We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a try”
Review of Hard Wok Cafe

Hard Wok Cafe
Ranked #67 of 153 Restaurants in Luxor
Price range: US$10 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Formerly The Fortune Cookie Plus King & Thai we are back with our excellent chefs in a new modern fully licensed restaurant. Close to all the major hotels tell your driver we are near The Lantern Restaurant opposite Snobs. BIG Screen sports Fully Licensed. Good Wine list plus Ice Cold Beer On Tap! If you have problems finding us come to A Taste Of India & Arabia my other restaurant for help.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Last time we were in here it was the Oasis. Now the King and Thai.
Good selection on menu and we all had a very good meal with portions sizes which didn't leave anyone still hungry. Pretty good value for money too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holidays-R-Good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ras2, Owner at Hard Wok Cafe, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit I am pleased you enjoyed your meals.
Regards
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Away from the expats!”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We went round the corner from the Puddleduck, having stuck our heads in there and not wanted to join the stereotypical Luxor clientele of Saga tourists! This restaurant - the King and Thai - was empty, not unlike many other places in Luxor, but we were welcomed in to cheerful surroundings by a very pleasant waiter without any pushiness. Having recently spent a month in Far East, we were very pleased with the authenticity of the food on offer, and not surprised to be introduced to the female Thai chef on our way out. It's such a shame that (certainly at the end of January) there were so few visitors in Luxor and that most of those seem to concentrate on a few safe 'recommended' restaurants. Totally recommend this one if you feel like a change from the rest of what is on offer in town.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ras2, Owner at Hard Wok Cafe, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the restaurant I am pleased you enjoyed your meal.
Regards
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We visited The Fortune Cookie this week for my wife,s birthday, this was in the afternoon, the food was the best Chinese I have had in a long time, I don,t think you can beat this in Luxor or in England. The food was excellent, served by friendly and helpful staff. Previously we had a meal there in 2011 for my cousins birthday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Observer1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ras2, Owner at Hard Wok Cafe, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the restaurant I am pleased you enjoyed your time with us. I am also pleased that we help to make your wife's birthday special, we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“King & Thai now next to taste of India”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The fortune cookie was quite good Chinese food, however the King & Thai was outstanding, they have a Thai chef who produced top quality authentic dishes

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ras2, Owner at Hard Wok Cafe, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visits to my restaurants I am pleased you enjoyed both your Chinese and Thai meals.
Regards
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“The usual - great food great ambience”
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Three visits in two weeks must indicate what we feel about the food and the ambience of the Fortune Cookie. There are pretenders to the title of best Chinese Restaurant serving Chinese food in Luxor but none will obtain the crown. First class in every respect. Back again in April and be in no doubt returning for our Sizzling chicken, Chicken Satay and all the usual trimmings A million thanks

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ras2, Owner at Hard Wok Cafe, responded to this review, 15 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visits to the restaurant I am pleased you found we continue to offer the best Chinese found in town and look forward to seeing you again in April.
Regards
Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Wok Cafe also viewed

Luxor, Nile River Valley
Luxor, Nile River Valley
 

Been to Hard Wok Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing