We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food as always!”
Review of Jewel of the Nile

Jewel of the Nile
Ranked #9 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: International, British, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Please note the Jewel of the Nile has now moved, we are opposite Snobs restaurant. We are open from 10 am until 11 pm Daily.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous food as always!”
Reviewed 13 March 2011

After arriving on 23rd Feb for 2 weeks, the Jewel of the Nile was our first port of call. We love this little restaurant. It was a little quiet the 1st week due to lack of tourists but then got much busier the following week. The salads, rice and tagens are to die for. The place is always so tidy and spotlessly clean and amazing that the chef has such a tiny kitchen but turns out this beautiful, perfectly presented food.

The 2nd week we had the pigeon which was the best meal of our whole stay. Well done Mahmoud! Laura is an excellent hostess and hopefully may swap me a recipe for beef tagen for a bag of cat buscuits when we return in 2 weeks!

Laura is so knowledgeable about luxor life and getting around the place and is more than happy to give advice if needed.

Can't comment on the puddings - have always been far to well fed to eat one!

Can't wait to return and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Acesupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    359
    90
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Small family run restaurant offering well cooked and well presented food . Our favourite Luxor Restaurant

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“WE ATE AT THE JEWEL OF THE NILE FIVE NIGHTS OUT OF SEVEN”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

The food is still of a very good standard and this time I branched out and had steak twice! It was really tender and delicious. I had grilled fish with lemon/butter sauce. My husband is addicted to chicken tagen and chicken sherwama (can't spell it!) The week before we were there they had had Martin Clunes for dinner as he has been made patron of a local charity called ACE which takes care of the caleche horses, donkeys and other animals. It's a small British charity which does a huge amount to help the local animals - they see large numbers of animals a day. But back to the restaurant. One of the evenings it was someone's birthday and a cake appeared with candles, singing and drums. Mahmood does the cooking using high quality fresh ingredients and Laura his English wife takes care of the 'front of the house'. She is fantastic at making customers feel at home or will leave couples alone if she senses that that is what they would like. Laura will always be willing to help with local advice. The restaurant is squeaky clean, the table linen is changed after each customer, the staff have been on food hygene courses and the floors are washed every day with disinfectant. I could go on but just wish there was a restaurant here in the UK run by these two.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lulubet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great food great service,laura the hostesss with the mostest”
Reviewed 13 January 2011

hi laura and mahmood,denni ,carole and sammi here,we are still talking about the fantastic meals we had at your restaurant,and wish we were still in luxor so we could try everything on the menu,the reputation of your chef must have spread far and wide,the second night we were in tim fountain the author was eating there and on our last night martin clunes the actor was enjoying a meal,we think its deffo the best place to eat in luxor,roll on january 2012 save us a table xxx

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dennident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
664 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,266 helpful votes
“Don't miss this delightful restaurant!”
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Thanks to all the TA correspondents who recommended this restaurant and provided good instructions on how to locate it. We didn’t have any trouble finding it as the Pharmacy is a good landmark and the restaurant’s flashing sign brought us directly there. We had a very pleasant dining experience in this small restaurant with about 30 seats, thus we made a reservation the night before. I really enjoyed my Egyptian tangine fish casserole, hot, fresh and very flavorful and my husband had the Shiska Kebab sampler which he loved and it satisfied his large appetite. The service was good, friendly and prompt. They do serve beer and local wine and accept only cash, as most of the restaurants we visited. I would highly recommend dinning here; great food, very clean, spotless bathrooms and nice staff. We visited the Pharmacy that provides a good landmark on your way to locate the Jewel of the Nile because we had both developed coughs/nasal congestion due to air pollution and a dust storm. The Pharmacist was exceedingly pleasant and asked us several questions before recommending a decongestant. All around a very good experience! Don't miss a great meal at Jewel of the Nile!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewel of the Nile also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jewel of the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing