We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Comfort in Luxor”
Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara House
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2010

My stay in Mara House was everything i expected it to be. The owner and her staff were always helpful, professional and easy to approah for local information tips. They made me feel very welcome from the moment i arrived. The Guest House itself was the lap of luxoury,imaculately clean with all the mod cons. It is perfectly located near the centre of Luxor, only a 5 minutes walk, yet after a busy day of sight seeing it was just far enough away to have a peaceful nights sleep away from all the hussle and bussle. The only thing missing from this review is my two thumbs up which i give whole heartedly. I will recommend Mara House to all my family and friends who wish to visit Egypt.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaHarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2010

Our stay at Mara's was wonderful (nicest in Egypt)
Mara is a charming person. You realy feel safe because she knows what to do/ not to do, where to go, eat etc.
M. organises interesting trips, helps you with everything!
The rooms are as in a fairy tale.
In Mara's House you don't have to worry about tips which is quite comfortable.

As there is no restaurant anymore, a good breakfast is served in your room (any time you like) and a delicious dinner (15 Egyptian dishes) can be served in your room aswel.

Tjardi + Mary Hoeksema, Holland

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

This somewhat out-of-the-way B&B won't suit everyone, but if you want to get a taste of the real Luxor and get away from the hassles, do go to Mara House. The hospitality and service are excellent; breakfast is good, and the rooms are well equipped. Mara promises - and delivers - a baksheesh-free zone and it was nice to be able to walk around the local area with minimal hassles. You get a very different perspective on Luxor by staying at Mara House, than what you would if you were only seeing the big resort hotels along the Nile Corniche.

A couple of small criticisms - the front bedroom was very noisy as the windows didn't seal properly (the bedrooms away from the street front were okay); the toilet seat didn't fit properly; there didn't seem to be any air conditioning in our suite so you might want to watch out for that during hotter months; and it would have been nice to have some more comfy seating in the lounge/dining room.

On the whole, though, I would recommend this to other families and say that it represents good value for Luxor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mumontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2010

the bathroom could have been better e.g. shower curtains

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjoukjeApeldoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

This hotel is positively the best place to stay in all of Luxor. The rooms are quiet, clean as a pin, and more spacious than any other hotel room I have ever stayed in -- and at such a reasonable price -- and within easy walking distance, through a very pleasant residentail district, to Luxor Temple and the Corniche. Mara herself sets a tone of warmth and friendliness that encourages her guests to socialize with one another. There were four of us in our party, and one night we needed a table for 10 in the dining room. Mara arranged for transportation to local as well as for more distant sites for us -- nothing is ever impossible for her. I told her if she would open a Mara's in Cairo, I would go to Cairo on my next trip. The most recent news I have heard is that the hotel is due to open soon -- Mara, we're planning that trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sojourner1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

I found the location of the hotel is a bit odd including the surrounding area. If you want to feel the everyday life of Egypt, that would be the best place to stay. The hotel also offered local dish dinner which was a great opportunity for us since we couldn't find any local restaurants we could feel it's safe in hygene-wise and security-wise.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hozumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed two nights at Mara House in Luxor and were very happy we did not choose the five star hotel area along the Nile which is very very touristy. If you would like to experience the "Egyptian neighborhood" you are right here - otherwise you should chosse the hotel area. During those two days we could get a short and interesting insight into the city of Luxor and its sights.

Mara helps out in any questions you have - especially if it is your first time to Egypt, the help is very useful (prices, tipping advices, behaviour in general...). We organized our tours and airport transfer with Mara and always felt very comfortable with the drivers or tour guide.

Eating dinner at Mara's is also a MUST!

Thanks for the great time!
Marijana & Thomas

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
891 reviews
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#10 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range: £19 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing