We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel of my whole Egypt trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bob Marley House Hostel
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this review after backpacking around Egypt for two months. It's my only review because I think this hostel really deserves it.

I stayed at a dorm. The room with fan and AC, sheets and towels were clean. A very well balanced breakfast was included and it was possible to buy water and other drinks for street prices. The reception area and the rooftop were nice places to hang out with others.

The owners were very friendly and helpful with every question I had about the sights an tours. They even provided me a guidebook and a backpack for my day trips. It seems that they actually care about their guest. The staff, especially Tarek, was very helpful - thanks guys!

The tours they offer are affordable and as good as any others.

Over all it was a very relaxed and familiar stay. If I visit Luxor once more, I will definitely stay at this hostel again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank LeToeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent value for money, friendly staff, great breakfast, decent wifi and good atmosphere. No complaints. I'll stay there again when I go to Luxor! I stayed for 5 nights. They also offer tours at reasonable prices. Best budget option in Luxor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AlbertRetief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I extended my stay and overall everything was fine. I get the idea that different guests get treated differently at this guesthouse depending on factors. At the beginning a staff member was a bit too friendly and helpful to me. I probably should have nipped it in the bud but he was so persistent. One day I found him at the door of other female guests trying the same things on, like presenting them with small gifts etc and chasing around after them. His English was not so good so it became an awkward situation for me, and he was at me all day on his own theme narrative. I think that he was just after a huge lump sum of money as a tip at the end of my stay. I did not give it to him as I did not think that he should do this stuff to female travelers which he knows little about. The owners are good hosts and provide a nice atmosphere. The smoking in the reception area was a bit hard for me. All in all a good stay and mostly fond memories. I would come again, but the staff member issue was a bit embarrassing. I hope that it gets resolved in time.

Room Tip: Top floor street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayadeviCochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

When i arrived from Aswan the staff from the hostel where welcoming me on a great way! They offered me directly a breakfast and after that they explained how i could get around in town and which sights are the best to visit. To get around in town they gave me a map from Luxor and from the Westbank. Very handy to use.

I stayed in de dormitory for two nights. On my last day i could stay for free after check out time in the dorm and i could use the shower with a fresh towel as well before my bus was leaving in the evening for Cairo.

The staff is really friendly and helpful. Two examples from these are that it was no problem to have an extra breakfast around 12 o'clock. The second thing is that they offered me free tea a couple off times.

I thought the price from the breakfast was seperated from the price from te dormitory. When they showed me the bill i thought i had to pay around 104 Egypt Pounds. It was cheaper and they where very honest to say that the breakfast was included in the price. Great staff and an awesome place to stay!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Arie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They are super friendly~and the service is super good!!! They do everthing you ask for or something you dont even ask for~all they concern about is to make their guest as satisfied as possible~~ They are really really nice!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 濤 曲
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

They are so nice including the staff and host! Marley took us to the market and every place we want to go. Bob booked the boat for us and helped us arrange the schedule. They are really so nice and if I will come back one day, I will stay here again!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathierlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is in a good location very quiet. Not really close to the he temple but it is near tv street.
The bathrooms need some work on them as water leaks everywhere.
But the dishonesty of the staff at the hostel is unbelievable. I can not possibly write everything that they tried to cheat me with. But being able to read and understand arabic was my saviour.
Honestly just dont bother with this hovel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank hanan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
0.5 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bob Marley Peace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#1 of 41 in Luxor
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hilton Luxor Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Set Hotel
#38 of 54 in Luxor
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bob Marley House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bob Marley House Hostel

Address: Badr Street, Luxor 2134, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Luxor
Price Range: £8 - £13 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is in Badr Street off television. st. you. Please be careful. Please do not listen to anyone who says that we are closed, changed our name or relocated or full. Even if they have our business card. just come to hostel . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bob Marley House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Marley House Hotel Luxor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing