We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy to go again.”
Review of Jewel of the Nile

Jewel of the Nile
Ranked #9 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Please note the Jewel of the Nile has now moved, we are opposite Snobs restaurant. We are open from 10 am until 11 pm Daily.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Very happy to go again.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Thanks Laura for making our visits so pleasant, good food and a good chat - can't ask for much more.
It says something when you had a tenth of all the Jolie Ville guests in last Tuesday evening and the food there is pretty good.
My wife loved the deep fried aubergine dish - how on earth did you come up with such a good idea!! Both my Egyptian and British mixed grill were great.
Hope to see see you soon - en shallagh.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    90
    21
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chelmsford,essex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great Sunday roast”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you are missing your Sunday rpast why not give the Jewel a try-great food and great company-Laura will make you so welcome.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank egyptlover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excell4ent”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great welcome, food and service.
Both Egyptian and European dishes all freshly cooked. The vegetables are superb.
All the food tastes of what it should.
Cant wait for our next trip to this wonderful country visiting The Jewel again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank patagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Before I write this review I must state that I have a number of acquaintances who have given me rave reviews over the past week, this being the reason I tried it for myself.

On entering I was pleased to see proper table clothes and cotton napkins, always a good sign.The table decoration was pleasing with a bowl of false flowers to take the drabness off of an otherwise quite dreary décor .The tables and chairs being a bit clumpy and not very attractive looking. The whole place badly needs a needs a freshen up.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and produced a menu within a few minutes of sitting at a table.
The menu is extensive, providing a whole range of Egyptian, English and International choices. Possibly too extensive for a restaurant of that size.

I chose the home made tomato soup which was passable, if not exactly unforgettable. Followed by fish and chips, as it had been recommended to me. The first disappointment was the absence of tartar sauce, which was not provided. No excuse for that as it is so easy to make.
The batter round the fish, although being advertised as crispy beer batter was soggy and soft, and quite unpleasant. The chips had the sort of nasty taste that comes from frying in none to clean oil. The meal was well below standard, and to cap it all I was served coffee in a mug.I didn't investigate any further with regard to lavatory facilities as I know I wont be going back. I cannot recommend this restaurant, particularly as it is also tucked away in a dusty backstreet and quite difficult to find.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tonyq226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“HIGH STANDARDS”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

JUST returned from luxor after 19 fantastic nights great weather and food.
the jewel really is a fantastic restaurant,my fav is the huge sunday lunch prepared to perfection by mamood. Mohamed allyways gives service with a smile and laura is the perfect host
had a wonderful birthday party there with friends and had a reall good night.
we ate there most nights for good reason.
to add luxor is very very safe there is no trouble of any kind there it is sad there are so few tourists as we were greeted with kindness by all the locals.
you can easily fly there on egyptair, a very good airline with great service.
go and see the biggest open air museum in the world and eat well at the jewel

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JEZ147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jewel of the Nile also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Jewel of the Nile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing