We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth going really” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banana Island (Gezira el-Mozh)

Banana Island (Gezira el-Mozh)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.00*
and up
Felucca Ride on the Nile River in Luxor at Sunset
Ranked #37 of 82 things to do in Luxor
Attraction details
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth going really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Banana plantation nice to see and the bananas tasty, but the crocodile section is bad. 2 small crocodile couped up in a little circular cage with bit of water and prodded all day long to move for the tourists, terrible and cruel.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee666666666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    41
    16
    16
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
188 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“if you have time for off the beaten track”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Part of the joy of visiting Egypt is exploring off the beaten track, but I emphasize you should have a trusted friend or professional "minder/tender" if you yourself don't have Arabic language skills and cultural expertise here. The four of us in our party had the undivided attention of the boat owner and his son. We floated down the Nile to the banana island plantation - there are many opportunities to float down the Nile - you must do that at least once on your trip. We had a quick walk thru of the plantation/farm - don't pull the blossoms off the banana trees!! You end up at a pleasant non-pressured stop at the palm-leaf covered cafe for a variety of tea options, among which are the ubiquitous Lipton tea, or cinnamon tea or anise tea; also lemonade available. A basket at each table offers sweet, small Egyptian bananas is gratis. the men might like to try the shisha as well - hookahs are popular most places you go.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MJHBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Strolling around and no calesh drivers bothering you”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Just to remove all confusion ... it's not an island ... We spent hours looking for it when planning our trip to Luxor, checking all the island we could find on the Nile using google maps. So when in Luxor we arranged via our hotel a trip to Banana Island only to find it's not an island. Its located on the West Bank of the river Nile directly across from the Sheraton Hotel on the East Bank. So now that's cleared ... this is what we found... This little plantation is worth visiting, not because of the many thing to see but just because of the tranquility, no sellers or calash drivers bothering you. Our boatman guided us around, explaining us about the different trees and how bananas are cultivated. Maybe a bit sad but there is a cage with some crocodiles in it. They seem well kept but it is still a bit sad. A young boy used a water hose to get some activity out of these wonderful animals. He first wanted to use a stick but our guide told him of so hence the water. We did not need any action at all but by then it was too late for us to interfere ... we sadly do not understand Arabic. Apart from this we had a very pleasant stay. It off course ended in the local venue where we got bananas and other fruits 'à volonté'. You have to pay for the drinks not for the fruit. We were there alone but the venue can hold a lot of people and in high season it apparently is very busy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank _NF_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Afternon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Using Tranquil Trips we had a falucca ride from the East Bank of Luxor to Banana Island Our driver walked around the island with us telling us the names of the various trees and showing us a number of interesting features of the small plantation. We had a nice tea served with fresh bananas before we returned to the East Bank on the falucca. I highly recommend a trip to Banana Island as a way to escape the hustle and bustle of Luxor and have a quiet relaxing afternoon. We were on the Nile as the sun was setting. This is an excellent time for a cruse.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marshall J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Nice Break from Temples & Tombs...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Good to be on a river island in Egypt, really peaceful and relaxing if you are luck to not to be disturbed by the local sellers etc.
The island is really a banana plantation. You can walk inside the trees but if it is summer it is really very pressured by the heat & humid.
There is lovely view at the end of the island during the sunset and if you are lucky you can hear the music from the drums that the Namibians are playing from their away villages.
When drum music combines with the red colors of the sunset light everything gets a lovely mystic atmosphere remembering you the tales from "The 1001 Arabian Nights".

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Bilge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banana Island (Gezira el-Mozh) also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Banana Island (Gezira el-Mozh)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing