We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis of Tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marhaba Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for 4 lovely nights after trying out a budget hotel in Aswan, (which was horrid) The Marhaba is good value for a mid range hotel, (I would avoid budget hotels as they are of very poor standard in Aswan) The Marhaba was great. It is in a good location overlooking a small park, with great views over the Nile but is set back from the road which means it is QUIET. All rooms are clean and comfortable, and ours was very spacious(Check room before committing, to get one at the front and of a good size) The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for us which made us feel very looked after and there is no hassle, which we so appreciated. There is a lovely roof terrace with fabulous views and a nice place to rest up after a day out, seeing the sites. There is a pool at the rear of the hotel, a bit dated, but great to cool off. There is also a spa but I didn't try this. The breakfast was varied and filling. If I get back to Aswan some day I would not hesitate to stay at the Marhaba again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilary j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2012

This hotel has a great location. It is near the souq (bazaar) and the ferry to the West Bank (where the Tombs of the Nobles and the Monastery of St. Simeon are located-fun camel ride). Rooms and roof have a great view to see the sunset over the West Bank desert. The staff were very friendly and helpful when I lost my cellular telephone in the souq. They called the number for me and got the person who found my phone help to get it back to me. All the staff, and especially the General Manager, made this single female traveler feel very cared for and at ease.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our family of four adults recently stayed at this hotel.
The hotel is a little dated but fair value and impeccably clean.

Staff was super friendly and helpful.

Breakfast was complete...a good solid start to the day..included in room rate.

Management...Mr Ismael..was personally there to assist us even at the very late time of our arrival..we were upgraded to two adjoining rooms with a lovely view.

Management also graciously extended our checkout time to past 5 pm so that we might comfortably catch our Sleeper Train back to Cairo.

Family Goossens from Philadelphia, USA was 100% touched by the hospitality and attention given us.

( Guests are also rec'd with ''Karkade''...a hibiscus drink made by boiling dried leaves in water, and serving cool/cold with some sugar. )

I warmly recommend this place for guests seeking traditional Nubian/Egyptian hospitality over the cold efficiency of a 5star hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors with view on Nile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Familygoossens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Good situation, with view of the Nile or the Souk, near the train station. Recent and clean hotel, breakfast included, swimming pool, good value for money. Staff is friendly and competent. Gorgeous panoramic view of the Nile from the rooftop.

Room Tip: Ask the staff to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

bad hotel with good location
bad coz the staff is not will behaved they dont no how to talk with guests but they just know how to apply the howner policy regardlles any other things
the room is wide but witout enough equepments

the price is very expensive according to it's 3 stars standards & it's service

the only advantages ( nile view from balcony and location n down town

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldamasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

We stated here one night before we got on a Nile cruise. It was and in and out night with a very early rise. Not much to write about . Very basic, Little old looking, Staff was alittle indifferent.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HNLglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

The star rating in Egypt is arbitrary. So don't even bother checking the rating. This hotel was fairly upscale once but it quite rundown today. We stayed in a room with a view of ducts. The bathroom are not modern. You need to turn on a water heater above the toilet to take a hot shower. The water takes a while to heat so hopefully you're not in a rush. We had our laundry done by the hotel and it came back clean and well pressed if somewhat sandpaper-like from the hard water. That service was reasonably priced.

The best feature of the hotel is the rooftop cafe. They serve good strong tea and offer amazing views of the Nile.

We stayed 1 night which was about my limit. A passable stopover but not place to use as a base.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ev94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.6 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
0.8 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
329 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
12 reviews
1.7 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhaba Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhaba Palace Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nil, Aswan, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range: £31 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhaba Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marhaba Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marhaba Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing