We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst trip ever”
Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara House
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst trip ever”
Reviewed 22 August 2009

hello my name is hillery hoey.i went to stay at mara house in july 2009and it was the worst place every.it had no hot water the food was cold and the staff were very unfriendly and i found a spider in my ben deadley that is all from me for now bye!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank pussDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    53
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
88
161
70
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

When we first arrived at Mara House we were immediately put off by the slightly asymmetrical pattern in the reception area. But apart from that we couldn’t fault our stay with Mara. The place is away from the main tourist area so our taxi driver had some trouble finding it, but once you know where it is it’s easy enough to direct other drivers. The walk to the Nile isn’t too bad, but taxis are cheap as chips and Mara has good drivers she can call if you don’t feel like walking. The rooms/suites are nice and large with plenty of extra space. Since we were there in the quiet season we got 2 suites between 5 people. Each suite has a large living area/kitchen, bathroom and 3 bedrooms. There was far more space than we could possibly use. The hot water came on quickly which isn’t that common in Egypt. The shower is located in front of the toilet so it gets wet after a shower, but it’s not really an issue and there’s an extra toilet in the bar you can use. The air-con works well, albeit a bit rattly. Mara was a great host and she always had plenty of stories to tell us, we could’ve sat around talking for hours. The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. Mara gave us lots of advice on what to see, do and eat while we were there and we had a great time. We booked our tours with her, and our guide Ali who was well versed in ancient Egyptian history taught us a lot. I’m not sure how the prices compare to other companies, but we got a private car and good guide for the whole day who doesn’t take you on those dreaded ‘shopping trips’.

So in summary, we very much enjoyed our stay at Mara House and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mannnnndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

You won't be disappointed by Mara House. My husband and I based our exploration of Luxor here. The rooms are large and elegantly decorated, and Mara is a fantastic host!
It is located a little out of central Luxor, but it is only a 10-15 min walk into town, and quite a nice walk through a local area. We actually preferred staying a bit out of town, as the centre is pretty chaotic, and taxi fares are so cheap you can always get a taxi back at night. It is also possible to book trips to various sites which are good value, and Mara provides a nice packed lunch. Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MelbourneTraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Travel would be unbelievable if everywhere was like Mara's. Imagine a MARA house in every city and town you visited?
Stayed at MARA's 3 nights June 2009, and we must say we echo the hundreds of positive comments on Tripadvisor.
Room the biggest you'll ever find.
Bed the most comfortable.
Cleanliness impeccable.
Everyone friendly and helpful beyond our expectations.
Mara's great advice on tours and what to see, and the great Egyptologist DR HADY who was our guide, and the driver Mahoud made our touring memorable.
Thankyou MARA you fully deserve the NUMBER ONE title.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike Woodbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

After an absolutely horrid time in Cairo, I spent 4 days in Luxor at Mara's. The service I (my group of 4, that is) received was simply unprecedented.

First, I will start with the fact that Mara opened her doors for us as soon as we arrived in Luxor at 08:00. If you have done much traveling, you know what a pain it is to arrive that early only to wait until 11:30 to check in. We were taken care of 100% from the first minute we walked into the door. We were able to book all of the trips we wanted to do through Mara, at a MUCH lower rate than what competitors were offering online. My group did the West Bank tour and the Abydos tour. To make things even more of a treat, Mara took us on the Abydos tour herself! What a fountain of knowledge this woman is!

If you are looking for a comfortable place to hang your hat for a while, I highly recommend Mara House. From helping a sick member of the group with medicine to sitting up at night, drinking beer at the front desk sharing stories, Mara made us all feel right at home.

The rooms were spotless with very modern decor and working utilities, which is more than I can say about the 4 star hotel in Cairo I visited... As a special treat, Mara opened the restaurant for our first evening (they normally close in the summer.) Our group of 4 was joined by a British couple that had booked their Luxor trips through Mara. We were all exhausted by the time we were brought out the final course of the meal. Every single item on the menu was simply superb!

Maybe it does not matter to some, but the availability of alcohol meant a lot to me as well :) Mara has a full stocked cooler of Stella and a bar with the main brand spirits as well. Some are not that big of drinkers, but I found it very difficult to find a decent hotel that actually had alcohol.

I am currently writing this review from the Hilton in Alexandria (btw, we would never have made it to Alexandria without Mara's helping us arrange last minute tickets after previous plans fell through) and each and every one of us is missing the comfort of home that Mara provided.

The hug as we were leaving was the ultimate kicker. Where else do you get such friendly service? If you want impersonal staff and melancholy service, you might want to look elsewhere, but if you want to feel like you truly belong where you are staying and have intelligent conversations with all of the staff and guests, I can do nothing more than HIGHLY recommend Mara House to anyone traveling to Luxor!

Michael

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mijkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Clean, quiet, and friendly are important attributes in Luxor. Mara House feels like a B&B. It is located about 10 minutes walk from the train station in a quiet neighborhood. It was nice to show up without day plans and simply join up with whatever small tours were going out that week. We took two tours with Hady, who is both informative and entertaining. I highly recommend going to Abydos/Dendara with him to see temples in a good state of preservation. Mara has good advice on prices and independent sight-seeing as well. Luxor and Karnac temples are a short taxi ride away. Since touts are everywhere, you need to know in advance what to expect to pay and what all the scams are. (If anyone asks you, "Where are you from?", you can bet that person is a tout.)

Be aware that the rooms do not have phone or TV and that internet is available only via the "office" computer on the first floor (and in nearby internet cafes). This was not a problem for us and we were always able to use the internet when we needed to but if you plan to use it a lot, this could be a concern. Showers without shower curtains surprised us at first, but we quickly adjusted.

So unless you are looking for a hotel with all amenities right in the middle of the hustle and bustle, Mara House is a great value. Friendly staff, trustworthy advice, good tours on offer.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2009

I spent a couple of nights at Mara's at the beginning of May and, to reiterate the other reviews, it was absolutely lovely! Mara swiftly responded to any queries, via email, before our arrival. She happily arranged for someone to pick us up from the airport and greeted us with complimentary welcome drinks (and her enthusiasm for ancient Egyptian history!)
I'd booked a twin room, which actually turned out to be a beautifully decorated apartment with three bedrooms! The first night we enjoyed a wide range of Egyptian dishes, having a fantastic three course meal (organised by Mara's son, Stephen) at the onsite Salahadeen restaurant.
We arranged a reasonably priced, West Bank tour through Mara. Yousseri was our driver and provided us with pleasant conversation and local knowledge.
Overall, Mara and her family were very hospitable and genuinely helpful (recommending a good local restaurant when we were craving Indian food). We particularly appreciated this when we'd experienced other people in Luxor trying to rip us off.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcadefire84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Property: Mara House
Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing