We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expired Yogurt for Breakfast”
Review of Susanna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Susanna Hotel
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Overpriced, since they charge you extra for the internet connection and breakfast is really poor, considering that they also served expired yogurt and when we pointed it out they tried to convince us that in Egypt yogurt does not expire at all (or maybe it does, 40 days after the date indicated on the package, as I was literally told by one of the waiters).
The location of this hotel is great, the rooms are nice and the staff can be very friendly, but for the price they charge their service does not live up to expectation. Moreover, they offer tours around the local archaeological sites but their prices are very expensive. Unexperienced travellers may not know, but you can get far better deals with other hotels and travel companies.
To conclude, I was not impressed with my experience at this hotel and I never got to eat my breakfast yogurt, since they refused to give me an un-expired one.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MisSpectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

• Toilet - Drainage problems barely acceptable hygiene
• Beds – average and pillows/bedding were inappropriate.
• Noisy – street noise and reception played music ridiculously loud in the wee hours of the morning
• Rooms - Small and cramped furniture outlay was not ergonomical
• Breakfast – Breakfast predetermined by staff. Very basic of a standard quality.
• Internet can only be used on the reception floor and expensive
• Will definitely never go back – Reconsider your need to stay at this hotel
• Location – Part of the city that was extremely central to the Souq and the Cornish however, it is an extremely noisy area where u will be haggled the minute you leave the hotel entrance

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fathiamatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed here for three days during our trip, it was very economical with excellent price/performance ratio. It is located very close to Luxor temple and Avenue of Sphinxes, and at a convenient location to visit other places of interest. Roof top restaurant was amazing not only it served wonderful food also provided mesmerizing views during sunset and night, you get far reaching views and eating here is truly majestic. Lovely place with quality staff and lots of options to shop and eat around made our stay very enjoyable. Wi-Fi was available for free at the reception, rooms were pretty comfortable and clean with cozy bed and other amenities like TV, Air-con, robes etc along with comfy furniture. Bathroom was also very neat and clean with sufficient space below shower. Within this range I bet it is almost impossible to find a better place in Luxor, certainly recommendable and we will return here next time for sure.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a G Adventures trip. The location is great, walkable to Luxor Temple, MacDonalds and other tourist areas of Luxor. Service and room is good. No complaints.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Stayed for 4 nights with my wife in late Feb early March. Nice little hotel. Not very busy. The location is good with a nice view of Luxor temple. Short 5 minute walk to Mcdonalds if thats your sort of thing. entrence to luxor temple across the street. We used the restaurant for dinner twice when we didn't feeling like going out and they have a pretty good pasta for 33 LE each. They don't get much business in the restaurant but they try, service is good, and like i said if you don't have the energy to go out it's not bad at all. There is wifi in the lobby they let us use for free which was convienient to keep in touch back home with the iphone and not have to pay anything. The rooms are a bit musty so maybe bring a scented candle. Overall it was good for the price and i would recommend for budget travellers or anyone who is taking a lot of day trips and don't need a super fancy room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank max_tripz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Lovely little hotel with marvellous views of Avenue of Sphinxes and Luxor temple - just outside the window! Lovely rooftop dining room with similar far-reaching views right to Valley of the Kings, especially magical at sunset. Breakfast good (not buffet, though), service excellent and staff most polite and helpful. Room clean and beds comfy, bathroom good. Cheap prices. Street a bit noisy until late. Only downside was one evening meal: very good value but uninspiring. Be prepared to be hassled on the street outside for taxi or horse+carriage rides (beware of the latter as they offer a cheap price then demand more before you get out)

Room Tip: If you have difficulty sleeping ask for a back room: problem is that you won't have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank uptonlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This hotel was great. Clean room and spotless bath room with a full sized bath. We booked a room on the 4th floor and we paid $45USD. The view from the balcony was amazing. The staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We booked a guide and a tour from them which was reasonbly priced. Internet in the lobby for a small fee. We had lunch in the rooftop restaurant which was very nice. There was very little hassle around this hotel. There is a market right next door with vendors desperate for a sale. There is a pharmacy close by. We walked a long way and found many interesting things to see around the hotel.. I would have no problems to stay here again....

Room Tip: The Fouth floor was recommended to us by the hotel and we were not disapointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beezely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.1 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
907 reviews
1.4 mi away
El Mesala Hotel
El Mesala Hotel
#16 of 54 in Luxor
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#15 of 54 in Luxor
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Set Hotel
#38 of 54 in Luxor
14 reviews
2.1 mi away
Saint Joseph Hotel
Saint Joseph Hotel
#30 of 54 in Luxor
269 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#20 of 54 in Luxor
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Susanna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Susanna Hotel

Address: 52, Mabad El Karnak, Luxor 002095, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 54 Hotels in Luxor
Price Range: £20 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Susanna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Susanna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Susanna Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing