We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“basic hotel, very loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sara Hotel
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“basic hotel, very loud”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and the first night we had a room overlooking the pool. Unfortunately, the pool has a club that plays loud music until 2am, so we moved rooms the next night to the other side of the building, which was much quieter. Certainly ask for a room away from the pool if you mind noise at all. The hotel is basic, reasonably clean, but certainly showing signs of aging. The staff were very nice. They arranged train tickets and a tour of Abu Simbel for us, and moved our room with no complaints. The hotel is up a hill, which is easy enough to reach by taxi, but if you want to have dinner outside of the hotel, it is a bit of a journey. You would probably not want to walk. The views from the hotel are stunning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    26
    11
    13
    20
See reviews for
16
26
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

A friend and I stayed in march as part of a tour group. We are girls in our early 20s and felt male staff to be extremely inappropriate watching us while we were around the pool and taking pictures of us, then later finding their way to our room and asking if we needed anything. The hotel itself is very run down. Shower didn't work in our room, so we were given the key to another room to go and shower there, but they would not give us a room change? View of the Nile is nice, but does not make up for the downfalls. Hotel has potential with some rennovations and changes of staff.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussiebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Aswan hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Where do one start - bad reception, terrible rooms (they tried me in 3) - decor horrific old and torn, filthy bathrooms, unhelpful staff, waiter serving coffee in dirty cup and saucer and justifies it as the cups are old, no sweetener (diet sugar) no coke light or any other cold beverage for diabetics - a manager that tells me as an ex hotel(s) manager that he is running a 3 star establishment and that it could easily be a 4 star and still not even an offer to assist me, the guest with something to drink apart from a non alcoholic beer (terrible) - I just kept quiet as we are all entitled to our own bad tastes - it took me and the other fellow travellers 30 mins from arrival to departure! My suggestion - stay away! Pay NOT to go there! only good thing about it - the view!

Room Tip: Just please stay away! unless they do something drastic about the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JuanCL-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2013

Basic, bathroom door did not shut, tap dripped continually, door to room was a joke, however, the view was breath taking, clean, and basic, we actually found the problems hilarious (what ever next). You get what you pay for just make sure it's not $95 per night as stated on the door tariff. Did not eat there, and it's a little way out for the attractions you will need a taxi to get anywhere.We did stay an extra night here.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

the food was rubbish and the service was terrible. Mosquitos allover the place. The location is ugly apart from the nile view and the pool. The restaurant stuff were bad and rude. the air conditioning wasn't working and they didn't fix it. Don't you ever go there or you will regret it and if you go there just eat outside the ugly hotel restaurant.
The only positive thing is the wifi which was for free unlike other hotels in Egypt which have expensive wifi service but the signal was weak in some rooms

Room Tip: Choose the room with the full view on the nile and the pool on the second floor which starts from 20...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank middo1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Don't stay here unless you like loud music until 2am and mosquitoes in your room!!!
We stayed at this hotel on the night of December 28th, 2012. Our guide told us that it was a quiet hotel. We went to bed early because we had to get up early for a tour to Abu Simbel. We fought off mosquitoes for several hours, killing four before giving up the fight. Then we were awoken by extremely loud music. I was using earplugs but that made very little difference. We complained about the noise twice. But the music never stopped for very long. We got no sleep that night because we had to get up at 2:30am. Definitely the worst night I have spent in a hotel in my life. Our tour guide got us moved to the nearby Sunset Hotel, so we could sleep peacefully. It turns out that the Sara Hotel has a new cafe/club for locals open just beyond its pool area (about 50 meters from the hotel). The management said they have no control over how loud they play their music. Avoid!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank miss_winters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

The hotel is situated in the middle of a building site. The staff were surly and generally unhelpful when it can to finding change so that I could tip them!. The food was pretty poor and I think the handful of us on an expat explore trip were the only guests. Can't complain too much I suppose as the expat explore trips are very cheap and we were there for only one night. Would have been a bit narked if I'd been there any longer. Good view of the Nile but somewhat spoiled by the immediate neighbourhood. Out of town so nowhere to walk to.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnySpangles100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.4 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
1.3 mi away
Philae Hotel
Philae Hotel
#3 of 22 in Aswan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.0 mi away
Nubanile Hotel
Nubanile Hotel
#14 of 22 in Aswan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sara Hotel

Property: Sara Hotel
Address: El Fanadek Street, Aswan, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sara Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Sara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sara Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing