in an already very friendly city, and the views from the rooms and the top floor restaurant are amazing. Naturally, when you build a hotel in a location like this, views from anywhere are beautiful.

The restaurant was very good, with many selections, though I only tried it for breakfast. I preferred other restaurants outside for a more complete experience. The hotel is very clean and there is a nice pool.

The hotel dock on the other side is a few minutes walk to the local souk where you can buy amazing spices and nuts like hibiscus, cardamom and peanuts all locally sourced from the very south of Egypt or Sudan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear our beloved guest;

Please let me thank you for posting your precious feedback about your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor followed by Excellent rating & positive comments.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. Moreover, we are very much appreciating your nice words in favor of our property; it’s really motivated the whole team to continue offering dedicated service to our valued-guests.

Lastly, we do hope you will keep Moevenpick Resort Aswan in your good memory and waiting to serve you again for third outstanding stay.


Cordially,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been visiting this hotel since 1989 when it was the great Oberoi with its great service.
Since the last visit in 2010, the place is seriously going worse than before. Construction, renovation, poor attitude, poor amenities, poor management, poor landscaping. It is a shame to see such a beautiful place, a piece of history deteriorate over the years, specially after the Movenpick chain took it over. This hotel started as a rest-house for the Egyptian government staff and the Russians during the construction of the High Dam, then when the Dam was completed in 1970/1971, it was converted into a hotel for visitors to the city of Aswan.
In 2010 there was the renovation with noise and disturbances that you could hear from every corner, did not go back until April 2014, what a mistake!!! They still building the extension of the hotel (for the last 4 years), The construction area is open and destroying the looks of the hotel and the Elephantine Island, In Europe or civilized world, the area of construction in any place is covered with beautiful designed sheets of cloth with work only allowed in certain hours.
The Room was not clean prior to our arrival, it was fixed but not cleaned for months because the situation in the country and tourists are limited in number. OK, I understand that, but before you let the guests move into a room, someone must check if the room is clean and ready!
We could see the dust everywhere, the smell of the room and the linen, we are frequent travelers and know if a hotel room is cleaned or not and how long!!!
Anyhow, upon request they send a crew to clean and fulfill what we need, clean towels, fresh linen, pillows, etc... The shower area is open inside the bathroom with just a 2 inch marble tile on the edge to stop the water from going everywhere, no problem, but the hole in the ground is too small for the shower-water to run through, so as you are taking the shower you are trying to finish fast before the water floods the whole bathroom or open the water in a way to allow continuous flow of water in the hole. You have to think of solutions yourself, I called for a plumber, he came fairly quick and was an oldman could not climb the stairs easily inside the suite, the shower area is upstairs in the one bedroom suite, VERY POOR DESIGN OVERALL, no brains whtasoever. The plumber just cleaned some tiny stuff inside and removed the top piece of the hole and you can see that the hole underneath is less than 2 centimeter (much less than a sink hole). Anyhow, there was little change they could do to make the shower run faster, People who travel they know the best thing we enjoy in a vacation is our time in the shower, but not here.
On our 3rd day of stay, we got a call that we could not eat lunch or dinner at the main restaurant because they had a conference with a large group, so they asked us to eat either at the Panorama restaurant or at the pool bar. Did not mine that, it happens once in a while in many hotels, so we ordered room service for that day.
The next day, which was an Egyptian Holiday called "Sham El Nessiem", it is an Ancient Egyptian holiday for the start of the Nile Flooding season and the beginning of spring.
The night before we could not sleep, there was loud noise, children crying and running in the corridor back and forth until early hours of the morning. We were told, they are the people from the day before and they would leave by the end of the following day, could not do anything about it.
Back to our Sham Nessiem day, We went down to the main restaurant to eat, WOWOWOWO, it was a stampede, could not see the entrance to the restaurant, many people with children and baby carriages. May be hundreds inside and many hundreds waiting in line, that was about 03:00 PM where lunch finish about 04:00 PM.. We were told that these people were coming for the day to spend it in a 5 star hotel, using the swimming pool and lunch included, all inclusive in one price!!!!????? The hotel accepted 700 people in a hotel that can accommodate up to 250 guests... We really felt very lousy and this not the place for us anymore, it has become like public hotel for anyone at any price. Even the poor employees were complaining of all the hard work, garbage and dirt, food scattered everywhere, not even able to take a break. You can not blame the soldiers, you must fault the chiefs.
The food varieties are limited all the times, TV channels are very very poor quality and very very limited. The panorama view is the best thing you can experience. Could not use the swimming pool because I did not trust the cleaning process, specially after 700+ people jumping in it.
We stayed 7 nights, felt like eternity and could not wait to leave, I think will not be back for a long time,may be never. Only we are going to miss some people in the hotel and in the city, but that is life, as we meet many people, we leave many people. The only people liked this place, are the people who are people who care about cheap rates, nothing else matter to them.

Room Tip: Anywhere facing the Nile,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SetiTheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We booked a room 406 last week .. really it is very nice hotel , very nice people specialy Mr. Bahaa in restaurabt and Mr . Mohsen , all people and facilty is amazing .. Aswan is amazing city , the pool area in hotel is big and clean , really the people are grat and this hotel puts it over the top..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eman E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear our Beloved-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor website.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us. therfore , We've passed on your comments to all the mentioned team and we hope you will keep us in your good memory.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain


Warmly,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A great hotel that you can really relax in. The free ferry from the mainland means you don't feel too disconnected from the town - it takes about 10 minutes and goes very regularly. The rooms are a good size and the view from the Panorama bar are great - one advantage being that you don't have to see the brutalist tower you're standing in! The only downside was the fact that every extra thing is paid for, including a ridiculous price for wifi which then was not good - the voucher ran out after only 30 minutes despite having paid for an hour. Apart from this gripe though, it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear our valued-Guest,

please let us thank you for posting your valuable review on trip advisor based on your recent stay in March at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us and we took note of your sent comments as we consider our guests comments and observation as a valuable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our valued-guests,

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for long stay at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We booked rooms to make a day usage of the hotel facilities. We were received by drinks and were took to our rooms. Then we went to the pool and ordered some drinks and snacks from the pool bar. Til then everything was great and perfect. After swimming all day, we went to have dinner at their Panorama restaurant, but before we checked out and left our small backpacks at the reception. When we finished dinner and went back for our bags they told us that the concierge wanted to speak with us. Then he informed us that we had a balance due to consuming stuff from the mini bar. Did I mentioned that we spend all day swimming (we barely went to the room to shower and change clothes) and had already checked out?
The concierge said that we had taken several beers and snacks from one of the rooms which was illogical to us because we had snacks and drinks at the pool earlier in the day, why would we munch again before having a set dinner (3 course dinner) in one of their restaurants. And why would we leave our bags with them if we were trying to avoid a charge?
After going back and forth for about 30 mins they said they would let it go (the housekeeper said she didn't remember if this items were missing from our stay or the night before... seriously?) as if we did something wrong. It was totally embarrassing to be accused of something we didn't do, specially in front of other guests.
They ruined our day and left us with a sour taste.
If you are still thinking of staying here I would advise you to check what is on your mini fridge and take a pic or something before they try to say you stole from there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Janisebueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.1 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
275 reviews
1.2 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.9 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Aswan

Property: Movenpick Resort Aswan
Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nile. The Mövenpick Resort Aswan stands out by Virtue of its secluded setting amid tropical gardens set on an island in the Nile. The perfect hotel for relaxing and enjoying the luxury amenities during an exciting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing