We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and w/a nice breakfast”
Review of Mara House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mara House
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
240 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Quaint and w/a nice breakfast”
Reviewed 31 March 2010

I really enjoyed the quaintness of Mara House. Mara provides a wealth of information for her guests. Information like what you should pay for a cab ride as well as advice on tipping. The breakfast had a wonderful presentation and was quite filling.

The only thing that was a bit much was that my suite was on the street side and at times it was quite noisy; the call to prayer can clearly be heard as well as the noise in neighboring rooms. I still managed to get plenty of sleep. My friends who were in another room (where the bedroom was not on the street side) said that the noise factor was not a big issue for them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim-ohradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    54
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
163
70
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

A great place to stay away from the more touristy parts of town but within walking distance of the key attractions. Mara goes out of her way to ensure your trip is enjoyable with advice on what to see, where to eat and shop, orgamising tours, taxis - you name it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johncats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We enjoyed our stay very much, Mara as everyone says is friendly and willing to share useful information. The staff were friendly and helpful. We loved the short walk into town and our teenage boys went down and played soccer with the local children in the street which was a highlight for them. We felt so comfortable staying there, the apartment was perfect for us, two families with teenagers. The boys wanted to play cards at night and sure enough Mara had a pack of cards for them to play with. I couldnt fault the hospitality. Breakfast was great, a nice assortment of bread, fruit and boiled eggs juice tea and coffee. Mara has thought of everything you may need or want for a stay, it just made it all so easy. Mara loves to talk and it was great to sit and have a chat with her. If you are thinking of staying there, dont hesitate, it will make your trip.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsaParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

As with other travellers I had a wonderful stay here. It has spotlessly clean large rooms and very helpful staff led by Mara herself. The tours are well organised and good value. If you are looking for a good mid range hotel away from the main Luxor hassles this is an excellent option. I would definitley stay there again.

The location is in a quiet side street with no traffic noise although as with everywhere in Luxor the obligatory local mosque ensure an early alarm call. The hotel is 5 mins walk on the far side of the station but that was a trade off I was happy to make for the hotel quality and being away from the main tourist hassles.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odysseus101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsica-Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

From the entry to the bathrooms everything is scrubbed, maintained and pretty. The decor is charmingly authentic and the tranquil atmosphere was a welcome relief to the chaos that is Egypt. The beds and pillows were comfortable, we all slept well and woke to the sound of birds singing in the morning. Breakfast was a big tray loaded with choices: fresh fruit salad, boiled eggs, breads, cheeses, jams, hot coffee and tea, served in our suite while sunlight flooded in through the doors to the balcony...a real Kodak moment.
Mara was ever present and helpful with advice on where to go, how to get there, how much it should cost. I had to change our reservations a couple of times while I was planning our trip, Mara always communicated promptly with "No problem". She was sensitive to our needs regarding the overnight train which arrives early and leaves late, offering wash up facilities when we needed them. I should mention the rate: it's the best quality/value I found for our entire trip, it made me feel pretty smart!
Travel can be hard but at Mara House it felt like a real VACATION. Mara runs the place with confidence and competence, it was my favorite stay in Egypt (which included the big deal Cecil Sofitel in Alexandria). Mara House is a special place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sketchbook2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

After getting lost, we finally found Mara House and at first we were a little worried about the location, as we'd been driving around trying to find it. But once inside, we fell in love with the place.
The rooms are like a small apartment and very nicely and tastefully decorated.
Mara herself is wonderful and will go out of her way to make you feel welcome.
In Egypt I had felt that I was missing part of the 'real Egypt' experience and one thing about the location, is that you will definitely get to experience the culture and people of Egypt as they really are and not from a bus or a resort. I really liked that about it, but others may not.
We also took a tour through Mara House that we really enjoyed also. The guide was very informative and the driver, fun.
Mara House isn't actually too far at all to Luxor temple and the restaurants and souk along the Corniche.
But if you do get a chance and it is offered, eat in! the food prepared is excellent and probably some of the best food you will eat in all of Egypt.
The mini bar was well stocked and very well priced. The wines also were good!
The staff were excellent - really there is nothing to fault.
I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayemtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Mara's house is a wonderful choice if you are staying in Luxor. We stayed in a 3 bedroom family suite. It was very spacious. We booked two tours through Mara: West Bank Tour and Abydos and Dendera. Both were very good and reasonably priced. We also enjoyed our meal provided by the kitchen at Mara's. Authentic Egyptian meal for a great price. We walked to Luxor from Mara's. The neighborhood may seem unsafe, it is not. People are very friendly and we really enjoyed seeing a local neighborhood. Don't miss the real Luxor market. Cross the street at the end of the tourist market and you will enter the daily life of an Egyptian. The horse carriages do go through it, but walking it is much better and SAFE. Fascinating! In Cairo we stayed in one of the big chain hotels. It was nice but we didn't feel like we were in Egypt. Stay at Mara's, you'll know your in Egypt!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethworkstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
0.8 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
875 reviews
1.3 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
0.8 mi away
Pavillon Winter Luxor
1.6 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#14 of 54 in Luxor
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara House

Property: Mara House
Address: Salah Al Din Al Ayoubi | Luxor, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxor
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mara House is an Irish owned boutique hotel catering to the tastes of independent travellers who want to be sure they experience the best of Egypt. Mara House can only be booked directly via email to Mara. We help with sightseeing and itinerary planning for all of Egypt and steer our guests clear of tourist traps and pitfalls. Holidays are so important to us all and great holiday memories make such a difference to our lives - Mara ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mara House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara House Hotel Luxor
Mara Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing