We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way with lots of mosquitoes.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aswan
Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel was fine. The bed were ok and I would have slept well if it had not been for the mosquitoes. When I complained I was given a plug-in device that did nothing to combat the nightly horde. I ended up buying a mosquito net in Aswan. I don't understand why the owner does not simply put screens on the windows.
The worst thing about the hotel for me was the location. It is in the middle of tumbledown collection of houses in various states of disrepair. I ended up spending more on cabs to and from the hotel then on the hotel itself. I tried to walk to Aswan even though it would have been an hour and half stroll but pedestrians are not allowed to cross the dam. One muse go by vehicle. This becomes very expensive very fast. I had booked the hotel to use as a base fr exploring Aswan but by the third night realized this would not work out.

Another thing I did not like was that the hotel charges 50 pounds for dinner while the same dinner could be had in Aswan for 15. I ate at the hotel because there are no other restaurants, bakeries or taverns in the village.

The hotel would work for someone who is part of a package tour but for an independent traveler on a budget it is not doable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wildwoman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely calm place, excellent food and totally welcoming. Very clean and perfectly located for visiting Aswan, Abu Simbel and all interesting places around. The view over the Nile from the terrace is amazing, specially during the sunset. Definitely a charming place, very affordable and with an excellent service. Thanks to Mr. Khaled and the entire staff for this unforgettable stay!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoseSazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

i didn't feel im in a hotel it felt like being at home. i wished i could stay longer in this very peaceful village with its kind hearted people. the Owner and his helpers are really nice and friendly. the food was very satisfying. the view from the terrace is just beatiful.
Try it and you will not regret it :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatma Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I have organised two trips to this beautiful hotel, the 2 groups like it very much.
One of the best things in this hotel is Mr.Khaled Dakroun, I liked him very much and he is my friend now and it's pleasure to meet him.

I really enjoyed staying at Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse

Room Tip: Best for value, you will get more than what you have paid for
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YehyaZakaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Absolutely loved this place... very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly... The host took us to a Nubian wedding which was a lot of fun and a very memorable experience...A fantastic place for peace and relaxation...

Room Tip: The rooms on the roof terrace are great if you want to wake up and walk straight out to view the sun...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Total breath of fresh air. Central Aswan is not all that pretty, even compared to downtown Cairo, and is busy, so staying in Gharb Sehel is a much better idea. The view is beautiful and the atmosphere very relaxed. (The drive to Aswan doesn't take too long at all, and Eka Dolli can organise it for you.)

The staff of Eka Dolli treated us like old friends, so we felt very comfortable. The whole place was spotless. The food was authentic and delicious. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Aswan.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This is a nice spot in Aswan. Its not right in the city but on the other side of the Nile, but we loved the location. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and the upstairs terrace has a great view of the village, the river and is a nice place for a meal or a drink. The owner is friendly and helpful. I would suggest this place if you are looking for somewhere simple but clean and well priced. Breakfast (which is included) was yummy too!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.0 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.0 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nile Hotel Aswan
Nile Hotel Aswan
#10 of 22 in Aswan
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.0 mi away
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Marhaba Palace Hotel
#13 of 22 in Aswan
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse

Address: Marina Kenworthy | Gharb Sehel, Aswan 81611, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Aswan
Price Range: £16 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ekadolli guesthouse is situated in Gharb Sahel, a Nubian village on the west bank of the Nile, opposite of the city of Aswan and overlooking the scenic first cataract. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Ekadolli Nubian Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing