We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Peacefull location on Elephantine Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Resort Aswan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Aswan
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Peacefull location on Elephantine Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Located on Elephantine Island in the middle of the Nile ensures quiet surroundings - although this may change when the hotel next door is finished.
Rooms clean and comfortable - large with fantastic Nile views.
Breakfasts buffet style and varied, whilst the restaurant was at the top of the tower and had a great view of Aswan and surrounds.
Ferry runs 24x7 to the town
Pool large but with little shade which is needed in a hot climate
Staff very willing to do anything to make your stay better

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hommar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Reply for satisfied guest

Dear our beloved guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious comment via Trip Advisor website followed by high score and positive comment.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us and we wish you keep Moevenpick Aswan in your good memory ever.

Looking forward to welcome you back again soon at our property or at any of our Moevenpick Hotels and resorts.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    335
    110
    35
    28
See reviews for
278
444
97
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Generally a good all-rounder, as expected from an international chain, albeit a tad impersonal and aseptized. Unfortunately this hotel was built without consulting the Unesco nor the local fishermen living on the island. The end-result speaks for itself, from such a distance and so conspicuously that it's been nicknamed "the Control Tower". Meanwhile the villagers have been parked and fenced away from this piece of ostentation on their land.
Of course this has nothing to do with the staff running the hotel now, who try their best to accomodate their clients" whims and critics.
My main critic concerns the arguable architecture and lack of initial concertation.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenMasai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giza, Egypt
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is an island hotel, it occupies the entire Elephentine island; the island & the hotel are reachable only by boat, which works 24*7 to take you to the city & back. Once city side, the bazaar is across the street, literally, where all your needs & wants can be found, touristic and otherwise: Food, leisure, shopping, etc.
The hotel is a very big and old structure, extremely well maintained and renovated, it just recently became a Novotel, used to be an Obroi for ages. The rooms are huge, really; we tried two types of rooms: First we checked in into 2 double rooms, the rooms were very spacious with big balconies, providing a view of unparalleled tranquility of the majestic river Nile flowing with sail boat quietly passing, adding to the beauty of the whole scene; then we exchanged the 2 double rooms for what they dubbed "family room" which is a 2-story open space with a king size bed on the upper part and a sofa bed in the lower room which serves as a very nice family/living room when the bed is not turned, with a lovely patio that extends out to a garden reaching down to the river Nile, few feet from where you can sit relaxing in the patio, watching geese and sheep feed in the garden or inside the 2-story-high-floor-to-wall glass window!
The hotel body extends from the reception building towards the tip of the island, on your way to the right, is the gym, which is small, yet surprisingly adequately equipped, with all new machines and equipment; to the left are the stairs that take you to the swimming pool deck which overlooks the Nile; yeah, been to places where the pool overlooks the ocean, yet here the tranquility of the whole scene is just sheer pleasure, we stayed there from the afternoon till sunset and we enjoyed it immensely.
Continuing to walk away from the reception, you enter the building where the guest rooms are lined on both sides; every single room with a Nile view, yet I recommend a room on the left side of the building, the side not facing the city but rather the other side of the island, the view is much better on this side, that’s of course just our opinion and hence our recommendation.
Breakfast in the restaurant above the reception was delicious, with a very good variety of foods, both Egyptian and international, and the restaurant itself is spacious, and is drenched in the sunlight through all glass walls, which makes it quite pleasant, the service was very good in that restaurant, with the waiters and waitresses dressed in authentic Aswani outfits. Must have a meal in the tower-top restaurant! The food may not be exquisite, yet the view most certainly is.
Overall service in the hotel was good, at times even very good, like the lady who helped us at check in, keeping our luggage till midnight when we left to the airport and helping us cross the Nile to catch our lemo to the airport, all done with a smile and a truly hospitable spirit. A small nag was that when changed rooms, the new room rate was slightly lower than what we had earlier paid for the 2 double rooms; it took them 4 months to refund the small amount minus a miniscule amount with no explanation. It could be just me, yet it bothered me, the treatment, not the petty cash.
Lovely, lovely, lovely, certainly recommend! Stay on the left side of things :-)

Room Tip: With your back to the reception, choose a room on the left hand side of the guest room building, fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EhabSerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear our valued-Guest,

please let us thank you for posting your valuable review on trip advisor based on your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us and we took note of your sent comments as we consider our guests comments and observation as a valuable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our valued-guests,

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon for long stay at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Been back a couple of weeks, wish i was still there. fab hotel, very clean, staff were brilliant and couldnt be more helpful. Bedrooms were big and plenty of space.Had a brilliant view of the nile and the surroundings espcially with the flowers all in bloom. Pool was cleaned everyday,a good size a pleasure to swim in. would go back again. In the brochure it states wi-fi, but it does not state that you have to pay for it, by buying scratch cards, and can only be accessed in certain parts of the hotel. But apart from that i couldnt find any fault with this place.

Room Tip: Want quiet get the nile side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear our beloved guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious comment via TripAdvisor website followed by high score and positive comment.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us and we wish you keep Moevenpick Aswan in your good memory ever.

Looking forward to welcome you back again soon at our property or at any of our Moevenpick Hotels and resorts.

With best regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our visit to the Moevenpick resort was such a pleasure. The visit to this hotel one of the best. We arrived to the hotel from boat. The hospitality was one of the best!! The room was big very clean and food was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear our valued-Guest;

Please let me thank you for having shared your impressions through Trip Advisor site during your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan .

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay with us. It is really a pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and have a good memory with them

We have passed on all your nice comments to the whole team who are joining me in hoping that it will not be too long before we can welcome you back again soon for your next visit to Moevenpick Aswan for long stay.

With best regards

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The first thing to say is that Egypt is open for business - it was deeply worrying to see so few fellow tourists enjoying the wonderful hospitality that Aswan, and the Moevenpick Hotel in particular, has to offer. My wife and I found that the staff at the Moevenpick could not do enough to make our stay a happy, relaxing experience and we really appreciated it. The breakfast is legendary in the variety offered to all nationalities with eggs cooked freshly each time. The pool area is extremely well managed and plenty of shade is available courtesy of a combination of palm trees and umbrellas: we also appreciated the activities of the masseur more than once. Our room was serviced very efficiently twice a day and the management were very much in evidence and wishing to engage with guests: we were particularly moved by being invited to the hotel's Open Day for local orphaned children (pictured), an event with which many of the staff and management were actively involved. The hotel's major 'plus point' is being on Elephantine Island itself and only being able to reach it by the hotel's efficient and frequent 24-hour ferry service. Whilst it is great to engage with Aswan, it's terrific souk and wonderful people, it is also good to have a little detachment and peace and quiet on the Island too. I notice some comments refer to the noise of the extension to the Moevenpick being built nearby on the Northern end of the island but I have to say it didn't affect our enjoyment at all and actually shows how Moevenpick believe in Aswan. So the message is get to Aswan (and Luxor) - it's business as normal and our Egyptian friends need us to spend our money with them! Also, stay as long as you can as this is a great city to get to know and the Moevenpick is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We preferred the west side facing Kitchener's Island. We were in a ground floor room (110) which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear our Beloved-Guest,

Please let us thank you for posting your precious review for Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor website followed by excellent rating and positive feedback.

We are delighted to know that you've enjoyed your overall stay and we are extremely happy to know that our team our team succeeded to reflect our aim to offer you with "Dedicated friendly service + true Values ".

We’ve passed on your nice words to the whole team who joins me and hope that you will keep Moevenpick Aswan in your good memories.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon at our resort or at any of our properties worldwide and we remain


With best Regards,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

You are definitely in for a treat if you visit Aswan. You can only access this hotel by boat which was all part of the magic for me. The island certainly makes you feel more secure in an already very friendly city, and the views from the rooms and the top floor restaurant are amazing. Naturally, when you build a hotel in a location like this, views from anywhere are beautiful.

The restaurant was very good, with many selections, though I only tried it for breakfast. I preferred other restaurants outside for a more complete experience. The hotel is very clean and there is a nice pool.

The hotel dock on the other side is a few minutes walk to the local souk where you can buy amazing spices and nuts like hibiscus, cardamom and peanuts all locally sourced from the very south of Egypt or Sudan.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiman Z, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Aswan, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear our beloved guest;

Please let me thank you for posting your precious feedback about your recent stay at Moevenpick Resort Aswan on Trip Advisor followed by Excellent rating & positive comments.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us. Moreover, we are very much appreciating your nice words in favor of our property; it’s really motivated the whole team to continue offering dedicated service to our valued-guests.

Lastly, we do hope you will keep Moevenpick Resort Aswan in your good memory and waiting to serve you again for third outstanding stay.


Cordially,

Aiman Zaki
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.9 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
1.5 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Aswan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Aswan

Property: Movenpick Resort Aswan
Address: Elephantine Island | PO Box 62, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
#2 Family Hotel in Aswan
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Aswan 5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Nile. The Mövenpick Resort Aswan stands out by Virtue of its secluded setting amid tropical gardens set on an island in the Nile. The perfect hotel for relaxing and enjoying the luxury amenities during an exciting stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Resort Aswan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Aswan Hotel Aswan
Moevenpick Hotel Aswan
Aswan Moevenpick Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing