We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nubian Village

Nubian Village
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
Nubian Village Trip by Motorboat in Aswan
Ranked #4 of 37 things to do in Aswan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Montreal
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

It's interesting to learn about the Nubian culture, way of living and domestic architecture, but needs a good and well informed guide. What's somewhat troubling is to feel the difficult life conditions with the lack of tourists.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mtltravel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    154
    80
    23
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nubian Village dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I loved the evening spent at the village though it seemed a bit like a set up for tourists. Still, what do you expect? That random folks are going to invite white westerners into their homes? This was a good approximation and the people were generous and welcoming with everything.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank peterrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Staying with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I have lived in Sharm EL Sheikh for Seven years, I went to stay with friends in Aswan, They took me to visit the Nubian Village across the Nile, This was a experience I will never forget, yes they have a lot of shops selling their wares, please don't forget it is their way of making a living, and yes you can buy cheaper else where, Please consider that you are visiting very proud people, and life is hard, I found the Nubian people very friendly, and wanted you to enjoy your visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank veronica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aswan, Egypt
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“NICE VILLAGE AND KIND PEOPLE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Really it is a live museum.The nubian village situted on the western bank of the NILE south to ASWAN is a true and unaltered village with true nubian houses and true nubian people living their normal everyday life.If you value real things you'll definitely love it.Getting there is half the pleasure because you'll take a felluca which is a very beautiful local sail boat and the short journey is full of charming scenes.In the village you'll hve the chance to enter whatever house you want and enjoy the true hospitality of this kind and friendly people.They will offer you tea and soft drinks and you may see small crocodiles that they raise in small basins inside their houses.They sell very nice and cheap souvenirs reflecting their unique culture.Really it is a live museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank BOSHRA76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Better than expected...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We took this trip from our Nile cruise boat, the MS Grand Rose (Red Sea Holidays), and were guided by our Egyptologist Hadey.
It started with a trip on a Felucca gently sailing though picturesque surroundings with an abundance of birds “singing” to us as we soaked up the atmosphere. Two young Nubian boys suddenly clung on to the side of the boat and started singing to us! It was delightful and we were happy to tip them.
The village itself is full of pretty houses painted in bright colors. We went a Nubian home where we had mint tea and enjoyed learning about their way of life. We were introduced to and actually held their baby crocodile!!!
We then went for a gentle short walk and enjoyed a visit to the school where we learnt some Arabic and Nubian numbers and phrases.
It was very hot when we went in June, so be sure to take plenty of water, sun cream and a hat and wear sensible walking shoes.
We thoroughly enjoyed the experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aldo28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nubian Village also viewed

Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
Aswan, Aswan Governorate
 

Been to Nubian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing