We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”

Sofra Restaurant & Cafe
Ranked #4 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Egyptian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ahlan wa sahlan in Sofra, a restaurant located in the heart of Luxor that draws its inspiration from the rich Arabian culture. Sofra is situated in an old 1930s Egyptian house that still retains its traditional character. Sofra: A culinary voyage through Egypt! Discover the secrets of Egyptian cuisine and enjoy true traditional food in an oriental atmosphere in the heart of Luxor, Egypt.
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Just enjoyed our first visit to Sofra despite many visits to Luxor and wish we'd found it before. The staff are polite, respectful & very helpful. The décor is amasing and the food was lovely. We had the selection of mezzes involving 4 cold mezzes and 4 hot ones - all of which were delicious and at 80LE about £6.40 at the current rate fantastic value. The mains were equally good and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. If we return to Luxor will definitely go here and highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lancashire50cent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    259
    72
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“So Good, We Went Back for Thirds!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a lovely restaurant with a great staff. The food is quite delicious and always fresh. I highly recommend the lamb and the mezzes! We brought friends here one night and everyone enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality. To top it off, they have the 2nd best shisha we have found in Egypt! Pro tip: this is a great date-night restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank passion_dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

While many of the restaurants in Luxor have suffered due to the upheaval and lack of tourism, Sofra is outstanding. My wife and I ate here twice on our last trip, and the food was great, the atmosphere was wonderful, the staff very friendly, and the prices reasonable. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Sofra to others travelling to Luxor.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank ndb4g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

This is a gem, and the staff welcomes you with impeccable manners, a must for anyone passing through Luxor! The cuisine is sophisticated while affordable, and there's nothing better than smoking a sheesha with Oum Koulsoum playing in the background after dinner.

Helpful?
4 Thank AntoineHuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Look no further - just eat here!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I tried out this restaurant last week and was so happy with the delicious and varied food, lovely atmosphere, beautiful decoration and friendly service that I didn't bother going anywhere else. Just ate there every night the whole time I was in Luxor! A must-eat!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank CHVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sofra Restaurant & Cafe also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Sofra Restaurant & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing