We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little boutique hotel”
Review of Philae Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Philae Hotel
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Aswan
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
184 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Fantastic little boutique hotel”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed at the Philae Hotel in Aswan for 2 nights in a recent trip to Egypt and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable with amazing views over the Nile. The hotel is in a great location, right in the heart of Aswan within easy reach of the Nile, the markets and the downtown area. We had breakfast at the hotel both days which was great, the free wifi was great and the staff were fantastic - friendly, helpful and always happy to help. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend the Philae Hotel if you're going to stay in aswan overnight - for us it was the best hotel we stayed in in Egypt.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    126
    24
    4
    6
See reviews for
55
120
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in the Philae Hotel and ran into a problem with our flight. The staff accomanied us to the Airline office, organised a taxi, and ! accompanied us to the airport, moreover Islam made sure, we did get seats on that plane. It was an amazing effort for his guests, and we are enormously grateful.
The hotel is spotless, very good value for money, right on the corniche overlooking Elephaniten island and the Nile. A beautiful view. Beds are very good, bathrooms new and clean. the breakfast is made fresh for every guest.

Room Tip: The rooms with Nile - View may be noisy in daytime but during the night, the street calms down, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We were there in a group of 3 visiting Abu Simbel and a pit stop for an overnight stay landed us at Philae Hotel Aswan. Conveniently located and most of all, clean and nicely furnished. Most off all the beds came with comfy duvets, not those wooly blankets. Nesma and Yasmin are ever so friendly and courteuos and made our stay more enjoyable. I would certainly recommend those who are stopping by in Aswan to check them out. We stayed in a family room and it was big enough to accomodate us 3 adults. In the morning of our trip to Abu Simbel, they prepared us breakfast boxes for our pre-dawn trip.

Room Tip: Try the ones not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndz262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria Governorate, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Clean room. Clean bathrooms. Freindly faces. great service. Amazing pizza. Excellent location.
I am happy with every pound I have spent there.
I was in my honeymoon and we are treated like 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagedMorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nice family run hotel with a professional service. Owner is very friendly. Cool refurbished entrance and rooms, there is no elevator but long halls of rooms with a unique arabesque design. Nice location in the middle of the city so everything is just a nice walk away, nice opposite so you can just hope on a boat. Market/souq very close to visit.
I encourage to eat out and explore the picturesque nile city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaAbuElDahab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I don't often write reviews, but I have not forgotten the fantastic Philae hotel in Aswan and believe it deserves a review since when researching Aswan accommodation I was fairly disappointed at almost everything I read about the options. We are a family of five, with very young children (at the time of our stay aged 5, 4 and 2), and Aswan was our last stop after a 5 day Nile cruise in April 2013.
From the outside, the hotel looks large and bland (as do many, if all in Aswan), and dusty! But inside it is very clean. We had booked 2 rooms online as they did not have one 'family' room big enough or two adjoining rooms. With children the ages of ours, hotels are always a bit problematic, but we had booked two rooms and on arrival the hotel manager immediately 'upgraded ' is to the ?presidential? suite plus the next door double room. This amounted to one very spacious and comfortable double room with and adjacent living room with TV and kitchen diner. This proved invaluable for us in terms of entertaining the children but also allowed for a late room service dinner (very good) pre-ordered before a night visit to the sound and light show at Philae and served on our return.
The breakfast was magnificent with lots of choice for the children. The staff were all very nice. And we had (small) balconies looking over the Nile for a beer with a view, once the kids were in bed.
The price for all this? About $150. Really very good quality and comfort for that price. I'm so glad we didn't splash out for rooms at the Old Cataract, which looked none too special anyway (unless you need a sauna).
The other great advantage of this hotel is that it's on the main drag, so you can pop out and trail the streets / visit a restaurant on the Nile without any need for a taxi etc.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A balcony looking over the Nile is worth the small premium. If you have kids, ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KZLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Took the train from Luxor to Aswan. It was about a 10 minute ride from the train station to the hotel. The manager was very nice. The rooms were ok. We had a Nile view although it was partially blocked by a ferry docked on the Nile. There were no complimentary toiletries in the bathroom and the towels were beyond worn. Not great water pressure while attempting to take a shower with a nozzle. We had dinner in the small hotel restaurant. During the meal preparation the hotel lost electricity (Not specific to the hotel because the lights were off as far as you could see. I asked the manager how could the meal be prepared without electricity and he said not to worry they had other options. The meal tasted good but the next day my son became very ill with diarrhea and vomiting. We were on our way to another destination. We finally got there and our driver immediately took us to a pharmacy where we could get medication for our son.

While in Aswan we attempted to go to the market which was less than a block from the hotel but we were haggled too much so we had to go back to the hotel. It was unfortunate because we wanted to make some purchases but it was impossible. We had been all over Egypt and was able to overcome this but it was a bit too much in Aswan.

The Philae temple was not too far so we took the boat out to visit this site. This was very nice? Also, our driver picked us up at 3:30 in the morning and we joined the convoy on a trip to Abu Simbel. That was very nice as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MNJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aswan hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Legend Old Cataract Aswan
0.9 mi away
Basma Hotel
Basma Hotel
#6 of 22 in Aswan
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pyramisa Isis Corniche Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Keylany Hotel
Keylany Hotel
#7 of 22 in Aswan
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Happi Hotel
Happi Hotel
#8 of 22 in Aswan
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Helnan Aswan Hotel
Helnan Aswan Hotel
#5 of 22 in Aswan
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philae Hotel

Property: Philae Hotel
Address: 79 Cornich el Nile, Aswan, Egypt
Phone Number:
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Aswan Governorate > Aswan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aswan
#3 Family Hotel in Aswan
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aswan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Philae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Philae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philae Hotel Aswan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing