We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service”
Review of Jewel of the Nile

Jewel of the Nile
Ranked #10 of 154 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
Cuisines: International, British, Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Please note the Jewel of the Nile has now moved, we are opposite Snobs restaurant. We are open from 10 am until 11 pm Daily.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Laura and mahmoud were at hand to deliver an excellent meal and service at very reasonable price. We have been at the Jewel of the Nile many times previously and it is worth the walk in the dark lane to reach it. We found the restaurant atmosphere there to be the best in Luxor, very well done to Laura.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Raeedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    90
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“the best food in egypt”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

it was a small and a little bit cafe like ...not intimate and the tables were rather big but we loved the food choice and service

dont be put off by the area you brits

enjoy

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireStyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A really warm welcome”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

You can be sure of a really warm welcome from Laura and Mahmoud at The Jewel of the Nile in Luxor. They will both go out of their way to recommend and present dishes to suit your taste.
Laura is a mine of information about places to visit and is happy to help in any way she can.
We have been to Luxor a number of times and The Jewl is always on our list of restaurants to visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jeanettemorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely food...Nice people”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Lovely food, tried the Egyptian meal the first night we tried there. Then on the Sunday had the traditional Sunday roast, absolutely beautiful. Staff and Lara the english lady that runs it smashing people make you feel very welcome. Will diffinately be going back there if we go back again in September.
Lara as just opened a tea/coffee shop on the other side of the road (The Secret Garden), where you can get a decent cup of tea/coffee...cans....sandwiches.....snacks at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank savvanahblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunston, Gateshead
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A real Jewel by the Nile.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Having read all the reviews we decided it was time to try this restaurant ourselves.

On entry we were greeted with a warm smile and shown to a table. The menu was varied with a good choice of international cuisine at a very reasonable price. All the food was prepaired fresh and arrived promptly. It was plentifull and of a very high quality.

I would deffinatly use this restaurant again and would recomend it to all.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Deffy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewel of the Nile also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jewel of the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing