We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable hotel”
Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara House
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 December 2009

Clean comfortable place to stay in a residential neighborhood. It is was exactly as she describes in her website. We also took the west bank tour. It is worth it since there is a lot of sites and it is best done through a guided tour and our guide was really nice too. We did Luxor and Karnak temple on our own. Stephen was really helpful in terms of giving us tips about places to eat and how to get around town.

I was also really happy to have a glimpse of the real life in Egypt away from the tourist sites since it is located in a residential neighborhood.Highly recommend this place if you are on the look out for clean comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l0vetotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2009

Mara House is the perfect spot for travelers who are interested in seeing sites and are not concerned with night life. It is run by Mara and her family and is the perfect spot to come home to after a long day of sightseeing in and around Luxor. I went with a group of 5 had two spacious rooms, breakfast included and Mara was very helpful in hiring drivers for the day to take us around to local temples and tombs. The restaurant that is attached to the hotel has delicious food cooked fresh with local ingredients. Lots of vegetarian options on the menu as well.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whitj7583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

Every positive review on Trip Advisor about Mara House is true !
We made our choice of hotel in Luxor based purely on the Trip Advisor's glowing praise but were skeptical that some reviews may have been planted as surely no establishment in Egypt is that good. 'Too good to be true' was the thought foremost in my mind.

Things started well when our arranged transfer was actually waiting for us at the airport - a rarity in Egypt we had discovered. We were greeted warmly by Mara and, as time was of the essence, a 'greatest hits of Luxor' package was quickly formulated for us, driver arranged and we were off to the Valley of the Kings. We found her guidance, wisdom and advice invaluable which made our sightseeing a real pleasure. Luxor is the hassle capital of Egypt and quite possibly the world - so it is a godsend to have someone on your side advising on traps to avoid, prices and the like. You can easily develop a seige mentality in Egypt that dimishes the enjoyment of why you are there.

Rooms have air-con and are very spacious complete with pleasant tasteful décor. The only downside was the shower is the open type (screenless / wetfloor) - although my partner loved this as she gets water all over the floor anyway - this time it was legitimate. We also managed to get some rays in the rooftop garden which is a great place for a few beers after a hard day sightseeing.

The location is not the greatest but this should pose no real problems as a taxi can be arranged for only a few dollars. Be sure to not leave the hotel without the address written down in Arabic and/or a map as we found a lot of the Luxor taxi drivers had never heard of it and all the streets looked very similar to any us new arrivals.

The highlight of our stay was most definitely the sumptuous food served in the gorgeous restaurant - overseen by Mara's son Steve - it was the best meal we ate in Egypt. The tasting menu is similar to Greek/Turkish meze's and was truly superb. First class.

I highly recommend Mara House and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robocopms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

This place is great! I booked it based on the positive reviews that Iread without realizing that it really is off the beaten path - which is a wonderful thing. Mara and her staff are the best in Egypt & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone - unless you 1) are not in good walking shape, or 2) get uncomfortable outside the tourism bubble. Yes - getting to town means walking past real Egyptian homes and kids playing football/soccer in the street, but the locals are friendly and the break from the tourism touts is wonderful. For the price of a room, I get a 4 room suite and the "tasting" dinner offered one or two nights a week is spectacular.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paul2earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

Some very nice things about this place but also drawbacks, particularly the bathroom..

good - room simple but charming, Mara very helpful and friendly, restaurant beautiful and food spectacular, one of the best meals in egypt

not good - bathroom, just a shower handle on a wall with almost no water pressure and ran out of hot water. It was no better than places I stayed in asia for $7 a night. I expect a regular bathroom when it cost almost $100 a night. Also there was no shampoo & conditioner which again is expected in a room for that price. No T.V. or bedside table & reading light either.

Breakfast was pretty average. Location is far from everything and the rates for taxis seemed higher than minimal bargaining on the street.

Despite the drawback of the bathroom, I would stay again for the other charming aspects and the good restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We only stayed two nights and we should have stayed 2 months!
Mara House may be labelled as a B&B, but it is so much more : the restaurant certainly merits its excellent reputation, it's delicious, authentic and the decor is fantastic. The rooms are also very nicely decorated and extremely clean, so is the bathroom. We had booked a room and we ended up with an appartment....2 other rooms, a kitchen, a loungeroom and a bathroom,plus a balcony, it would have been perfect if we had come with our kids + boy-friends and girl-friends!!! It is certainly NOT a backpackers' hostel, it's really a boutique hotel.
The atmosphere is very familial yet the service is prompt and discreet. Mara is a wonderful woman, a true character and most travelers would be well advised to listen to her experienced views on Egypt, ancient and present.
The tours she organised for us were very interesting and free of the usual shopping stops.
We will go back and we recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPhilMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2009

4 woman traveling throughout Egypt and Jordan. We had a 3 bedroom apartment. I had the interior room so it offered very little light and I could not keep the small window open because of the noise of the AC in the adjoining room. No way to really use the kitchen other than the fridge as there is no microwave or cooktop. The bathroom is the biggest hassle as the shower is in the middle of the room so the water goes everywhere. You're suppose to wear flip flops so you don't slip on the tile....good luck with that! There is a squeegee to try and get the water down the drain but it was broken.
One of our party's expensive shirt was ruined with the iron, Mara did pay for it which was nice. We felt the guides were very pricey at $100 per day per person and would not do that again or recommend it. We really got templed out by the end. Mara who is from Ireland is interesting and helpful, really the best thing about this place as the location is out of the way requiring a taxi or very long walk. I would recommend the Karnak sound and light show, The Oasis Restaurant and if we had more time the Museum.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RanchoSolYMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maraegypt, Owner Manager at Mara House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2009

Mara House offers 2 tours to guests - one to Abydos/Dendera and one to West Bank (which takes in the 5 major sites). Each of these tours costs 450 LE per person which at todays rate is US$85. The price includes the guide, the transport, the tickets. In the case of Abydos/Dendera it also includes the travel permit and a packed lunch. We have never offered the service of a guide alone to any guest for any thing near US$100 per person - it would indeed be exhorbitant!
Our suites contain kitchenettes which are not included in the package offered to guests and are so are never offered as functional.
Our bathrooms are wetrooms and are described as such in our terms and conditions and so should not come as a surprise to any guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
905 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#13 of 54 in Luxor
912 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#15 of 54 in Luxor
130 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#12 of 54 in Luxor
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £19 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing