We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for a drink”

The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place for a drink”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We returned to Luxor again and a year later we were welcomed back to the pub like it was on yesterday. The staff are very friendly and its run by the lovely Shady. It's a great place to catch up with the sport and we were able to watch the six nations here, great atmosphere. This is one of the few places that you can buy alcohol away from the hotels at half the price and they also have free Wifi, and if feeling a bit hungry, food can be bought at a reasonable price.
Hope to see you all again soon when we return

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bella334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. We are happy to hear that you welcomed back and that everything was still to your satisfaction.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    40
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming English pub - good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The Kings Head is easily spotted by the sign outside, looking like a cross between Henry VIII and Rameses III! The pub is upstairs, so there is no access for disabled people. However,once inside you find a very welcoming bar, with quick service and good bar snacks and meals. In Egypt, there is not a great choice of beers - here you can have Sakara or Stella, locally brewed lagers by Heineken. There is also a good quality, free pool table and dartboard. I had a delicious Kings Head pizza, which was served quickly and was cooked to perfection. Will look out for this pub next time I am in Luxor.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Glad to hear that you found us easily as some people do find us slightly tricky to spot!
Happy that you found the food enjoyable and that you plan to come again if you return to Luxor.
Looking forward to maybe seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“brilliant place”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This pub provides some of the cheapest and best drinks in Luxor. The kitchen will prepare you almost anything you want, always of a high standard. Shady, the owner, could not have been more friendly or helpful, no matter what strange questions or requests we came up with!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catrin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
We always try to help our guests no matter what they ask and are always happy to hear that it is appreciated.
Thank you for coming to visit us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pleased to see it busy again”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Thanks again shady had some good nights in your pub yet again. It was good to see it busy again. Great atmosphere love the place see you in October inshalla take care

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mandy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thanks for coming back to visit us again.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best spot in Luxor!”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Cheap beer, great food (really lovely authentic Egyptian food as well as pub grub) but most importantly the most friendly and helpful staff I have ever encountered in a pub. They helped us arrange tours and anything else we needed. We saved lots of money and hassle and came away wtih great friends too. We usually like to mix things up a bit of holiday but have to admit we came back here every night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidandPaula_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShadyKHP, Owner at The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thank you for coming and visiting us every night. We are always happy to help with any requests or questions that our guests have.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Shady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
 
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to The Kings Head Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing