We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hotel a quite side of Luxor”
Review of Karnak Hotel

Karnak Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karnak Hotel
Ranked #25 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Luxor
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We just stayed there for a couple of days as was traveling around Luxor,
The staff was very helpful, we ate at the Hotel and the prices are very cheap compared to outside the Hotel, service was good.

The rooms are really good for the price roomy and clean, tv with a few english channels, the outside where the pool area is okay could be improved but for the price cannot complain at all, free wifi in the rooms although on our last day there was a problem with connection, the hotel is kept very clean and staff are always at hand to hel.

Really for the mponey and location which is not far from the Nile the Hotel is worth a visist if looking for a cjeap place to stay, we have been to Egypt around 10 times in the past and if needed a hotel in the area again would stay here.. Thanks.

Room Tip: It is worth having a meal at the Hotel as they are good priced and get alot compared with other hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank louiseanddanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

Many thanks to the staff of Karnak Hotel for the laughs, service and respect during my stay over the Christmas. The hotel location was excellent for visiting Karnak Temple, and for being able to sit at the Nile. this area is quiter part of Luxor. The local people are very relaxed and dont bother tourist.there are loads of little shops around the hotel and taxi's outside the door all the time. My hotel room was spotless. it was cleaned everyday and fresh towels given. what food I ate there was good .the room was overlooking the garden which was lovely and quite. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again. Again many thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: I was on the 3rd floor in room 307, boiler was a little noisey at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shajaratul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

The Karnak Hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Karnak Temple in Luxor...it's in a quieter area of Luxor and is very peaceful...especially the garden area which is lovely and has a beautiful pool area. The rooms are all clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced as was the hotel itself...incredible value for money. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not close to the water boiler as it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank whitewave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Whilst many 3 star hotels exist in downtown Luxor city, in my experience, they are cheap, but not to standard as in food quality, service and cleanliness. Also, downtown is more crowded and noisier with constant nagging from the Kalesh drivers as you walk around.
Karnak city however, is quieter, more people friendly, with a large community of ex- patriots from various countries, therefore the locals take less interest in bothering you.
Karnak Hotel is situated at the far end of karnak City although City is not really a good description as its more of a village). It is a small 44 bedroom Hotel with front bedroom views of the West Bank which is lit up at night (very pretty).
Staff are welcoming,and the hotel is compact therefore easy yo get around, It has 2 pools kept clean on a daily basis, 2 restaurants ( also 1 on the west Bank), bar and reception area open 24 hours and room service available.
Due to the quiet summer season and of course the disturbances of the Revolution last year, Luxor has been very quiet with tourists staying away. This has been very detremental on the locals as toursim is their livlihood. However, after reviewing the situation nationwide, there is no cause for concern as Luxor has been almost unaffected by the past troubles.
Therefore, the hotel has been undergong several renovations and looking into new emenities and services at the hotel such as interesting new excursions ant tea/coffee facilities in the guest rooms ( as this is a service most British will appreciate!).
great rates ( very competitive), on a half baord basis with dinner optional. Worth looking into and recommended to look at the website www.karnakhotel-luxor.com

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank venusrising2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel just outside the city center near Karnak Temple and it turned out to be a real haven and a great place for me to base from to explore Luxor! When I walked in the staff received me like family. They did all they could to make my stay comfortable and provide me with any info I needed without being pushy about it. It's a small family run outfit and they were finishing up some painting and renovations when I arrived. The place is clean, bright and cozy. I was surprised to discover a large garden and swimming pool out back which was an ideal place to relax. I thrived on the peace there at night. The hotel is right in Karnak village so you can walk down the road and have a good feel for local life and even interact with local folks a bit. Anyone who has been to Luxor knows this is impossible in the city center and even sometimes on the West Bank. People in Karnak village didn't haggle me at all but were friendly and hospitable. I went for nice walks among the farmland there and often sat at this little cafe nearby with a view of the fields where I drank tea for one pound and was invited to return at night. My room was big with a large renovated bathroom that had a nice bathtub. Good breakfast and I even wound up eating dinner there most nights-good wholesome, tasty Egyptian food. This budget hotel has a lot of the benefits, one of them being the location. It is just a short bus trip to the city center, conveniently close to both the train station and airiport. The whole place has the feel of being truly Egyptian family style.One of the nights I was there they had an Egyptian wedding party right in the garden around the pool. Thanks to the staff there for a great job! I am rooting for more travelers to come back to Egypt soon. It is so quiet and safe in Luxor, Aswan and the Red Sea area. And the deals now are great. If you are the kind of traveler who searches for hidden jewels, check this place out.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden and pool are the best.. They were putting new AC in all them and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chris_7940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Good location, quiet, clean, good price, and very helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you need an ATM machine, just across the street is the Hilton Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d_tori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We came to the hotel after very long day and the weather was so hot!!! But when we entered the hotel, everything was fine. They invited us with welcome drinks and wet towels!!! One minute after our coming! The hotel is really beautiful and clean, they have very cheap and tasty food, people here are so kind and the swimming pool is fantastic. And other thing - it is very close to the Karnak Temple. I honestly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kucharova_marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxor hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Luxor Karnak
Mercure Luxor Karnak
#14 of 54 in Luxor
1,546 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
Eatabe Luxor Hotel
#19 of 54 in Luxor
607 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nefertiti Hotel
Nefertiti Hotel
#2 of 54 in Luxor
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sun Set Hotel
#39 of 54 in Luxor
14 reviews
2.0 mi away
Iberotel Luxor
Iberotel Luxor
#11 of 54 in Luxor
904 reviews
2.5 mi away
Steigenberger Nile Palace Luxor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karnak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karnak Hotel

Address: Corniche El Nile street | in front of Hilton, Luxor 0020, Egypt
Region: Egypt > Nile River Valley > Luxor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Luxor
Price Range: £11 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karnak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is 20 min from airport and 30 min from train station and 10 min by walk from Karnak temple. We have room located on Nile St and also rooms with swimming pool view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Karnak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing