We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”
Review of Marsam Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luxor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marsam Hotel
Ranked #1 of 29 Luxor B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I really like this hotel. I can never go to Luxor and not stay there,I love the exotic atmosphere the fact that it is reasonably cheap. It is a quiet place and mosquitoes were not a problem. The location was in the thick of things. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickars c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
13
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I arrived at this hotel come guest house on christmas eve and immdiately made to feel welcome by the staff, as it was not busy i could choose the room i wanted. Breakfast was out in the garden, a small but sufficient amount of food. The hotel is conveniently situated on the west bank of Luxor within walking distanve of most the sights. I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yols57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I visit this Hotel often. I stop off at the Marsam Hotel on the way back from my adventures and exploring of the nearby mountains and sites. Sometimes I just go up there for the peace and quiet of the place. There has been many improvements that I think are worthy of mentioning here.

First of all, the food is divine, just amazing and I always know that I am in for a real treat after I have made my order. The coffee is great; just what's needed after three hours or so in the mountains. The staff are so good and friendly; Of course I know them, but I have seen them welcome customers and tourists alike and I think they are a great asset to the hotel.

They have made several changes, like the building of four new chalet type accommodations in a private walled garden which has table tennis and outside seating, it really looks nice. The courtyard also has some changes with some new lighting and front to the main building

The Marsam is certainly to be recommended. It is an oasis in the countryside and you can be sure to meet Egyptologists, Archaeologists and the like who like the peace and quiet of the place.

Room Tip: There are simple rooms for backpackers and higher standard rooms for those wishing them. Rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berniemyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

A lovely couple runs this charming and environmentaly friendly hotel. The Marsam is located at walking distance to most monuments at Luxor's west bank and away from the hustle of the city. You can reach city center –if you ever need it–, in about twenty minutes by taxi (or bus) and boat to cross the river.

During my nine days stay I could happily combine visits to the monuments with pleasant reading afternoons at Marsam's beautiful and peaceful garden. Thanks to all the staff for their attentions and unvaluable advices about Luxor and Egypt in general. Thanks for the food, which was delicious.

This is my hotel next time I visit Luxor, there is no need to look for other place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxor, Egypt
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This is a wonderful hotel and very suitable for Traveller’s, Artists and Egyptologists.

It has rooms with air-conditioning and bathrooms and some that are more simply that are reflected in the price per night. It is said that it is the oldest Dig House on the West Bank, but there are a lots of stories about this. It most certainly is more than two hundred and fifty years old. What is for sure is that it is a very relaxing place indeed with a wonderful garden where you can take your meals or drinks in the shade. It has several restaurants and one inside for when it gets cooler. The restaurant is open all year round.

Sheikh Ali is the owner now and his father when Tutankhamun was found was ten years old. Sheik Ali’s grandfather was one of the workers with Howard Carter, one of the foremen. So it was a Rest House during the Carter times.

I had a meal here and I must say it was one of the best I have had in the area.

During the winter period you will be sure to meet many Egyptologists, Archaeologists and the like, so you get to stay in a nice hotel while keeping up with the latest discoveries and finds.

Room Tip: It’s just a matter of choosing an air-conditioning room with bathroom or a simple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Berniemyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

What better than to enjoy the lovely view on the wheat and sugarcane fields while sipping Turkish coffee and reading a book on the tranquil patio. This place was recommended to me by my Egyptian friends. We enjoyed our much too short stay, and will be back! The service is excellent. The food is great. You certainly don't need aircon in those mudbrick rooms. The fan cools nicely at the hottest time of the day. With Wifi on the patio, you can stay up to date on the news, read your emails and skype with friends. Egypt needs tourists very badly. But of course, you might want to wait till the summer is over. It is getting very hot now...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NadineV1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I didn't stay at the Marsam but me and my friends came here for lunch twice. It is blissfully quiet and tranquil. An excellent place to unwind after a morning of hassle at the Valley of the Kings. The seating area in the garden looks out to the green fields and it really is an oasis in an otherwise hectic city. The food is home cooked and delicious. The service is first class. I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

Room Tip: Check out the stall where a lovely, young student is selling beautiful pendants and other handicraft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifeisalongjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
4.3 mi away
Al Moudira Hotel
Al Moudira Hotel
#14 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Winter Palace Luxor
2.9 mi away
Sonesta St. George Hotel Luxor
1.9 mi away
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
Cleopatra Hotel Luxor
#12 of 54 in Luxor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsam Hotel

Property: Marsam Hotel
Address: Qurna | West Bank, Luxor, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Luxor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marsam Hotel, also known as Sheik Ali Hotel, lies on the west bank of Luxor and is the oldest hotel on the west bank. Established in 1940s by Sheik Ali, of the infamous Abdel Rasoul family. The hotel has 30 traditional built mud brick rooms in three separate buildings surrounding a beautiful Egyptian garden courtyard. Restaurant serving traditional Egyptian lunches and international dinners. Drop by for chi on your way to Valley of the Kings and enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and view of the green Egyptian fields to the east and dramatic rocky mountains and colorful Qurna to the west. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing