We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dodgy, Shoddy, Inhospitable”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of New Everest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Everest Hotel
Ranked #9 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Luxor
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dodgy, Shoddy, Inhospitable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's cheap, so I wasn't too put off by the weak AC and the fridge that didn't cool, though if you provide those I feel they should work. I was a little put off when the shower did not drain and thus I had less than two minutes before the shallow floor basin filled, but this too can be fixed. Their associate who brought me there, a tout but one with whom they are very comfortable, lied about many things, which is not terribly surprising, but the management deferred any responsibility. Instead, that morning, when I looked less than pleased they said I stayed in a 3 star hotel in Aswan, which they used to explain away my standards of working plumbing.

But what put me off to the point that I moved was the way they received a friend. He and I shared a tour my first morning in town and he was eager to change hotels, as someone at his hotel stole 200 Euros from his room (to be clear - the theft was not at New Everest). When he shared this story the ever-present tout reported that others had been robbed at the same hotel, but the manager of New Everest immediately became cold and expressed doubt that my friend had been robbed. Instead of greeting him as an opportunity to have a second guest, for I was the only one, he treated my friend as a risk and made it clear he was not welcome at New Everest. I left immediately. If that is how the treat a traveler who has been wronged, then it is only a matter of time before the other shoe drops on me.

Just down the road we were welcomed into Bob Marley for the same price with friendly and hospitable staff in superior facilities – but I'll save that for my post on them.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    9
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
10
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

The New Everest is a great budget hotel right in the centre of Luxor, within a minute's walk from the train station. The staff here is excellent: we were picked up from the station at a very unsocial hour, given great recommendations for tours and what to see (Aladin's tour of the West Bank was excellent and great value for money!), and the breakfast was brilliant. The building isn't in great shape, but this is more than made up for by the helpfulness of the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poland
Level Contributor
119 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Location of the hotel is very good, close to the city center and Karnak, few steps from train station, close to the market. Staff was very efficient and friendly. Room was somewhat small, and without windows, but very clean according to egyptian standards. No bedbugs or other bugs. It's very vise choice if you look for cheap accomodation in Luxor, I'd stay there once again without any doubt.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DashPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Stayed here for three nights. By budget Egypt standards it was OK, nothing particularly nice or grim about the place. Staff were OK once they gave up on the hassling trying to sell tours. Most remarkable thing was that I saw a weasel in the ally outside the front door.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wotchit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

this place gives u the best value for money. very nice people. very interactive, cheap internet free tv and nice breakfast, clean rooms and v v friendly staff or shud i say friends! i wud recomend it to anyone travelling on a tight budget. dont look anywhere else. head straight for this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikhil_funkymale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

I am a single parent (mom) traveller. I spent a month backpacking around the Middle East with my 9 year old daughter. We just got back a week and a half ago.

For our time in Luxor, which was short, we stayed at this hostel. the owner, gaber, corresponded with us before we arrived, and arranged an inexpensive taxi to pick us up at the airport. As it turns out, he came with the taxi, helped with bags, and was so accomodating in helping us feel welcome. He pointed places out along the way, and made sure we knew where the key places were for when we settled in.

Upon arrival, he sent his younger brother out to get us a complimentary cold drink, and showed us to our room. We booked a private double with A/C. Sooo glad we had the A/C in the intense summer temperatures. The beds were fine, and there was lots of room to store our stuff.

Gaber was very helpful in helping me arrange the early morning hot Air Balloon trip and a day trip to the valley of the Kings & Queens, etc. since we only had 48 hours to pack aa lot of stuff in. He also arranged a sunset felucca for the first night for us, and helped us get to Karnak by horse after we arrived...all of the arrangements and prices were very reasonable compared to what i had found ahead of time and read on previous reports.

There was a nice breakfast available each morning..eggs cooked to order, bread, cheese, coffee/tea, etc. Wake up calls (actually a knock on the door) were available for our super early start on the second day for our balloon ride (we had to leave the hostel at 4 a.m.).

Anything we asked about, the staff were available to answer. Really great hostel, and I felt absolutely safe being there with my young daughter.

I know we will visit again to see the rest of Luxor that we missed!!

FYI - there is free WIFI available in the common area, and also a computer if you don't have your own wifi device.

Lastly, there is a really great rooftop to chillax on, albeit, too hot during the day, and better at night!!

Thanks to you Gaber for making our time in Luxor so great!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coraclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

It is nothing particularly special, the rooms are average but it is in a very good location 2 minutes next to the Luxor train station, as well as a 10 minute walk to the Luxor temple. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful. The most exceptional thing is its price, it is so cheap that if you are just looking for a place to crash without any extras then stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at00018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.0 mi away
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
Pyramids Luxor Hotel
#12 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Set Hotel
#40 of 54 in Luxor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Al Hambra Hotel
Al Hambra Hotel
#21 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.5 mi away
Al Moudira Hotel
Al Moudira Hotel
#13 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Everest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Everest Hotel

Property: New Everest Hotel
Address: Train Station St | Mahat St, Luxor 1456, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Everest Hostel is located on Station Street, a minute's walk from the train station and a two minute walk to the ancient and famous Luxor temple. The New Everest Hostel has clean rooms, most with ensuite bathrooms and balconies. most rooms have air-conditioning but all fans. Our rooftop terrace offers a dazzling view of Luxor's skyline, perfect for a soda or beer and chilling out. High-speed internet available. (Free) Very friendly and knowledgeable staff will greet you and make your stay memorable. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing