We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round good hotel!”
Review of Basma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Basma Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
galiano
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All round good hotel!”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Basma which permitted a day trip to Abu Simbel. The location just outside the Aswan downtown area is across the street from the Nubian Museum and walking distance to the Unfinished Obelisk. The hotel provides complimentary mini-bus service to downtown.

Our room was clean and well maintained with a small fridge and a large deck with lounge chairs offering a great view north to the Nile, the western shoreline and downtown. There was also a small balcony on the east side of the room. Other rooms would have our view at an angle across the large pool or less compelling views to the south and east.

Breakfasts were included: a good selection of fruit, breads, cheeses, cereals, etc. and made to order omlettes. We also enjoyed a light lunch ordered from the bar near the front desk and served by the pool, and a good dinner. The menus indicate "tax and service included" and there was no push from restaurant staff for tips.

All in all a good hotel choice in Aswan.

Room Tip: We reserved with a Cairo travel agent. He was genuinely surprised when we pointed out his special p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trincomali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    101
    68
    33
    11
See reviews for
45
85
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aswan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Thanks for the hotel management for selecting professional staff turn my honeymoon more than magic
When i arrived to the hotel we were greeted by very smile staff , eye contact ,
Room service staff were very helpful to offer any extra service

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darshpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Best 4 star hotel i ever see in egypt.clean hotel...room service is excellent..good food but not the best..best rooms in all 4star hotels i visit.the working staff are gentlemen with best behaviour.i enjoyed a lot to be there

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honshon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

I spent one night at the Basma on business in the off season. Hotel was pretty basic, and the bed wasn't very comfortable. I was a bit annoyed that they provided neither bar soap nor shampoo, and only had a liquid soap dispenser on the wall. Not sure who thought this was a good idea, but it's not. Shower was also small and uneven (which made it slippery). Breakfast was OK, and service was indifferent. The pool looked nice, but I didn't have a chance to use it. My balcony, overlooking the pool was only about 2 feet wide.

Not the worst place I've stayed in, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtspeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

The hotel looks amazing. Great views, nice looking pool. Service is pretty average, food is not great. Beds are hard, but normal for Egypt. Hardly anyone else there when we stayed so all the staff just stood around staring at us while we ate - very uncomfortable. There is a games room, but you are charged extra for anything you want to do - board games, billiards, darts, etc.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Flew back to Aswan from Abu Simbel and arrived at the Basma early afternoon. It was a very short drive from the centre of town (easy walking distance). After a simple check in we were delighted when we were shown to our terrace room on the top floor. The room was spacious and the sliding doors opened onto our own private terrace overlooking the grounds and with a lovely view down the Nile and the town. After settling in and soaking up the view from the balcony, we had a quick lunch in the outside restaurant in the shade before heading to the pool. We ended up having room service for dinner and the food was lovely. We had the most peaceful quiet sleep and after our buffet breakfast had to leave too quickly to catch our flight back to Cairo. The only disappointing aspect of our stay was having to leave after one night. If only we had known what a lovely hotel this was, we would have stayed for longer.

Room Tip: Terrace rooms overlooking the gardens and the Nile made our stay extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hitchinlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Great location and view. Hotel restaurant very basic

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliese3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.1 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
2.4 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
85 reviews
1.2 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basma Hotel

Property: Basma Hotel
Address: El Fanadek Street, Aswan 81111, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#3 Spa Hotel in Aswan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Basma Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Otel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Basma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basma Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing