We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the price”
Review of Keylany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Keylany Hotel
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Uley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“OK for the price”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Clean and confortable but a bit unispiring and rooms tend to be cramped and dark. Helpful service and handy location. Not the best value for money. Rooftop breakfast- service good but food not very inspiring

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    116
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
27
112
51
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This hotel is the best if one is looking for quick tours and have not booked online. We stayed here for a day and got good deal for abusimbel at 70LE per person in microbus but pls ensure this is a/c as its very scorching hot in aswan presently. cruise too they arranged at 50usd per person per night which was a very good deal looking at the amenities at this Emilio cruise. Great staff with good knowledge. Very near to aswan souk do shopping here. Rooms can be a little better for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suganthi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Good location, 2 minutes walk to Aswan Souk and about 5 minutes to the Nile. Taxi from train station was 10 EGP. Could walk from train in about 15 minutes but for 10 EGP, why bother.
Solo traveller stayed for 4 nights in April 2013. Stayed in twin bed room (single room) with ensuite bathroom, good air conditioning, fridge and in room safe. Very affordable, 4 nights $92USD. Double rooms and rooms with small balcony were more expensive. Room was clean and quiet so slept well. I had enough hot water, but there was only one of me.
Small cost for use of PC's in basement. Great breakfast on the roof. Coffee, juice, fruit, pancakes, toast and spreads. Laundry seemed expensive as it was about 3 to 5 EGP per piece. This may well have been the going price in Aswan, however Laundry in Dahab was 1/2 the price. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly and answered all my Emails when I was in the planning stages.
Hotel arranged;
1. my trip in minibus to Abu Simbel (start at 3:00 a.m), I think it was 70 EGP (without Philae). Includes breakfast box, but this is very basic (juice, bread and condiments).
2. transport to Luxor by minibus (start at 8:00 a.m.) with stops at Komombo and Edfu and arrive Luxor at around 2:00 p.m. Dropped at Luxor ferry so that I could easily reach my west bank hotel. If you are staying on the east bank they will drop you at your hotel.
Best thing about this hotel was it was very affordable, great breakfast and the two tours I booked with the hotel were affordable (cheaper than elsewhere) and exactly what I wanted.

Room Tip: Beware of Aswan Souk - I had my purse pick pocketed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou26_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This hotel is located only a few minutes walk from the corniche. Central to the ferry, feluccas, cafes & ATM's. It's also only a few steps away from the bazaar if you are into shopping.
The reception staff are friendly & very helpful. Trips to Abu Simbel can be arranged at reception.
My room was small (2 single beds) but all I needed for a couple of nights. The bathroom was a bit squeezy but manageable. It had a ceiling fan & air conditioning, also free WiFi.
I was attracted to this hotel because of the price - very cheap!
Given the low cost I think The Keylany Hotel is excellent value for money.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: There are 4 or 5 floors. If you don't like stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pakhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Searsmont, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It's a basic place, but it is clean and comfortable. The breakfast on the rooftop is very nice. And the staff at the front desk were great:Friendly, helpful, competent, knowledgeable and honest. It was a pleasure to deal with them. And we found it a convenient location: far enough away from the main road to avoid the traffic noise, but still within walking distance of most of the sites and restaurants.
A comfortable place to stay at a reasonable price

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I've been traveling for many years. I've stayed at fleabag hotels, fancy hotels, medium hotels. This one is far and away my favorite. Here's why:

- Outstandingly friendly, helpful and knowedgeable staff
- Clean rooms, bathrooms, halls, reception
- Delightful rooftop terrace
- Nice breakfasts
- Free reliable strong wi-fi
- And did I mention the great staff?

Room Tip: Because the hotel is pretty much surrounded by mosques, I don't think there are any quiet rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aliza E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I was at Keylany hotel ( recommended by my tour guide from Luxor) for few hours overnight sleep on the way to Abu Simbel, coming from Luxor. the hotel although it's very basic- more like 1 maximum 2 stars for European standards- it's very clean. for 2-3 hours sleep this is all I wanted. they offered us a packed breakfast, which is standard but without fruit being included. I paid 15 Euros which is definitely very expensive considering that I used the hotel for the Abu Simbel trip and I stayed only for 3 hours. another thing to bear in mind is that is very loud- the music from the next building and people's walks about do not stop until at least 0130 a.m.. at 0300 a.m. I had to leave the hotel, so I didn't get too much sleep that night.

something else to consider if people are traveling from Luxor and back to Aswan- the train strike whenever they want. I didn't have problems getting to Aswan but instead of arriving at 11 p.m. on the way back to Luxor I arrived at 0500 a.m.( left Aswan at 1945 hours) because of the strike. no prior warning and no help from tourist police. the train stopped at a very small train station that it's not even on a map, nobody either from the train station or tourist police answered in either Aswan or Luxor to send a bus for us, so lucky that locals arranged minibuses to take us to our destinations. it's not safe to travel either by bus ( a Chinese has been killed and 12 injured the day before I went to Abu Simbel trip on a road traffic accident- it has been believed that the driver was too fast and a tyre burst) or by train because of these incidents.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudiacgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
1.0 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
123 reviews
1.4 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keylany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keylany Hotel

Property: Keylany Hotel
Address: 25 Keylany Street, Aswan, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Keylany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your Keylany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keylany Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing