We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Private Tour: St Simeon's Monastery
5

Book in advance
from
£73.97
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Elephantine Island
from £73.97
More Info
from £62.56
More Info
from £64.17
More Info
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
233
174
53
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
233
174
53
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nubian village movenpick hotel ancient ruins small museum worth a visit boat ride visit aswan elephants felucca nile kfc height egyptians stone god luxor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2015

The Best Island all over the world, it has an unique location in the middle of the Nile in Aswan, it gives complete spectrum of history, & present as simply you can see ancient history moves in front of you .

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank MohamedAAwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2015

This island has a museum that was closed and then has a little garden you can sit in. Once you pass the garden you enter the ruins. You can also check out the nubian village were you will be greated by the cheif of the village who will like you to check out his store and the village. we did not see the village because of time but the ruins were nice. you can walk along the shore of the island and see the old cataract hotel as well as other little islands.

Date of experience: May 2015
2  Thank fancyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2015

Loved the Felucca ride....Nothing much to say about the island...A calm place.....Just go for the Felucca ride during sunset...

Date of experience: January 2015
1  Thank SujaSivadass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2015

I had admired the historic Elephantine Island from my window at the Old Cataract, gazing at the historic dig sites, watching village life and the small sailing feluccas, a most memorable sight. One morning we hired a motorboat with the help of Aswan Individual and had a relaxing ride with an English speaking Nubian native, a very pleasant, knowledgeable man, who spoke about the village, the way of life before the building of the new dam, and the way it affected the native people.
We sailed all around this island, watching children swimming in the Nile and at play, then we cruised around the cataracts watching bird life. One of my best experiences in Aswan.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank FLnurseER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2015

Took a tour around this island on felukka because the rocks are supposed to look like elephants. My girls were so excited, because one of their favorite animals is elephants. But the rocks didn't look like it at all. My girls couldn't see the elephants in the rock formations. I could see it sort of, but it just seems to me a gimmick to get people to boat around the island.

Date of experience: April 2015
1  Thank cairoegypt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews